We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good night's sleep, but not one to spend all day in your room...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Li River Hotel (Pantao Road)
Ranked #166 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location, good night's sleep, but not one to spend all day in your room...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel has a run-down feel, but Yangshuo is a small town and this is probably one of the better hotels. It is well- located, just a short walk from the centre of town, the main shopping area and the river. The reception area is very nice and although the staff seemed to have limited English, they were friendly and helpful. The rooms, however, are tired and run-down. The bathroom had a stale smell and looked grubby despite being clean. The beds are quite hard but comfortable. Our aircon worked well, but smelled a bit of smoke. Breakfast was not great and it may be worth your while to walk into town and have a good coffee and breakfast there if you are a big breakfast eater.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights on an Exodus tour. The room we had was grubby and stale, had very hard beds and the air con didn't work. The only view was of the side of another building and the roof of something below us which obviously had prevented anybody ever cleaning the disgusting filthy windows. This was also the case on the window at the end of the hotel corridor.
A real shame as the front rooms at least had scenery views whatever their other shortcomings.
This place should up it's game and Tour companies should insist they do.
I expect ,though, the reason they use it (we were the third tour from our company staying there in that week) is that it has to be a seriously cheap deal on block bookings.,

Room Tip: Almost any other hotel further through the town would be a good bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangshuo County hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My room great ,some others on the tour not good. Dirty carpet and smell. My room was small but I had a great view. One of my students room had condos for sale and barely a window. Location was great. Steps from west street. Breakfast was very good too except for some stuff left in the dining room.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NRichards64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hotel is located conveniently at the West street, the shopping street filled with stalls selling foods, souvenirs and cheap accessories.
Walking to West Street takes about 10 minutes, along the shopping street. OR you may take the mini bus RMB1 to get to the hotel's entrance
Room is clean, airconditioned, however WIFI is not available in room, or even at the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed here during my tour group's two night stay in Yangshuo. The location is great, you're only steps away from the heart of the town and West Street. The lobby is nice enough, as are some of the views. But here is a quick list of what we were greeted with upon entering our room: dirty sheets, a layer of dust an inch thick, the hardest sleeping surface we experienced in all of China, a bathroom that smelled of beef with broccoli with a side of urine, crusty towels decorated with stains, a shower mat and shower curtain caked in mildew, an AC unit that pelted water ALL night, no safe or hair dryer, and the icing on the cake: a gigantic, multi-colored piece of mucus (aka booger) hardened on the wall. Others in our group mentioned AC units that did not work, housekeeping entering the room when the "do not disturb" sign was on the door, four precarious flights of stairs, and an underwhelming breakfast. Again, the location was great, but beware that the photos online are somewhat deceiving.Yangshuo is a beautiful town with lots to do and see. Definitely rent a bike and ride through the village and countryside, raft down the Li River, climb Moon Hill (bring water), see the impressions show, and flaunt your best bargaining skills on West Street.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

Free internet, tea making facilities. Rooms and bathrooms spacious,
We were backpacking and need ed to use the laundry service which was good value but a little confusing , there were forms in the room but no bags to put your dirty laundry in. We had to bring laundry down to foyer where the laundry lady redefined airing your dirty laundry by laying it out and counting it in front of all the other patrons, we had a good laugh about that experience.Conveniently located next to the China Bank where you can exchange money. Close to local markets and shopping precinct. Only had 2 nights available, therefore moved to another hotel for the remaining nights of our stay. Would stay here again because it was good value for money and convenient, however there seems to be plenty of places to stay in Yangshou.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filthyrichfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

I stayed 1 night at this hotel recently. The bed was rock hard, the bathroom ceiling was leaking, the breakfast was appalingly bad. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.3 mi away
Green Lotus Hotel
Green Lotus Hotel
#16 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
3.0 mi away
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
Yangshuo Zen Garden Resort
#19 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.5 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Li River Hotel (Decui Road)
Li River Hotel (Decui Road)
#141 of 437 in Yangshuo County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 437 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
3.1 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Li River Hotel (Pantao Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Li River Hotel (Pantao Road)

Property: New Li River Hotel (Pantao Road)
Address: No.93 Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Li River Hotel (Pantao Road) 4*
Number of rooms: 108

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing