We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good chinese food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cloud 9 Restaurant

Cloud 9 Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This restaurant runs cooking classes also.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The cloud 9 is one of many chinese restaurant in Yangshuo. The food is excellent and they have plenty of different dishes on there menue. Dont worry it is in english and the people there speaks also well english. They also provide the famous dog hotpot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiWu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    64
    40
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
knoxville
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our favorite place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our local guide (fun Sam) pointed us to this place for lunch. We ended up enjoying our dinners on two nights in Yangshuo as we were so impressed. Nice balcony overlooks the street for added enjoyment. Every dish we ordered was really delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
878 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 896 helpful votes
“Good meal with great balcony view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Setting was terrific overlooking West Street bustling with life. Here we enjoyed duck, lemon chicken and chicken with cashew nuts. All were fine and simple, nothing to knock your socks off.
Friendly staff, prompt service and reasonable price for the street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food. Good prices. The best we had in yangshuo.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Tripadvisor came through again. During our five day stay in yangshuo we ate at several restaurants. Cloud 9 was the best. One waitress speaks excellent English and the menu has pictures and translations. We recommend trying the pork with the pancakes. It was awesome. Don't be afraid if it looks dead in there. The location is a bit awkward so it doesn't attract as many guests but it is worth going in for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Cooking school was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We organised the cooking class through our accommodation and paid 100 yuan each. We thought we were booking Yangshuo Cooking School, the one that is out of town but they trade under the same name but it is actually Cloud 9. Tour of the market was too slow and the lady would only tell the people close by what the vegetable was and move on so quick that I am sure we missed a lot yet they walked so slow?! We finally got back to the cooking school and started chopping the ingredients. This was all fine and at a good pace so the people who didn't know how to cut against the grain of beef could do it. However when it came to cooking the exhaust fan was too loud to hear the instructions and she was so far away from people that it was hard to see and hear what to do. It was really rushed and a lot of people put the wrong amounts of salt etc in because it wasnt explained properly. When it came to take the food out of the wok it wasnt organised to have the plate ready. Quite disappointed as she didn't come around to check how people were going, we were fine but the couple next to us were struggling. As soon as the meals were cooked we were taken downstairs into the restaurant to eat and basically just dumped on the table. The only time the staff came back was to give us the recipe of the food we had made, collect the receipt of the payment and to try and get us to buy soft drinks. Was disappointed in the staff but the other cooking companions made it fun and the food tasted good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RARHJB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloud 9 Restaurant also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to Cloud 9 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing