We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
267
83
8
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
83
8
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tableyulong riverdutch ownerfarm styleeuropean standardseggplant dishother guestsrustic feela short bike riderural settingapple piemain citystayed here for two nightsdutch coupleyu long riverguest housecooking class
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 365 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2017 via mobile

I had the pleasure to stay here for two nights. Looking for a quick getaway countryside holiday from the big city action in Xiamen. The staff were absolutely friendly and very accommodating. The room I stayed in was very clean, comfortable, and safe supplied with AC if you choose. Free wifi worked very well through out the property.

Perfect place to kick back and relax, but they have bicycles on property for exploring the river valley. Location was very good, about 4K to Yangshuo Village and minutes to the river!

Ronald was very helpful and informative about the many activities you can do in the area. I took a bicycle and a "hike and bike" map for the area, and just cruzed for a day checking out the attractions.

They have a great menu for breakfast lunch and dinner. And let's not forget the well stocked bar for evening socials with the other guests.

I highly recommend these guys! You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
Thank dryanflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017

Our 2 nights stay here was most enjoyable. Lovely staff and a beautiful setting / location. Nice to have bikes available for hire. Nice food, especially the Dutch pancakes!
Room was comfortable but the bathroom old and needs some repair, the shower door was falling off! Room very damp and could do with a dehumidifier, the towels didn't dry and the floor of the bathroom was always wet. Apart from that, it was clean and the beds had good quality linen.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurend730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

We booked a hotel outside of the main city of Yangshuo because we thought we would want a few days of peace and quiet during our rushed trip to China. The location of the Outside Inn was perfect for us. There is a an access trail very close to the hotel that cuts directly across a field to the Yulong River, where you can continue walking or cycling for as long as you want. There is also an excellent, newly constructed trail leading from Chaolong village to Yangshuo if you want to walk the 4-5km through the countryside instead of on the road with traffic. A taxi into town will only cost 30RMB.

The hotel lends out bicycles for free, and while they're not in the best condition, they were perfectly adequate for cycling around the river trails and quiet village roads. It had rained prior to our arrival, so some of the trails we rode were fairly muddy, but our bikes powered through the puddles admirably.

The desk staff speaks perfect English, and are friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is excellent, among the best we had in 2 weeks in China. They likely cater to western tastes, so you might have to ask for extra spice if you want it. Like everyone else says, the snoozing dragon eggplant dish is divine. I think I dreamt about it one night. We also really enjoyed the dried tofu skin dish, the beef and bamboo shoot stir fry, and the beer fish (it's a big dish, so be warned if you are only two people sharing it).

The only thing we didn't love was that the rooms in the main house were kind of noisy. The old farmhouse doors are charming, but very loud to open and close, and the floors above are creaky. The noise between the rooms and from the outside could be a problem for some, if you have loud neighbours. But the hotel has a quiet time policy, so hopefully most guests would be respectful in that sense. The wifi was a bit weak, but worked well enough for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwpapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

Get out of the city of Yangshuo by a short 15-20min drive and you'll be rewarded with this great inn. This isn't your chain hotel experience. This place has charm from the outdoor ping pong table or pool table to the free range chickens. he rooms are clean, with a nice shower and the staff are very friendly. Not sure what to do during your stay? check out the brochures at the front desk or ask staff - they are great at helping you set up a bike ride, cooking lesson or tai chi class.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017

Wonderful place to stay in nature. But keep in mind that it is something different than luxurious hotel.

Pros:
- Location. Yangshuo village is beautiful place. Hotel is just some hundred meters away from a nice tangerine garden surrounded by incredible hills and sounds of nature. If you wake up early in the morning, you can see beautiful sunrise and the real life of local people: women washing clothes in the river and farming. And no other tourists at all!
- Food. Milkshakes, pancakes, Dutch duck - the most delicious food we have found in China - perfect for our European taste.
- Excellent wifi.
- Excellent air conditioning.
- English speaking staff.
- Nice yard with chickens walking around.

Cons:
- It was not possible to close window in our bathroom, thus it was really cold while having a shower.
- Bicycles are not in a good condition. In addition, if you are taller than 180 cm, do not consider to rent a bike there.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rūta Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangshuo-Outside-Inn, General Manager at Yangshuo Outside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you for your nice review. We are very glad to read you enjoyed your stay at our Inn and the beautiful surroundings very much. We'll look at the bathroom window and fix it and I can also tell you that we bought 20 brand new bicycles that were delivered to our Inn last week. Greetings from Yangshuo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews