We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere, friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bamboo House Resort
Ranked #15 of 421 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxed atmosphere, friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here after a busy 12 days touring Chinese cities. It was perfect as a getaway from stress. Fantastic room facilities, and incredibly friendly staff. The wholesome breakfast made a great start to the day. Anni was so helpful in organising day trips and activities for us, and the hotel is totally central for anything you wish to do in Yangshuo. Don't miss out on the chance to stay here if you are in the area.... and the bedroom hot tubs are fantastic after a hot day out on the road. Martin Fiona & family.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martimojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
38
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

As it turns out, the Bamboo House Resort is rather an inn, with twelve rooms, four each located on the 2nd to 4th floor while the 1st (ground) floor constitutes the reception and restaurant. The rooms are rather unorthodox (to say the least). Each room on a floor is unique, with its own layout and furniture, with a French flavor (apparently designed by a French friend of the owner). However, the biggest surprise, and maybe not to everyone’s taste is the fact that there is no wall, or for that matter any barrier between the bedroom and the bathroom (including the toilet). It certainly does take some getting used to. However, the employees did mention that some curtains may be available on request for the ‘more prudish’, and as a matter of fact, the staff is under the impression that their arrangement is in accordance with the Western norm. In any case, it was quite an experience to be sleeping beside the Jacuzzi (every room has one, and perhaps the reason for the “Resort” in the name). The beds are comfortable enough, the other amenities adequate, and although located at one end of the busy pedestrian street at Yangshuo, the rooms are surprisingly quite, probably due to the double-glazed windows. The overall cleanliness is beyond reproach. The location is perfect, with most that needs to be explored in town within striking distance by foot, or by bike if one desires to explore the hinterland (the hotel will arrange rental). One is spoilt for food choices in Yangshuo (and probably China in general). However, the restaurant at the Bamboo House does churn our fairly decent local and Western meals, at prices lower than the more touristy eateries outside.

On the balance, the biggest asset of the Bamboo House Resort is its staff- one of the most friendly, helpful and cheerful bunch that we have encountered. The relationship actually preceded our arrival at Yangzhou, regular e-mails updating our most recent status, helpful advice, organizing transport and so forth, so that we ‘knew’ each other by the time we arrived, and were good friends by the time we departed. Amongst the staff, Anne, Doris and Coco speak good English and do endeavor to fulfill all reasonable requests.

Note: Bamboo House Resort is one of the three (and the most up-market) properties run by the proprietor. The others are the Bamboo House Inn and Bamboo House Hotel, so one can should be wary when making bookings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nafis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at bamboo house resort. The rooms were really clean and spacious, each with a Japanese style toilet and hot tub (though ours wasn't working). The staff was also extremely friendly and helpful in booking our transport and activities. Location was excellent except that there was some construction going on next door that was really unbearable. When we alerted the staff, they immediately made arrangements to change rooms. Definitely recommended but confirm which room you're getting.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annietran326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Bamboo House Resort was the perfect place to stay in Yangshuo. The room was impeccably neat, enormous (definitely spend the extra money for the larger room!), and comfortable. We had a room facing the street, and didn't really have any problem with the noise (though we were on the top floor). I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Yangshuo--most of the central hotels are dives and those that are further out seemed inconvenient for experiencing the town. I can't say enough good things about the staff. They helped us at every turn, setting up all of our excursions at much cheaper prices than were advertised online, and even gave us free room service on nights when we were tired and didn't want to go down to the restaurant (the restaurant serves great Western and Chinese food). Through the hotel we were able to rent bikes, purchase tickets for hiking Moon Hill, arranged bamboo raft rides on the Li and Yulong rivers, and booked a tour of the Longji Rice Terraces. We did this all in two and a half days, and without feeling exhausted! The staff just made everything so easy, and we didn't have to worry about getting ripped off (which was the most challenging aspect of our trip to China). If you're going to Yangshuo, stay here!

Room Tip: Spend the extra cash on one of the larger rooms--if you shop multiple sites, you can often find grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg7134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked 3 rooms. The deluxe rooms which are the largest are good. The smaller rooms, deluxe queen and executive are awful as the beds are too large for the room with no space for anything else. Could be claustrophobic for some. The only good thing is the toilet bowl with great bidet facilities. Food in the hotel is expensive and below average. The reception limited as they are, are helpful. But remember this is an INN not a hotel. Do not expect hotel like facilities. The location is fantastic. West street is just minutes from the door. Yangshuo Pier is also 5 minutes away. No telephone in the rooms with only a kettle for hot water. I had the smaller and my bed was never made. All it had was a large comforter sitting on the oversized bed in a very small room. You hang clothings on the bed, no closet. Not sure how the other inns in Yangshuo are like. But go for the larger rooms ONLY.

Room Tip: Go for their largest room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was traveling alone so wanted to stay at a small boutique hotel. This one was perfect! I had a beautiful wooden canopy bed with a balcony overlooking a courtyard and a jetted tub in the room. The location was close to shops and restaurants and the Yangshuo Cooking class.The hotel will set up the cooking lesson that is offered at the restaurant down the street There is a spa next door for massages that I heard was good from other hotel guests but I did not make it. I wish I had another night to enjoy this hotel and the charm of Yangshuo. The only problem I had was figuring out how to use the high tech toilet which reminded me of the ones in Japan-with 10 buttons for everything from heated seats to blowers etc....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smgapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel was nice and comfortable with very friendly staff. Our room was quite nice but could do with a bar fridge and a safe for valuables. The only negative thing about the room was the smell of mildew coming from the AC or behind the walls??

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.6 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#16 of 462 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 462 in Yangshuo County
600 reviews
2.5 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 462 in Yangshuo County
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Green Lotus Hotel
Green Lotus Hotel
#17 of 462 in Yangshuo County
368 reviews
3.3 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 462 in Yangshuo County
294 reviews
2.8 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 462 in Yangshuo County
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo House Resort

Property: Bamboo House Resort
Address: No.22 Chengzhong Road | Yangshuo, Yangshuo County 541900, China (Formerly Bamboo Star Resort)
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 421 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bamboo House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing