We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xingping This Old Place Int'l Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This Chinese YHA hostel is full of character, just what traditional hostelling is about. Yet it caters for the modern hosteller who is looking for a bit more comfort and facilities.... including wood fired pizzas made right in the bhostel. The rooms and bathrooms are immaculately clean, the staff are always helpful, there's a great view from the top deck across the river....just along from where the picture on the 20 rmb note is taken, and there's plenty of old Chinese village to see. Right opposite the hostel is the Lao Zhan Mountain: it's steep but if you can make it, it's worth every breath as the views are FANTASTIC. Spend less time in the pricey and more well known towns of Guilin and Yangshuo and come here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicmanTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 204 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location and the rooftop is spectacular. The advice book was very helpful and the staff were really kind and helpful. The light on my dorm bunk was broken but the lockers were a good size and they provide a padlock. Only 30yuan which was great.

Movie night every night was fun in a such a small town and i made some great friends :) the sunset from the mountain by the hostel is incredible.

XINGPING IS GREAT! escape yangshuo's endless noise and crowds!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The guy in the front desk was not nice at all. Gave us the feeling as if we aere bothring him with our questions about hiking trips in the area, like we were wasting his time.
Over all the place is nice witj clean rooms and pizza. If you want to get away from all the tourism in Yangshou- this is the place...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbb7791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A nice hostel extended by lovely views of the karst country. Rooms where en suite and air conditioned, breakfast was functional. The common area was lovely and in the evenings a movie would be played with was a nice touch. While not the easiest place to get to, but when you're here you'll realise it was worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4mHere2There
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a great spot to call home for a few days in the Yangshuo area. The rooms are clean and cozy (we stayed in the new part of the hostel, so I can't speak for the original rooms) with a fantastic view of the mountains from our 3rd floor windows. The coffee was excellent (although you can't order it until 8, so bring instant and make good use of the hot water heater in the room) and the wood fired pizza was the best I've had in China. Xingping is a lovely little town, with cobblestone streets to wander and the real China to see. It was nice to get out of touristy centres like Yangshuo and Guilin and just watch/hear life go by for a few days. The hostel workers are happy to arrange excursions or drivers into surrounding cities, although the bus to Yangshuo is only a 7 Kuai trip and a ten minute walk from the hostel. Bring bug spray and sunscreen if you're anything like me!

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bekah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

As a young lady I want to meet many local people and learn thier cultures, thanks to cebuexclusiveholiday by gadie barro, she told me about this place when I arrived there her advise is authentic.
The desk, english speaking and friendly I learned chinese word from her and the room was very clean and the budget food is yummy, close to the center and street shopping, bathroom number one is clean.
As gadie barro told me that I must trave a month of May because less tourist and cheapest price so I got it and she is right. I paid 180yuan per night coz i got the discount from cebuexclusiveholiday card which is discount card.
Then I went local shopping and visited the historical street.
Bad thing to this hotel is that dark color so prepare your mosquito repellant.

Try this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaidgaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in the 'new' building and the room was clean and the bathroom clean and modern. Good location in a quaint town.

We were keen for a woodfired pizza but the cook was unfortunately AWOL...

Handy clothes washing facilities - washing machine and dryer available for use for a small charge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nothing_beats_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
10.0 mi away
Travelling With Hostel
Travelling With Hostel
#13 of 483 in Yangshuo County
122 reviews
11.5 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
10.2 mi away
Wada Hostel (Yangshuo)
Wada Hostel (Yangshuo)
#2 of 53 in Yangshuo County
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Yangshuo Wada Hostel by Yulong River
Yangshuo Wada Hostel by Yulong R...
#3 of 53 in Yangshuo County
59 reviews
9.8 mi away
Showbiz Inn
Showbiz Inn
#6 of 53 in Yangshuo County
86 reviews
9.2 mi away
Yangshuo Sudder Street Guesthouse
Yangshuo Sudder Street Guesthous...
#5 of 443 in Yangshuo County
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xingping This Old Place Int'l Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xingping This Old Place Int'l Youth Hostel

Address: No.5 Rongtan Road, Xingping Town, Yangshuo County 541906, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Xingping This Old Place Int'l Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in the city.... when the riverside is SO AMAZING!Just 27 km outside of touristhotspot Yangshuo you will find the 'This Old Place Int’l Youth Hostel', a very unique youth hostel. We live in a small town named Xingping which has 1740 years old. It has the most beautiful riverview of the whole li-river erea. For this reason the riverside of Xingping is printed on the picture of the back the Chinese 20 yuan note. Our hostel is just located 50 meters away from Xingping port. So from some rooms’ balcony you may see the amazing riverview just the picture on the back the Chinese 20 yuan note. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Xingping This Old Place Int'l Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing