We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for everythink”
Review of Rosewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosewood Inn
Ranked #23 of 446 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Hamurg
1 review
“Great place for everythink”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I just stayed three nights with my wife at the Rosewood Inn. We enjoyed this time very much. The location is close to everything in Yangshuo. The rooms are clean and cozy. The staff was everytime helpfull and friendly. The Ukraine manager Ana was everytime around and has for every question a answer. We travel a lot in China and we sure we come back.

Room Tip: Take room 306 with your own terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    94
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
83
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

It's a great location in that it's very close to everythng. Unfortunately, that also means that the street noise is pretty audible until late in the night. The furnishings were nice. The overriding factor for me was poor customer service. The front desk clerks spoke poor English, and instead of admitting they didn't understand a question, they answer a question you didn't ask (saving face), which is confusing and frustrating. Also, when I complained that the water in the bathroom wasn't heating up, the clerk felt the water (which was definitely cold) and said "that's hot". If she had told me up front that it took 10 minutes for the water to warm up, I'd have been ok with that, but she pretended that nothing was wrong. Also, she recommended a bamboo raft trip down the Yulong River but neglected to tell me that I had to bicycle to and from there, 30 minutes each way; again, no problem but she didn't inform me. Worst of all, I told her that at the end of the trip the boatman demanded that I pay him, even though I had paid her in advance. She made excuses for him instead of apologizing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keithgbernard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, General Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Dear customer,

as you see at tripadvisor we are the number 5 from 142 hotels. Number 1 - 4 a resort hotels outside the town. It means we are number one for Yangshuo town.
We are not perfect, but we try to help and fix any probleme asap.
So, I can not understand your complains about our hotel.
We are in the middle of Yangshuo, we have since some weeks to layers of glas and two doors at the room you stayed. There is no reason to complain about the noise.
All the other guests (even not from the States) understand the english from our staff.
The girl which talk to you about the river trip told you about the bike trip. She is working for us since over four years and her english is very well. It is impossible to sell the trip without to talk about the bike trip.
You ask for the massage place - our staff is everytime polite and answer she can show you the way - THIS MEANS NOT SHE DONT ANSWER YOUR QUESTION - no reason to be angry.
Our staff told you at cold days the water sometimes need some minutes to be hot.
After 5 minutes you come to the reception and told us the water is hot now.
The bamboo raft driver ask you for a tip, not for pay the trip.
I am from germany and i working since over 20 years at the hotel industry and I have to protect my friendly staff.

Mr. Rudi, Genaral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

A very nicely furnished hotel in the heart of Yangshuo. My husband and I stayed in one room and our teenage daughter was next door in another room. The room was very clean and secure. The bathroom was modern and large. I am a very light sleeper and although they try and soundproof the rooms it was a bit noisy at night. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there are plenty to chose from in the neighborhood. The staff is very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adlpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We booked two rooms at the newly renovated Rosewood Hotel. One Deluxe Double for my husband and I and one Standard Double for our teenage daughter. Both rooms were opposite each other on the first floor. When we were shown our Deluxe Double we were a little concerned because we feared that it might be noisy at night. We did not need to be concerned because the set-up of the room ensures that it was very quiet at night. The bed is near the passage and you walk through the large bathroom before you get to the balcony. The hotel is located in the “old town” pedestrian street area with lots of restaurants and souvenir shops. The street is quite noisy at night with people dining at tables in the street, but it is a terrific atmosphere and feels like a big street party every night. However, when we closed the balcony door and the bathroom door we slept very well on the very soft comfortable bed and did not hear any noise in the bedroom.
Our daughter’s standard double was perfect for her but I thought that it may be a bit small for 2 people. The bathroom was very large with a nice enclosed shower. A lot of the living area was in the large bathroom such as the chair and the fridge and the bedroom itself was a bit small but together it was a large room. Our deluxe room was so much bigger and was not that much more expensive. Both rooms were exactly as depicted on the website and both air-cons worked very well and both showers were powerful. The rooms were very comfortable with all the extras such as bathrobes, slippers, fruit basket, all bathroom goodies even bath salts and washing powder.
We loved being in the middle of the action, it meant that we could stay up late having dinner and be back in our room in no time also after a long day sightseeing we could go upstairs freshen up and come back down for dinner and shopping we found it very convenient.
All the six or seven restaurants on the beautifully cobblestone pedestrian strip outside the hotel are owned by the Rosewood group. I especially liked the German restaurant. We had been travelling throughout Asia for 2 weeks and our daughter was tired of the different food and wanted pizza and pasta. We were able to order from the other menus and have pizza or pasta or anything else delivered to our table from a different restaurant and put on the same bill. The 10% discount is handy also.
The daytime reception staff and very friendly and knowledgeable. We booked a trip that required public bus transport and they had a staff member take us to the station and make sure that we got on the right bus. Mr. Rudi was always around the pedestrian strip in the evening and he always enquired that all was well. These little things make all the difference.
The only thing that I would have liked is an in room safe as we had to keep our passports at the front desk and we had no place to secure our lap top. Also bottled water every day would be nice, not just on the first day as we always seemed to be going out for water although the latter is only a small thing.
All in all a lovely hotel with great staff in an excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, General Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Hello customer,

thanks for staying at our Rosewood Hotel. We are happy that our work to keep the noise outside works (two doors, two layer of glas). From today we give a bottle of water every day to the Rosewood Hotel guests. November we will start to install safe boxes in most of the rooms. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mr. Rudi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at both the inn and the hotel. They are both fantastic places to stay; the inn is nice and quiet and the hotel puts you right in the middle of everything in comfort and style. With 2 young kids having a balcony view of everything from the second floor made it easy to stay around the activity even while in the hotel. You can have food on the balcony or on the first or second floor, whatever is convenient. Also the people at the inn and hotel are super friendly and willing to help you with any questions. The owner and hostess love to make sure you are comfortable with your stay. You will see either of them around the place on your way in or out. The only thing I would change with the visit would be to go to Yangshuo on the off-season as all the hotels and inns get pricey; but that's to be expected. The best place to stay in a great little town.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Easeindesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, General Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear customer,

we are happy that you and your kids enjoyed the time at our hotels. Ana and I hope that your kids still have all shoes. We agree with you that the "October Golden Week" is not the best time for travel.
We hope to see you and your family again at a not so busy time.

Kind regards

Mr. Rudi, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night in February 2011 at end of Li River cruise. The hotel is very nicely decorated in an old fashioned style. Everything in the room was spotless with free fruit and bottled water included in the price. It doesn't have eating facilities so you have to go round the corner to one of their other places if you want breakfast.
Unfortunately when we were there there was no hot water although bathroom was very well equipped. The manager was very apologetic in the morning and said the water was supposed to have been fixed. He offered to take us for a complimentary breakfast to compensate but we were leaving for a taxi to the airport so didn't have time to take him up on his offer. Still, it was a very pretty hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sc0tmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, General Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear customer,

thank you for your review.
The breakfast is waiting for your next visit.

Kind regards

Mr. Rudi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The service is not bad, but it is definitely not worth 288 yuan a night if you don't usually fall asleep to bad rowdy karaoke tourists who can't sing. 2nd night in a row.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ylfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Like to thank the guest for his opinion.
We can remind ourselves of this guest. The guest is moved twice within our hotels in another room. We understand that the guest is a very sensitive sleeper. Our policy is to make all guests happy. From October we will equip all rooms with balcony with a second sheet of soundproof glass for the window and a second soundproof door. As the guest says, we are not a bad hotel.
Mr. Rudi , Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.2 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#21 of 446 in Yangshuo County
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#25 of 446 in Yangshuo County
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#15 of 446 in Yangshuo County
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Morning Sun Hotel
Morning Sun Hotel
#27 of 446 in Yangshuo County
77 reviews
3.3 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 446 in Yangshuo County
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
CTN Li River Hotel
CTN Li River Hotel
#35 of 446 in Yangshuo County
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Inn

Property: Rosewood Inn
Address: No.95 Guihua Road, West Street, Yangshuo County 541999, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosewood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Yangshuo, hidden amongst trees in front of a small stream, the Rosewood Inn is also very close to the Li river and surrounded by the world famous karst mountain landscape. Even though it is only a few steps away from the animated center of the West Street the environnement of the hotel is very calm. It offers quality and confortable rooms with a blend of chinese traditional decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing