We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, can't ask for more”

Fawlty Towers Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fawlty Towers Hotel
Ranked #112 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cheap, can't ask for more”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is super cheap. I booked two rooms each with three beds. Only cost me RMB 240 (2 rooms overnight).. Booked it via booking.com
In fairness to these hotel, one word to describe "looks can be deceiving). From the outside. This hotel looks ugly and not convincing. We tried our luck, and I can say, for the price, this hotel deserves a good rating of 4 star. Price is cheap, spacious as it accommodates a three bed. Wifi available, but streaming video not working. 2 min walk to west street. Lady Reception and a lady housekeeping are very kind and easy to talk to. This hotel have no lift .. If you have seniors with you, you may ask the lady reception to put you in a lower floor. As per the lady, there is only one 3 bed unit in every floor ... We booked two rooms with 3 bed, the lady reception kind enough to arrange us one at 2nd floor and another one at 3rd floor.
With the price offer, don't expect too much, but again. The price of RMB 120/night 3 bed... Bargain!
Clean and spacious. hardwood floor. Nice simple room. The toilet/washroom needs to fix some area, but no big issues as it is usable. There is no hair blower, so taking shower at night and can't blow your hair will be a little problem.
But overall, this one heck of a hotel that deserves a fair review!

Hope this helps...
Sal

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank abingsyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After staying in a series of hotels around China which we accepted to be of simple standard, the Fawlty Towers Hotel was disgracefully dirty. We were repulsed to find mildew on walls of the bedrooms, large stains halfway up walls and scum marks throughout the bathroom. Even the central location does not make up for the uncomfortable feeling when walking up the sleazy side alley towards the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacQCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yangshuo County hotels

Jishou, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went with experienced travelers to Yangshuo who like this hotel. It's across the street from the bus station and about a block from the beginning of West Street. Since it is tucked away along an alley, it's easy to miss, which can be a blessing at night when West Street (XIJie) bars and clubs start rocking.

Our rooms on the third floor were reasonably comfortable and clean. The hot water after the first night lost a lot of its heat, perhaps because the the inn was full or because of the late night power outages that hit us three times. We were traveling during Spring Festival, and the owner.manager (English name is Manuel) quoted us double the normal rates for the seven days of the festival. We were in three separate rooms, so we were able to talk him down a little to 190RMB a night for a single and 220RMB a night for double. Your results may vary.

Manuel speaks a little English, but don't expect long conversations. The other staff, especially the old duffer at the night desk, had practically none. They offer a variety of tourist services, though, like ticket booking and tours. However, there are plenty of agencies around offering the same kind of services, so shop around before booking anything.

Room Tip: Our third floor rooms were quiet. My single was #304, doubles were #306 and 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheatdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great location, opposite the main street ( West Street ) for shopping, eating and partying in Yangshuo. Close to all amenities. Basic clean rooms. It is located up a small side street so can be easy to miss if you are not sure where it is. A little more pricey than other hostels/ inns in Yangshuo/ Guilin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissRin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Positives: great location, helpful staff, reasonable rates.

Negatives: bathrooms...very moldy, falling apart, not very clean.

Check rooms before you book. Our bathroom had mold all over the walls, shower curtains, floor. Could be a major problem for someone with allergies.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank surdatedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Excellent hotel with pleasant rooms and friendly staff. Hotel is located just across the road from the start of West Street (Xie Jie), so is near to the lively part of town, without being surrounded by guides and touts. Luxury rooms are very well priced. I had a great view of the town and peaks. Staff can arrange a taxi to and from Guilin airport at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Keystone_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.5 mi away
Lucy's Hotel
Lucy's Hotel
#16 of 437 in Yangshuo County
65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Snow Lion Riverside Resort
Snow Lion Riverside Resort
#8 of 437 in Yangshuo County
164 reviews
2.3 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 437 in Yangshuo County
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 437 in Yangshuo County
576 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
Yangshuo Mountain Nest
#1 of 437 in Yangshuo County
210 reviews
4.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#6 of 437 in Yangshuo County
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers Hotel

Property: Fawlty Towers Hotel
Address: No.107 Pantao Road, Yangshuo County 514900, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 437 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fawlty Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing