We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place, right at the busstop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pearl Hotel Starlake
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Zhaoqing
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Neat place, right at the busstop”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel leaves little to complain about. Rooms new, spacious and clean, staff spoke English and were accommodating. WiFi was free and available pretty much everywhere. The location is also pretty good, right at the bus stop for people coming in from Guangdong airport. As far as shopping and nightlife is concerned I didn't see much, but yet, I don't believe that is what makes people go to Zhaoqing.

The breakfast buffet on the top floor was pretty good. If you chose the right side to sit on you get pretty spectacular views over the Star Lake with the mountains as backdrop. Not bad for an otherwise dull city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Sigurdson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
1
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nimes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Located in the very down town of zhaoqing this hotel is good enough ( i think the best is OYC but really expensiver ), so Starlake is brand new and rooms are large and very clean.
Service is very good and quite fast when you need something.
Lobby people can speak sufficent english , wish is quite unusual in zhaoqing....!
Spa is ok and each spa room are very very large !!
I advise this place and if possible ask for lake view, wish is always smashing !
I haven't tried the restaurant but one seems to be on the roof with splendid view to the lake. ( Chinese and japonese cooking )

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOIC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is coveniently located in the center part of Zhaoqing compared to the less convenient OYC Hotel which is has fastfood shops, restaurants, supermarkets, Walmart just around the corner. The hotel is also facing the Starlake with a clear view since there are no other highrise around. The rooms we had were upgraded with a larger bathroom than the usual rooms and with windows being able to see the views down below. The lighting in the rooms are a bit too dim and it is necessary to switch on all lights at night in order to read. There is free Wifi connection on all floors including gym and lobby and the connection is quite stable. The gym is well-equipped with a wide variety of facilities but I guess the usage is pretty low since a lot of the equipments are off when I went to the gym.

What I appreciate most is the staff of the hotel being very helpful when my grandmother was not feeling well at night and the night shift manager and front desk staff were very helpful in helping us to arrange for ambulance and provide us with some medicine for use which might not be too common in a lot of 2-tier cities hotels in China.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmys704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here for a night on a package tour. These are my observations:

Recently refurbished the fit out and presentation of the lobby and guest rooms is excellent. Rooms were clean and tidy, with quality linen and furnishings.
In room airconditioning was quiet and set at just the right level for a good night's rest.
Generous size beds: I was sharing a twin room and the room had two double beds. Mattress was very comfortable and got two pillows per bed (a high firm one & a low soft one).

Nice panoramic views of Zhaoqing city and surrounding landscape for when you are taking your breakfast or dinner at the restaurant at the top of the hotel. At night time, the dining area becomes a revolving restaurant. So you can take in the views without having to leave your seat.

Location is good. Within easy walking distance (5-10 mins) of two shopping malls, cinema and McDonalds/ KFC.

Had a quick look at the other amenities but didn't get the opportunity to try them out. Gym equipment (cross trainers, running and climbing machines) appears new (TechnoGym brand) .

Swimming pool is bit on the small side,especially taking account of the maximum capacity of the hotel. It would start to appear crowded if 20 people showed up.

Small astroturf putting area and mahjong rooms are also available for hire.

Room Tip: Depending on the room you are allocated, bathrooms come with a view or without a view. Best to ask a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzieOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

July 2011 was my first stay at the Pearl Starlake. Usually, I stay at a competing Hotel in Zhaoqing, the O.Y.C., which I have reviewed at TripAdvisor last year.
My business associate prefers the Pearl Hotel because it is very close to his own home in Zhaoqing, which makes pick up and travel to our factory very easy.
The hotel is beautiful inside and outside. The Outside has a modern round shape, with distinctive Revolving round restaurant atop the hotel structure. The inside lobby is beautiful, with floral presentation in center of lobby, and well maintained marble floors and clean and plentiful sitting areas.
Location is the best in Zhaoqing. Directly across from the main Starlake new plaza/square and park, and across from the large Starlake Mall. Crossing the street to the lake and mall is an adventure - the traffic can be great. I always find and follow the oldest lady or man, and cross with them. Experience and old age go together, so I safely cross each time.
Zhaoqing's Starlake is a real attraction, and from this hotel location, you can see most all of the 7 Star Crags in the lake.
The hotel rooms are of large size, and because the hotel is a circle, the rooms are like slices of a pie - wider at the window than at the entry door. What is most interesting is the shape and huge size of the bathroom. Certainly the shower, bathtub and sink areas are new, in great working order and clean, clean, clean! Extra water pressure makes for a relaxing shower.

Beds are a little harder than at the OYC Hotel, and much harder than a western based Hotel like the Pullman Forum Dongguan. Still, I have slept on much, much harder beds in China, so these I would call medium firm. Bedding was clean, new and fresh smelling. My local associate tells me the hotel was completed recently, but there is none of that "new hotel smell" that you can get, like from degassing adhesive under the carpeting. This is a clean, new hotel.

Check in was slow and a bit confusing, with only 1 attendant speaking a little English, but I can not actually complain.

The resturant on top allowed for free breakfast for each guest. Food was good, however, the omlette station was full and only 1 chef meant long wait times. This could be improved with two chef's during peak hours. More Asian than Western offerings for food, and I can only suggest real juices instead of canned or powdered orange drink mix for their orange juice offering. Not that tasty.

It will be difficult for me to decide on my next stay of the Pearl or OYC in Zhaoqing as my hotel of Choice. Both are very good hotels, and the Pearl is certainly worthy of any traveler's time and money. I would return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSk8Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed here as part of a big group in town for a family reunion. The Pearl Hotel is a large establishment which really stands out given it's distinctive round phallic like design. The front desk service was a little haphazard, not helped by the fact that there so many of us. The staff do not speak English, so I could imagine it could be a little difficult for non Chinese speakers. The rooms were nice and modern having been renovated quite recently. The revolving restaurant served an extensive buffet breakfast which was great. Just be warned that the waitresses will not allow you in without a ticket, even if breakfast is included with your room as they don't have the facility to check this - obviously a quick phone call to the front desk is just too hard. I also dined at the other restaurant and was impresses with their food. In particular the veal spare ribs were just sensational - worth traveling to zhaoqing just for these. The hotel is well located, opposite the two major shopping centers in town, a great legit massage place, the main town square on the lake and the night markets. Overall it is a good place to stay. Just be prepared to speak Chinese!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YG500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 933 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2006

You have to keep things in perspective, ZQ is a small town. I mostly agree with the previous review. For instance my bed was rock hard as well, it reminded me of when I go camping and sleep on the ground. But Chinese people for the most part prefer a very firm mattress. I enjoyed the view on the lake, it's a welcome change from busy GuangZhou. Of course the staff doesn't speak English, this is to be expected. The food was good. Really I have stayed in much worse places than this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank World_Citizen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhaoqing hotels
1.7 mi away
OYC Hotel
OYC Hotel
#1 of 170 in Zhaoqing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zhaoqing International Hotel
Zhaoqing International Hotel
#76 of 170 in Zhaoqing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Zhaoqing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shanshui Trends Hotel Zhaoqing Duanzhou Road
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Jiahu International Hotel
#4 of 170 in Zhaoqing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ming Tien Inn
Ming Tien Inn
#22 of 170 in Zhaoqing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Hotel Starlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Hotel Starlake

Property: Pearl Hotel Starlake
Address: No.37 Duanzhou 4th Road, Duanzhou District, Zhaoqing 526040, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Zhaoqing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 170 Hotels in Zhaoqing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pearl Hotel Starlake 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Pearl Hotel Starlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing