We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away yet in the center of everything.”
Review of Rosewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosewood Inn
Ranked #24 of 447 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Bloomington, IN
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden away yet in the center of everything.”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed here for several nights with our young toddler. The only suggestion I'd have in booking a space is to ask to be booked on a floor other than the ground floor. Our room was nice, but so musty that my clothes all had to be washed when we left. I think it's not uncommon to have that issue here though because the weather is hot and humid. The A/C left on for the day helped a lot and I was told by other folks that the rooms upstairs didn't have that issue. Beds were nice, they give you fruit and chocolate and water upon arrival, and it was overall clean and spacious. The staff was great and the manager Rudi is kind, generous and helpful.

The location is terrific. It's right by a little canal and tucked away behind the main "night-market-all-day-long" main foreigner street. We didn't have a problem with noise at all, but perhaps it depends on what time of year you are there. Cafes next door and across the canal, and it's right next to Bike Asia, the best place to rent a bike in Yangshuo. Ask for the owner, he's Australian and a great guy. He set us up with a toddler seat and a map too.

Tricky part: there is also a Rosewood Hotel closer to the main drag and not only will you possibly end up there first, sometimes your guides will go there first too! The hotel and inn are related though and just around the corner from one another, so hopefully this won't cause you too much stress.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebigalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    94
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
83
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We arrived in Yangshuo by bus from Guilin. We had reserved the Honeymoon Suite A at the Rosewood Inn located 1 block away from West Street, facing a small canal. We called the hotel to arrange for a transfer from the bus station and were very surprised when Rudi, the manager, met us on foot to walk us to the Inn. The excellent level of service began that first day! The friendly young ladies at the front desk took care of all our needs and communications with them was very easy.
The spacious Honeymoon Suite A is located 3 floors at the topmost level of the Inn. Be advised that it has sloping ceilings, so if you are very tall you may want to reconsider reserving this room. We , however, are smaller than average and enjoyed the room very much ! We had a very comfortable King sized bed, a separate sitting room with a large 42” TV (Chinese language programming only), a very spacious bath with a large soaking tub. And, a comfortable small deck with a lovely view of the karsts in addition to a neighboring apartment .
Breakfast is 25 RMB and includes 2 eggs, yogurt and cereal, great coffee.
Room amenities included 2 sets of shoes, robes, excellent bath amenities, bath salts, tooth brushes ( be sure to put your own tooth brush away each day as the custom is to discard used brushes !) and fluffy towels. There was also a DSL connection for our computer and wireless availability in the lobby in addition to a computer there.
The location is very good. Close to West Street, the bus station, and a bit quieter than other locations that are on West Street. Still, the noise of the bars can be heard until 11pm. However, knowing that ahead of our arrival, we opted to be in town, rather than in a location away from town, as we enjoy walking to restaurants, shops etc.
If you don’t mind being in the center of the action, then The Rosewood Inn is the place for you !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemarytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This was easily one of the friendliest hotels we've stayed in when we were in China. The staff was very pleasant to talk to and even helped us check in to our room. We were shown a room before we moved in and to be honest, the room had everything we would have thought possible... all the essential toiletries, tea/coffee maker (with a really nice tea mug set which we also bought after we saw it here), bathroom slippers, duvet, AC (of course!), and large 40" TV.

What we particularly liked was the discount card for all their restaurants and the way the manager of the hotel checked in on us when we were enjoying a drink at one of their restaurants. He was really helpful and gave us some good advice about what to see...

The breakfast was good, and possibly one of the best for a hotel in this price range we have ever had. This is no idle boast - they DO HAVE the best breakfast in town!

The room was small but cosy, with the open bathroom beautifully merged with the room - there were rooms with separate baths but we loved this concept so much (and used it well, I might add!) we decided to stay in this room.

All in all, a great hotel in a great location in Yangshuo.

Pros: Everything about it ...

Cons: There was work going on in the floor above - lots of hammering... but it stopped at 5pm in the evening as they are renovating. Didn't bother us as we were out most of the time!

Room Tip: Ask for their Suite rooms in the new wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BhaveshBhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our new hotel and our restaurants.
The renovation work on the second floor will be completed by mid July.
We would be happy to see you again soon.
Mr. Rudi, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Rosewood Inn Hotel is conveniently located in the most vibrant part of West street and restaurants and shops are all just right outside your doorstep, so having breakfast, lunch and dinner and shopping and having massage at any time is very convenient. The pricier rooms are spacious with balcony facing the street so it can be very noisy unless you take those with the layout where you enter the bedroom, then you enter the bathroom then you enter the balcony where you can see the street action below. In such rooms, the noise from outside the street is filter out by the balcony door then the bathroom space and door. Do note that the wardrobe and fridge and coffee making facilities are located within the bathroom - very strange and not so good on this note. The bedding and room are comfortable though. Staff are quite friendly, patient and helpful - plus point on this. The lower priced and quieter rooms are very small and without windows and are therefore not very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kohlayping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive report. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our new "Rosewood Hotel". We only have three rooms with the bed right on the balcony. We now have almost all the rooms two doors and windows, so we could stop a big part of the street "live". All our rooms have at least two windows. The smaller cozy standard rooms have a window in the bedroom and bathroom. Our existing customers enjoy the standard rooms as very affordable alternative with the luxery facilities and location. As we explain on our website, at the "Rosewood Hotel" you will discouver the famous and unique "West Street" atmosphere from your balcony. Our hotel "Rosewood Inn" offers only a minute away a oase with a greek view. We hope to welcome you at our hotel again.
Mr. Rudi, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I think it would be good to clarify that there are actually 2 Hotels - the Rosewood Inn and the Rosewood Hotel. The latter is on Yangren Jie or "Foreigners' Street" which is above the cafe and a much better class hotel. The Rosewood Inn where we stayed was adequate but the bathroom is shared with the toilet with no shower screen or curtain. Therefore when you bathe, the water splashes all over the toilet & sink and makes the place unpleasantly wet. You are also entertained by loud karaoke singing from nearby bars which fortunately stops before midnight. We had the opportunity to look at the Rosewood Hotel rooms which are much newer and have nice & spacious bedrooms & bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wong15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosewoodYangshuo, Manager at Rosewood Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. Our rooms in the cheapest category have an open shower. This month we are already converted some of the bathrooms. By the end of the year, all showers will be separate. The police will see to it that the legal noise level is observed from 23:00 clock and not later. The music is not from a KTV Bar. We look forward to welcoming you soon back in our hotel.
Mr. Rudi, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Nice and peaceful place to stay, tucked in a quiet corner of the crowded commercial
area of Yangshuo. Shopping, sight-seeing and night life are just a couple of door-ways
away. Highly reccomnded.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenTanCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Rosewood Inn is situated at a quiet place, by the side of a stream, but is only 1-2 minutes’ walk to the famous West Street of Yangshuo. The standard rooms is small but good enough to put our luggage, it is decorated in Chinese style with almost all facilities we need, with an open a closet.

We moved into their newly opened Rosewood Hotel (1 minute walk from Rosewood Inn) which was on the first floor at an alley of West Street 2 days later. The rooms are more spacious and modern in decoration. The bath room is as good as that of a 5-star hotel and even bigger. The balcony is fantastic and, from there, you can see all acts in the street and enjoy the light breeze at sunset. When the double-glazed window is closed, the noises from outside are acceptable.

The staff of both hotel and inn is nice and customer-caring.

They have a range of restaurants (more than 7). Their dishes of food, especially the German style are tasty and delicious. 10% discount is offered to guests of Rosewood Inn and Rosewood Hotel. We love them.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday-goer520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
0.2 mi away
River View Inn
River View Inn
#21 of 447 in Yangshuo County
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#26 of 447 in Yangshuo County
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#16 of 447 in Yangshuo County
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Xi Town River View Inn
Xi Town River View Inn
#29 of 447 in Yangshuo County
36 reviews
3.3 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 447 in Yangshuo County
291 reviews
4.0 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#8 of 447 in Yangshuo County
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Inn

Property: Rosewood Inn
Address: No.95 Guihua Road, West Street, Yangshuo County 541999, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosewood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Yangshuo, hidden amongst trees in front of a small stream, the Rosewood Inn is also very close to the Li river and surrounded by the world famous karst mountain landscape. Even though it is only a few steps away from the animated center of the West Street the environnement of the hotel is very calm. It offers quality and confortable rooms with a blend of chinese traditional decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing