We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal with great balcony view”
Review of Cloud 9 Restaurant

Cloud 9 Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 115 Restaurants in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: This restaurant runs cooking classes also.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
485 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 959 helpful votes
“Good meal with great balcony view”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Setting was terrific overlooking West Street bustling with life. Here we enjoyed duck, lemon chicken and chicken with cashew nuts. All were fine and simple, nothing to knock your socks off.
Friendly staff, prompt service and reasonable price for the street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nilintentum_reliquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    66
    41
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food. Good prices. The best we had in yangshuo.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Tripadvisor came through again. During our five day stay in yangshuo we ate at several restaurants. Cloud 9 was the best. One waitress speaks excellent English and the menu has pictures and translations. We recommend trying the pork with the pancakes. It was awesome. Don't be afraid if it looks dead in there. The location is a bit awkward so it doesn't attract as many guests but it is worth going in for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Cooking school was ok”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We organised the cooking class through our accommodation and paid 100 yuan each. We thought we were booking Yangshuo Cooking School, the one that is out of town but they trade under the same name but it is actually Cloud 9. Tour of the market was too slow and the lady would only tell the people close by what the vegetable was and move on so quick that I am sure we missed a lot yet they walked so slow?! We finally got back to the cooking school and started chopping the ingredients. This was all fine and at a good pace so the people who didn't know how to cut against the grain of beef could do it. However when it came to cooking the exhaust fan was too loud to hear the instructions and she was so far away from people that it was hard to see and hear what to do. It was really rushed and a lot of people put the wrong amounts of salt etc in because it wasnt explained properly. When it came to take the food out of the wok it wasnt organised to have the plate ready. Quite disappointed as she didn't come around to check how people were going, we were fine but the couple next to us were struggling. As soon as the meals were cooked we were taken downstairs into the restaurant to eat and basically just dumped on the table. The only time the staff came back was to give us the recipe of the food we had made, collect the receipt of the payment and to try and get us to buy soft drinks. Was disappointed in the staff but the other cooking companions made it fun and the food tasted good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RARHJB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

There were menus with English sub-titles to help you choose. We had an excellent meal - eaten on the terrace overlooking the road - large portions and delicious at a very good price. Would go back and would recommend. The toilet experience wasn't great - but wasn't the worst experienced. Chinese toilet but relatively clean and smell free!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dizzyandblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Food was really good. Setting lovely up on the balcony. Service average, had to go inside to get their attention three times over dinner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ano444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloud 9 Restaurant also viewed

Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to Cloud 9 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing