We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with terrible service”
Review of Green Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Lotus Hotel
Ranked #19 of 490 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent time in the hotel at a time of chineese holiday.
As a result the hotel was full. When we got to the hotel late at night, we found out the rooms we ordered (connecting rooms for us and our children) were not reserved for us. The hotel staff showed no desire to help us or to find a solution (until the travel agency interfered). At the end, after 2 hours wait (while our young children were very tired), we were forced to stay in one room and not two rooms.
Apart from that, the hotel was nice, though not something we'd recommend.
It is especially not recommended to travelers with children.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank DanielleISR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 386 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Especially the breakfast, they charge rmb 100 extra for this. But the food is lousy and not fresh at all, I wonder whether they re-use the food left from the days before!?
In the guest room, no mini bar at all, only have a empty fridge, 2 Chinese tea bags, 1 coffee bag and 2 bottles of water, but you need to pay for the water - 10 dollars for 1 bottle.
And, different women kept on calling to ask whether my husband need any special ladies' services, is it horrible?
5 stars hotel? Not at all! Not even 3 stars!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lai Ming C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a 5 star hotel in the vicinty of West Street. Not too noisy considering the location. Rooms are a good size but the decor is a little tired. However the rooms are confortable.

Breakfast - well NOT something I would like to experience again - very little choice and the seating is something else I sat in one of the armchairs and could barely see over the table- the waitress had to bring a secong cushion from another armchair so that I could sit comfortably at the table - I am 6ft tall!!

Room Tip: Loads of good local food outlets - try Kali Mirch Indian if you need a change from Chinese food!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187147George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

A large room with a huge bed (I like hard matresses, so no problems for me on that front) and a fantastic view of the river and adjoining mountains.
It´s located at walking distance from the main street, but not enough so that you can hear any noise from it.
The only con is the western breakfast, which is pretty weak.

Room Tip: Make sure you get at least a partial view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirador_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights based on tour guide recommendation. The hotel is clean, rooms are big. Best is that it is walking distance to West Street, but still little bit away to avoid the noise. Reasonably priced. Hard beds. Breakfast buffet is average, but no choice. Front desk need to be more relaxed in customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
Thank subramanian_ravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our tour guide recommended this hotel, as our last night in China and our wedding anniversary.WOW...We had a view of the Li river, a little balcony, a Lovely room....clean, bathroom with bath and seperate shower..
The Bed was bigger than two queens together.. was massive... We had a little lounge in our room so was nice to sit and look out the river...
The location was great, a nice walk to the main street (the walking street).. loved the shops and restaurants and markets... we hired bikes right outside the lobby for our country cycle tour..
Breakfast was average but typical for hotels in China, egg station and usual range of stuff.
Overall great spot and wont dissapiont.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had asked our travel agency for a nice hotel in a central location where we can just walk to major tourist hot-spots. The Green Lotus Hotel in Yangshuo definitely meets my requirements. This hotel is located right on the shore of the Li River, nice! The scenery from our balcony window is simply fantastic (see photo). Also, the Green Lotus is located only about 5 to 10 minutes walk from Yangshuo's biggest tourist area - West Street, which has many shops, bars and restaurants. West Street is a lively area that is crowded with people until well past mid-night.
As for the Hotel, the room was more than adequate in size, clean and has a small balcony facing the river. The included all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet in the morning does not have a huge selection but there was more than enough food to last me the morning. The Hotel is also located on the main roadway through the center of Yangshuo so catching a taxi or a mini-bus for transportation elsewhere was no problem at all.
I would recommend the Green Lotus Hotel because of its great location almost right in the center of town and of the great scenery all around this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
4.2 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#8 of 490 in Yangshuo County
271 reviews
3.4 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 490 in Yangshuo County
631 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#12 of 490 in Yangshuo County
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#5 of 490 in Yangshuo County
483 reviews
2.4 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 490 in Yangshuo County
1,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#23 of 490 in Yangshuo County
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lotus Hotel

Address: No.1 Guanlian Road, Yangshuo County 541900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 490 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $80 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Green Lotus Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Green Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing