We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dragon River Retreat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mama Moon Inn(Yangshuo County)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    Longtan Yingyue Resort(Yangshuo County)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Guihuayuan Hotel(Yangshuo County)
    View Hotel
    River View Inn(Yangshuo County)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    New River View Hotel(Yangshuo County)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Restaurant
    Magnolia Hotel(Yangshuo County)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Romantic Xijie Hotel(Yangshuo County)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Internet
    Liyi Holiday Hotel Guilin(Yangshuo County)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (79)
    Filter reviews
    79 results
    Traveler rating
    31
    28
    14
    4
    2
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    31
    28
    14
    4
    2
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    22 - 27 of 79 reviews
    Reviewed December 29, 2011

    We traveled around China 2 weeks and this is one of the nicest Hotels we stayed in. We impressed by the staff who were lovely (we didn't have good experiences with staff in other hotels) and very helpful. They also speak a bit of English! We liked the fact that it wasn't exactly in the city as we wanted some peace and quite. Food was cheap and delicious and if what you want is to do some cycling around in the countryside this is the best place to start. You can rent bikes and scooters on site and they have lots of options of activities for you to purchase. The hotel is very clean and the room quite spacious and nicely decorated. Great value for money. If we go back to Yanshuo we would definitely stay there!

    • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Jessica L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 27, 2011

    Good Location...we jogged a lot and rode bikes around the countryside. Not a Good location if you crave bars and more of the town scene. Coming from Shanghai, I have horn honking and yelling right outside of my house, so a break was nice.
    Food here was good, but realize that good in China is different than Good in most other places. The western food is coming along, but needs some more work. The Curry was our favorite thing on the menu. I'm so tired of lame Chinese Beer, I kept fantasizing about something wheaty or not bud-lite-esque. The Room was OK, nothing special. The beds were god awful! Hurt to side sleep, but this is how most of China rolls, so I can't really take points off for this. If they advertised to ex-pats that they had soft beds, they would start making so much cash! Walk out the door and take a left down the road and you'll see spectacular scenery. Get a scooter(they'll deliver them) and ride out to where they grow all the oranges. The views up there were SO amazing.

    Room Tip: Get an upstairs room. Views are better.
    • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Denver_CoEdwink
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 14, 2011

    Upon arrival to our room, I would say it wasn't quite the level of accommodation as reflected on the website. It mentions the hotel is only a year old but I would say longer than that, as the decor is becoming tired.
    Having said that, you need to be realistic in terms of the nightly rate and at the end of the day, you get what you pay for!

    The room
    However was clean and we booked a room with a view of the paddy fields and river, which is definitely recommended for a few extra pounds.

    The location of this hotel is what sells it. Very peaceful, away from the bustling Yangshuo town, but close to Moon Hill and other areas of interest. The hotel faces onto (but not directly) the Yulong River which is nicer than the Li River.

    The cost of food and drinks including alcoholic were very reasonable and the girls that seemed to run the show themselves were all very helpful and friendly. Very good English and chatty.

    If you can afford to pay a little more, I would recommend a new hotel called Moondance, which we stumbled across whilst out on our bikes. Modern facilities but inkeeping. Otherwise I would still recommend this hotel based on the location and service.

    • Stayed: November 2011
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank SarahnMatt1971
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 28, 2011

    Stayed here for 2 nights in Oct. 2011. The location is excellent if you want to stay away from the crush of humanity that is normal in China. There are free shuttles that are a little hard to manage, but taxis are easy, cheap and plentiful too. The food at the Dragon River is excellent, some of the best pizza I have had in China! But I think the best thing I could say about this place is the staff. They went out of their way to make little day trip arrangements and help out with sightseeing arrangements. They were very friendly and spoke excellent english. I would stay here again for sure!!

    • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank canadianshooter
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed October 13, 2011

    We spent two nights at Dragon River Retreat last month and it was a lovely break from the big busy cities in China. Excellent location if you're looking for something in the countryside. Beautiful views from the room, which was very comfortable, although the beds were very firm, even compared to elsewhere in China! We solved the problem by using the spare duvets in the closet on top of the mattress to create a little extra cushion. Breakfast was good and we had a great Western dinner in the restaurant one night. It's located right on the road to the bamboo rafting launch area, which is a fun thing to do - a short cab ride away. There's also a nice walk down to the bridge that the rafts pass under.

    • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank letsgoyvr
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews