We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Rosewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosewood Inn
Ranked #24 of 450 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night in February 2011 at end of Li River cruise. The hotel is very nicely decorated in an old fashioned style. Everything in the room was spotless with free fruit and bottled water included in the price. It doesn't have eating facilities so you have to go round the corner to one of their other places if you want breakfast.
Unfortunately when we were there there was no hot water although bathroom was very well equipped. The manager was very apologetic in the morning and said the water was supposed to have been fixed. He offered to take us for a complimentary breakfast to compensate but we were leaving for a taxi to the airport so didn't have time to take him up on his offer. Still, it was a very pretty hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sc0tmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, General Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear customer,

thank you for your review.
The breakfast is waiting for your next visit.

Kind regards

Mr. Rudi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    94
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
83
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The service is not bad, but it is definitely not worth 288 yuan a night if you don't usually fall asleep to bad rowdy karaoke tourists who can't sing. 2nd night in a row.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ylfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Like to thank the guest for his opinion.
We can remind ourselves of this guest. The guest is moved twice within our hotels in another room. We understand that the guest is a very sensitive sleeper. Our policy is to make all guests happy. From October we will equip all rooms with balcony with a second sheet of soundproof glass for the window and a second soundproof door. As the guest says, we are not a bad hotel.
Mr. Rudi , Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The service at The Rosewood Inn was first class. Rudi and the team coul;d not have been more helpful-even accompanying us to locations in the town when we asked for directions.

The room was luxurious,spacious and trendy with a fantastic bath and shower-our balcony was the ideal place to watch the world go by or for having a drink at the end of the evening .

Situated at the heart of Yangshuo the hotel provided an ideal location for accessing shops, bars and restaurants. Rosewood's all you-can -eat breakfast buffet provided an excellent start to the day

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Rosewood hotel caught our eye as we walked past the beautiful wooden balconies over-looking the busteling streets in yangshuo. from the moment we checked inn, the service was outstanding, all aspects of the hotel are highly thought out and their attention to detail isamazing. all the rooms we saw, no matter the price all offered, bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer, toothbrushes, toothpaste, bath salts, amoungst a long list of many other things.
some rooms had a bath and a shower-a must after a sweaty day of biking or hiking.

alongside the hotels facilites rosewood also offers great food-a particulary good breakfast buffet for just 58RMB for residents (approx 5.50GBP), daily fruit and chocolates are brought to your room and complimentary tea and coffee in offered the afternoons.

unfortunaly during our stay at Rosewood, 2 out of our party of 4 were ill, without hesitation one of Rosewood staff, walked us to the nearby hospital where she waited with us and helped with translations. when the other half of out party found out we had gone to the hospital the manager immediatly escorted the rest too. a service we thought was above and beyond their call of duty.

overall, a wonderful stay in a wonderful place-highly recommended.

Fiona Sherwood & Sam Bennett
Shanghai/UK

Room Tip: modern, clean, spacious rooms, huge soft beds with everything you could possibly need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fio51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, General Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Hello from Yangshuo,

we are all happy that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to see you next summer at the "Casablanca Bar" for a beer and live music from Scotland.

Rudi, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our favorite hotel in China. Location was hard to find, and I thought it was because it was our first time to Yangshuo and the long walk from the cruise dock left us disoriented. The map that was provided by the hotel didn’t help, so we found Rosewood Café on West Street and the hostess there took us to the hotel. Once we arrived at the hotel, I realized I would never have found this place on my own. I would recommend all travelers to just go on West Street and find Rosewood Café and ask someone to take you to the hotel.

We stayed in the family room on the second floor, which is on the opposite end from the bar that many people said was noisy. We didn’t hear any noise, and I guess our room was so far that we couldn’t get wireless connection in our room. No problem, as a LAN connection was readily available. Really don’t know if we stayed at Rosewood Inn 1 or 2. How does anyone know? We enjoyed the little things offered by this hotel…chocolates and a welcome fruit basket. The non-enclosed shower may take some getting used to, as the entire bathroom will get wet. Rooms were clean, loved the balcony, and enjoyed the amenities.

There is an excellent bakery right behind the hotel on West Street called Harmony. The BEST egg tarts for 1.5 RMB…the crust was so flaky and buttery that I felt myself gaining a pound with every bite. We also bought a chestnut birthday cake for my dad…so delicious. I would return to Yangshuo just for the egg tarts…seriously.

Definitely take the big ship cruise from Guilin-Yangshuo…why would you want to travel by car or bus on the same route twice? Take the cruise to Yangshuo and take the bus back to Guilin. The Chinese speaking cruise is about 230 RMB per person – it’s actually a blessing if you can’t understand the language when you're on the boat - just background noise. The bus ticket is 18 RMB. Save the bamboo raft for the Yulong River - 2 hour ride for 150 RMB per raft. Since my mom doesn't know how to ride a bike, we hired a mini-bus and driver off the main street - 120 RMB for a good 6 hours or so - that took us to the caves, moon hill, etc.

It has been a month since we returned from China. My dad is already planning his return trip to Guilin/Yangshuo for...Yangshuo beer fish. He actually wants to go back just for that dish. We went to Xie San Jie, which is one of the larger restaurants outside the West Street tourist area. Try the dish, you might like it.

Our trip to Yangshuo was great. We spent a lot of downtime in this hotel, partly because it was so comfortable and relaxing. There are actually a lot of places to stay at in Yangshuo, but I would have no hesitation to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelicainca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. By the middle of this month all bathroom will have a seperate shower. We looking forward to welcome you soon for the Yangshuo beer fish.
Mr. Rudi, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We enjoyed staying here - friendly and comfortable. We had a deluxe room with terrace and it had everything we wanted - not the most modern but it had a charm to it. It is located one street back from the busy West Street and is relatively quiet - though there is quite alot of signing going on until late in the night. The beauty of this place is that it is close to everything - you need only walk out the door - restaurants, bars, markets and the Li River front. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IncaPerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed here for several nights with our young toddler. The only suggestion I'd have in booking a space is to ask to be booked on a floor other than the ground floor. Our room was nice, but so musty that my clothes all had to be washed when we left. I think it's not uncommon to have that issue here though because the weather is hot and humid. The A/C left on for the day helped a lot and I was told by other folks that the rooms upstairs didn't have that issue. Beds were nice, they give you fruit and chocolate and water upon arrival, and it was overall clean and spacious. The staff was great and the manager Rudi is kind, generous and helpful.

The location is terrific. It's right by a little canal and tucked away behind the main "night-market-all-day-long" main foreigner street. We didn't have a problem with noise at all, but perhaps it depends on what time of year you are there. Cafes next door and across the canal, and it's right next to Bike Asia, the best place to rent a bike in Yangshuo. Ask for the owner, he's Australian and a great guy. He set us up with a toddler seat and a map too.

Tricky part: there is also a Rosewood Hotel closer to the main drag and not only will you possibly end up there first, sometimes your guides will go there first too! The hotel and inn are related though and just around the corner from one another, so hopefully this won't cause you too much stress.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebigalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.2 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#21 of 450 in Yangshuo County
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#26 of 450 in Yangshuo County
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#16 of 450 in Yangshuo County
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 450 in Yangshuo County
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xi Town River View Inn
Xi Town River View Inn
#29 of 450 in Yangshuo County
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosewood Hotel
Rosewood Hotel
#28 of 450 in Yangshuo County
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Inn

Property: Rosewood Inn
Address: No.95 Guihua Road, West Street, Yangshuo County 541999, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosewood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Yangshuo, hidden amongst trees in front of a small stream, the Rosewood Inn is also very close to the Li river and surrounded by the world famous karst mountain landscape. Even though it is only a few steps away from the animated center of the West Street the environnement of the hotel is very calm. It offers quality and confortable rooms with a blend of chinese traditional decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing