We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good business and family hotel”
Review of OYC Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
OYC Hotel
Ranked #7 of 174 Hotels in Zhaoqing
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was in the hotel in may 2012, we enjoy the fantastic restaurant buffet, and the views from our room towards the lake. Love the size of the rooms, the number os cushions on beds and all the bathroom details .... regards the sauna, and spa areas, huge space and amazing show...

Room Tip: ask for a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kinos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 267 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Currently staying here and I requested a no smoking room, but was given a smoking room. Went down to the front desk to complain and was told that none were available. On the way back to the room, I noticed a housekeeper removing ashtrays from an empty room, and then minutes later I had someone knock on my door asking if I smoked. After saying no, whe asked if she could remove the ashtrays, thereby making my smoking room a non smoking room. How about that for service. To be honest the room doesn't smell of smoke, but the thought of someone having smoked in the room doesn't help me breathe easily. So be warned, all rooms may start off as smoking rooms, but can easily be converted to non smoking rooms. I'm not sure if this is a normal practice, but I saw them do this to two rooms.

Other than that the room is ok, view ok. A lot of expensive items in the room to buy if you're thirsty or hungry. Definately not as good as the other hotels I stayed in Nanjing and Chongqing, which were half the price.

Room Tip: Make sure rooms are non smoking if that's waht you're looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank rdufeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel claimed that it was a 6-star hotel in a TV commercial. The hotel room was huge and customer service was reasonably good. You however could not expect it as an international 5-star hotel, let alone a 6-star one. There were some young girls with sexy costumes dancing in front of an artificial spring pool. You could immediately tell that they were not professional. They literally didn't know how to dance. The music was noisy and the lighting was like you were in a night club. They had a gimmick of having some mermaids swimming in the pool when you were dining at the restaurant. It was not my cup of tea but some might find it interesting. Stayed away from their buffet dinner too if you expected to have a 5-star hotel buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karmaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

/at breakfast young girl mermaid swimming in aquarium pool
/toilets big fish aquarium inside
/hot massage pools with bikini ladies dancing around for extra charge in hotel can be used "recommended"
/room huge included 2 bath tubes
/room style ok already more older touch
/location next to the lake excellent for a walk as well to enjoy evening light show

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Overall this hotel is great and relatively better than most hotels in China of the same range. There were quite a few nice touches in the room; e.g. very powerful shower heads, its in-shower sound system, bed-side clock that lights up when you pick it up, remote control for the curtain, access to the closet from the bathroom, "memory pillows"...and amongst others. It was also very clean and its linen was soft and comfortable.

Outside the room however, its staff were not so friendly / helpful / flexible. Limited English / Cantonese Chinese and just overall didn't seem to care for their guests. The mermaid breakfast thing was weird also.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bpsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed there for 2 nights. The rooms are nice, with excellent view.

I suggest you always take room at 6th floor if ever possible. There is a line of tree in front.

Some rooms has balcony with even a bath tube there. I personally like the one without balcony, but take note that there is a strange plastic curtain "of a bright photo" (you have to see it to understand what I meant ;-) inside the room separating the bed and the in-room bath tube, and that might affect sleep quality if you are used to turning on night lights while sleeping.

The equipments inside rooms are good too - you won't have much doubt if you lie to yourself that you are at four seasons or ritz, as long as you just stay at room.

You should always go outside for other things such as food or massage.

Room Tip: Always 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W___X__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

This is the most fantastic and fascinating hotel I´ve ever seen

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank ThomasH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhaoqing hotels
1.7 mi away
Pearl Hotel Starlake
Pearl Hotel Starlake
#21 of 174 in Zhaoqing
48 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Zhaoqing
2.6 mi away
Zhaoqing International Hotel
Zhaoqing International Hotel
#76 of 174 in Zhaoqing
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shanshui Trends Hotel Zhaoqing Duanzhou Road
1.1 mi away
Jinzuan Hotel
Jinzuan Hotel
#2 of 174 in Zhaoqing
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Jiahu International Hotel
#3 of 174 in Zhaoqing
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OYC Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OYC Hotel

Address: Xinghu Avenue, Duanzhou District, Zhaoqing 526060, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Zhaoqing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zhaoqing
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zhaoqing
Price Range: $72 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — OYC Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your OYC Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyc Hotel Zhaoqing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing