We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Village Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yangshuo Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 414 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Village Retreat”
Reviewed December 27, 2008

We loved our stay at the Yangshuo Village Inn!
We (wife, 13-year old daughter and I) had been staying in big hotels in Shanghai, Hangzhou and Yiwu. So, we were ready for a more relaxing experience - YVI provided just that. The Inn might not be impressive at first glance from the street, but it only takes a few minutes to begin to appreciate your luck in booking a room here. This is a 'village experience' - no glitz, no glam - but a place to settle in to. The staff, Luna and Eric, make the place 'click'. We immediately felt welcome. They helped with our Yulong River raft trip (Wow! Great fun, friendly boat people, and gorgeous scenery!), helped confirm airline reservations, and arranged transport to Guilin Airport. Also, don't miss the Light Show. Luna, the rooftop restaurant is simply outstanding - excellent Italian food (I travel on my stomach, and this place was great!), friendliest service ever, and a million dollar view. You not only look out onto Moon Hill and other peaks, but you also get a great view of the village life below. The balcony off our room provided a relaxing place to sit, read and take in the views also.
The Inn is 'green' - a fact we greatly appreciate. The location of the Inn is ideal for those wanting to be away from the activity and noise of town, yet close enough to easily reach it by taxi or bike. We've been back from our trip for 3-weeks now, and look back on our time in Yangshuo and the Inn as the most enjoyable part of our trip. We wish we could have stayed longer. We look forward to our next chance to stay at the Inn!
(Yes, you may contact us for details if you wish.)

  • Liked — comfortable beds - nice balcony - slippers - exceptional staff - exceptional restaurant
  • Disliked — bathroom a bit sparse - shower curtain should come to the floor to keep rest of room dry
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank terrencemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    79
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
102
127
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

we got to the yangshuo village inn following an overbooking reservation in the dragon inn. the entire staff, especially Luna, were extremely nice and welcoming. the rooms were great, very new and clean, albeit a small bathroom.
the italian restaurant on the roof ("Luna") was AMAZING. we enjoyed eating there every night and almost every morning. the view was fantastic and the food was really good, and not very expensive.
2 pitfalls:
1. the noise of the village could drive you crazy. a shop nearby plays extremely load chinese music from dawn to sundown. but the nights were quiet.
2. Luna and the staff will offer to arrange numerous attracktions for you: bamboo rafting, cooking lessons, show tickets, hot-air baloon flights, etc... this could be very conveninet, however - beware! the prices are extremely high! sometimes almost twice (!!!) the prices you get when you book the same attracktion in Yangshuo village! i don't understand why they're doing it, in the long run people will realise that and stop booking through them. we booked everything through various agencies in town. i hope they realise that this is annoying for the guests, and stop doing it.

  • Liked — the views and the rooms
  • Disliked — noise from the village & over-charged attracktions
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank reuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Loved it. All the staff really made our weekend. We arrived late at night, about 11pm, and welcomed with tea.....and whatever we wanted from the kitchen. they kept it open for us, so we opted for a pizza....yummy. The luna restaurant was fantastic, we weren't sure why you would want to eat italien food on a weekend away in china, but it is exactly what you want after a couple of chinese meals! The breakfasts were delicious!
All the staff v friendly and helpful.....made our stay very personal.
They could do with a communal sitting room, or somewhere to relax and read (as it rained whole of our first day so we weren't too sure where to go at first) but otherwise its perfect, with great views of moon hill, only few minutes walk away.
Definitely recommend.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank roffeywatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2008

... stay at Yangshuo Village Inn.

Friendly and very helpful staff, great roof terrace, lovely rooms (though some more storage space might be appreciated), free Wifi and good food and wine. If you do not seek being pushed through Yangshuo (West Street), and appreciate a quiet roof terrace directly facing the Moonhill, stay at Yangshuo Village Inn.

It is true that mainly Chinese tourist buses visit the village during the day to make the mandatory tourist pictures, but usually you will be on a trip on your bikes or on the river anyway. If breakfast would be included in the price the experience would be excellent.

However, the perfect place to spend a long weekend to enjoy a beautiful landscape.

  • Liked — Roof terrace, food, mountain view from bed
  • Disliked — Taxi travel to Yangshuo + tourist buses in the morning
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ZH9833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam, the netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2008

this is a very nice hotel but it has a location issue and I would say it is overpriced for its quality.
you're basically in the middle of a small village that gets a lot of visitors for its view of the moon hill but is really in the middle of nowhere and has nothing to offer.
no river views, not a river in sight in miles.
the people are very nice though and helpful and the rooms are nicely decorated.
the village is being developed so beware of construction work

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank travelisnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UndertheMoon, Owner at Yangshuo Village Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2008
It's possible that this guest did not read our guest information guide, speak to our reception or reference any travel guides before coming here. Moon Hill Village has 3 magnificent caves just down the road, is surrounded by hills with great trails, a 10 minute walk to Moon Hill scenic area, has 6-7 popular farmers restaurants, a 30 minute hike to great rock climbing and is a 10 minute bike ride to the Yulong River and great mountain bike riding. For those travelers who like to be 15 minutes outside of noisy Yangshuo town, it's hard to find a better place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

I wanted to take a minute to recommend the Yangshuo Village Inn. We traveled there in October, right after they opened. The rooms and grounds are impecably decorated and planned. We had a 2 bedroom suite with one bathroom. the only issue is that there isn't good "storage room" in the bathroom but that wasn't a huge deal.

the rooftop restaurant, La Luna, is great. Delicious Italian food and they grow most of their own vegetables. It might sound weird to have Italian food in China, but trust me, you will want something other than stir fry, soup, and dumplings! Their salads were amazing as we were starved for greens. The roof also has an amazing view of the surrounding Karsts.

Lastly, I would definitely recommend staying outside of town. Its loud, hectic pace is fun to visit but it's nice to have some peace and quiet in the country when you are ready to go to sleep. They were also great about booking activities for us, from cooking school to taxis to Li River cruise. (But don't do the big boat if you do a river cruise -- just take a bamboo raft. They are much, much better).

Enjoy Yangshuo -- it s a gem!

  • Liked — Location, rooftop restaurant -- great food and views
  • Disliked — Service at the restaurant was very, very slow (even for China)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

It was our first visit to Yangshuo and its surroundings and we simply LOVED staying at Yangshuo Inn! From the moment we checked-in, we received very attentive, yet unobtrusive treatment from the staff. Luna and Eric were very friendly, knowledgeable and eager to help, they organised all our trips and transports to town (15 minutes by car) with a smile on their faces. Our family suite was really exquisite - spotlessly clean, super comfortable beds (a great bonus in China), with all the amenities one would expect from a place of this caliber. We loved the shower design and appreciated the owner's eco-awareness and attention to details. We happened to be there when it wasn't full, so it really felt like staying at a friend's mansion. That's the atmosphere - quiet and relaxing and my suspicion is that it always has that feeling, even when full. The food served on the rooftop restaurant Luna (Italian) was very tasty, although not so much variety, but I'm sure they will work on the menu in the future.
A GREAT EXPERiENCE overall, my 2 daughetrs cannot forget their lovely friend Luna, so we'll for sure be back in spring.
I highly recommend this place!!!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank chinagirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
1.6 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 446 in Yangshuo County
1,068 reviews
5.2 mi away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#8 of 446 in Yangshuo County
444 reviews
4.1 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 446 in Yangshuo County
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
Secret Garden Boutique Hotel
#7 of 446 in Yangshuo County
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 446 in Yangshuo County
290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 446 in Yangshuo County
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Village Inn

Property: Yangshuo Village Inn
Address: No. 26 Moon Hill Village | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 414 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Moon Hill Village, just steps to caves and scenic areas, the Yangshuo Village Inn is in its 6th year as Yangshuo's first and premier boutique hotel. The Village Inn features a rooftop Italian restaurant, Luna a full bar and beautiful views of Moon Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yangshuo Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing