We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - if I'd known before hand, would have stayed LONGER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yangshuo Village Inn
Ranked #3 of 443 Yangshuo County B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our original plan was to stay in Guilin . Booked private tour guide- Mulan Zhang, who recommended that we should rather stay in Yangshuo, which is her home town. Mulan is an Excellent tour guide with loads of knowledge regarding surrounding fauna and flora. She is a Great Ambassador for China and well as Yangshuo. She openly promotes Conservation, much like Yangshuo Village Inn - Solar water and reusable water bottles. Arrived in Yangshuo via Li River boat cruise (avoid the tourist trap that is the so called tourist Market where the prices are inflated). Took taxi from main road to Village Inn. on arrival, warmly greeted by front desk manned by - Anna and other very friendly young ladies. Good meals at roof top resturant, with breathtaking views of surrounding cast mountains. Felt safe to do walking around the village. Mulan took us on walking tour of LOCAL village, had meal at family run restaurant made from food grown in the back garden. Before we left, Mulan to us to the LOCALS Saturday market (not the tourist place!!), which was the highlight of our time in Yangshuo, getting to see first hand local culture. Village Inn arranged at short notice pick up and transfer to river light show, which is an experience I'm unable to describe in words....A place that I would highly recommend and a return visit for the future, staff who know the meaning of service with a smile. Well done to Anna and the team. Liz & Derrick from SOUTH AFRICA

Room Tip: Although no lift, its worth the view to have room 303-3rd floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEAR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 353 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Yangshuo Village Inn is a lovely place to be. It's very tastefully decorated, the rooms are nice, the mattresses on the beds are fine and the shower works every time. Good breakfast, outside under the (I think pomelo-)trees. But the greatest asset of the Inn is the staff. They are extremely friendly, relaxed and helpful. And their English ain't half bad.
We rented bikes and cycled around some villages, which was very nice. Just walking around in Moon Hill Village itself - not on the main road, but up from the bus parking lot into the village proper - was an interesting thing to do. And of course the boat trip up the Li River was wonderful (long time though, about 4,5 hours,especially when it's very hot). I had pasta in the Luna Restaurant which I didn't find very interesting, but the pizza's and salads were fine.
Great experience all in all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annewiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you are visiting Yangshuo in summer, do not stay in town but rather in a place like the Viilage Inn. It is located away from Yangshuo's craziness. We stayed here for two nights in the beautifully restored farmhouse in early August as a family of 6 with teenage children. Not much activities for children, but more than compensated for by the terrace in the shade of fruit trees in front of the Inn. We enjoyed breakfast here and afternoon refreshments after bike rides in the area. An absolute 'must do' is dinner in La Luna on the rooftop terrace of the Inn. The attentiveness of staff is exceptional. And most speak English very well.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Family L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Excellent customer-service, attention to detail, and nicely laid out rooms. Great view of Moon Hill and the Italian resto had great food. Breakfast options were also fabulous. Staff were very helpful in organizing pickups and other site visits around Yangshuo. The bikes on location are a little old and roughed up so we may not hire those again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beijing_ChinaFarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Yangshuo Village Inn is quite simply, fabulous!

Located 9km out of town, this is a lovely escape from the craziness that can be Yangshuo. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were staying with family. We stayed in the beautifully renovated Farmhouse. It had all the comforts of home but was cozy at the same time - and the bathroom was HUGE!

Yangshuo Village Inn is also home to one of the towns first rooftop Italian restaurants, Luna, which overlooks Moon Hill. The quality of food is really good, especially the salads, and it has a great wine list (in case you're sick of Chinese beer!). However, it is the included breakfast that is the star. Guests can choose anything from Banana and Chocolate Pancakes through to Guilin Noodle Soup. There is also a really great selection of teas all served in the gorgeous Pomelo orchard.

However, our favourite aspect of Yangshuo Village Inn was the support of its local community and the environment. The hotel encourages guests to refill water bottles instead of constantly buying bottled water, they employ local staff and give a percentage of profits to charity.

Finally, we need to credit the absolutely fabulous staff. All the staff are welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely try the Farmhouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Jane075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Was a pleasure to arrive here. The reception staff are super friendly and helpful. The restaurant (that we heard great things about), had very slow service but the food was pretty good. Great views of the surrounding area and moon hill too. Moon hill is a great hike.

Our accommodation was stunning. An old converted farmhouse round the back of the hotel was authentic and traditional in style. We enjoyed the West Loft room which had a real charm. Lots of wood and felt like we were in the real China. My only criticism was the skylight window let in ALOT of light as the sun was up... very early! I found this very annoying as I wake easily. But, everything else worked, including the air con. Very comfortable and great bathroom.

Their sister hotel, the mountain retreat looked like a really nice spot. More premium but set right on the river, away from the honking buses and tourists. We had a great breakfast there on a bike ride. Signage is lacking though! TIC!

Room Tip: The Farmhouse! Avoid the lofts, for the skylight wake-up though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was my second stay at Village Inn and I was not disappointed. The service is such a high standard and nothing is too much for the staff, who are always friendly and willing to help. All staff speak English and are more than happy to provide advice, arrange tours, hire bikes, organise cave exploring and even provide hotel created maps to help with your adventures. The whole place is designed to have the authentic rural Chinese feel. The furniture, the artwork and the family and village life near by. I would highly recommend staying in the Farmhouse

The Village Inn is a great location, fabulous setting and a great base for exploring the countryside by foot, on bike or is a short taxi or bus ride to Yangshou. The countryside is the real attraction here and it is beautiful and relaxing. You must spend some time on the Li River on the rafts - there is no where like it.

The Luna restaurant and rooftop bar is a great place to sit after a day of activities and has a fantastic view of the surrounding area and Moon Hill (which is a great walk to do while there). We also loved the everyday happy hour from 4-6:30.

Go there, relax and enjoy - you will not regret it.

Room Tip: I Highly recommend the Farmhouse for authentic feel and huge bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
1.6 mi away
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
#3 of 483 in Yangshuo County
1,125 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#14 of 483 in Yangshuo County
174 reviews
4.9 mi away
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
Yangshuo Dongling Resort
#18 of 483 in Yangshuo County
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 483 in Yangshuo County
308 reviews
4.1 mi away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 483 in Yangshuo County
626 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yangshuo Outside Inn
Yangshuo Outside Inn
#4 of 443 in Yangshuo County
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Village Inn

Address: No. 26 Moon Hill Village | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 443 B&Bs / Inns in Yangshuo County
Price Range: $34 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful Moon Hill Village, just steps to caves and scenic areas, the Yangshuo Village Inn is in its 6th year as Yangshuo's first and premier boutique hotel. The Village Inn features a rooftop Italian restaurant, Luna a full bar and beautiful views of Moon Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yangshuo Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Yangshuo County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing