We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good, breakfast good”
Review of Chaozhou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chaozhou Hotel
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Chaozhou
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Hotel room is ok clean although the bathroom sink leaked a little -- kept dripping on the floor. Breakfast is good with a wide selection. Location is good, too. The bed may be a little on the firm side but I like it and it's good for my back.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Ivory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 94 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

The location is good and the spacious rooms are clean even if some refreshment might be considered necessary. AC was working well and this place is ok for a 1-2 nights stay. The breakfast buffet is correct.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y_ok_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My associate and I stayed at the Chaozhou Hotel for 2 nights, Nov 5th and 6th. The Beds were as hard as plywood, the carpets are in desperate need of cleaning and the hotel towels are like drying off with Papertowels. One was not enough but unfortunately I could only use 1 towel as my associate also need a towel. After taking a shower the bathroom is totally soaked as the water leaks out over a ledge before it can drain.

This was the worst breakfast we had during our 12 day trip to China. The banquet room where breakfast was held was very tired, all the linens were badly soiled and for westerners, all you got to eat was some toast.

Very disappointing.

Room Tip: I would recommend NOT to stay at this hotel until they do a major renovation. Try to make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

As previous user said, this is not a bad hotel for Chaozhou. The room is spacious and the amenities are average. For most westerners the a/c is not cold but adequate, enough to keep you cool at night. The restaurant in the hotel is one of the best in the city and offers alot of variety. The location is great as it nears alot of shopping and the downtown pavilions.

I have to agree it smells like smoke b/c some of these are smoking rooms. All in all a good bargain unless you want to up the anie and book at the Chaozhou guest hotel which is 4 stars and much much nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chester L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well, taking into consideration the lack of good hotels in this city, Chaozhou Hotel appears to be the only option at least until the new Chaozhou International Hotel is open next year...
Spacy rooms, Ok decor, acceptable service and low price are advantages. Breakfast is quite poor though...Well at least, to visit factories in Chaozhou you don't have to stay in Shantou anymore...)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peide77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

On the plus side rooms are clean, and the hotel is in a central position. On the minus I was there on a Saturday night and it was very noisy along the coridoor. Worst of all when we checked in the receptionist somehow managed to get my credit card blocked and when I called visa they could nothing until I was back in Hong Kong. I will in future watch what a receptionist does much more closely I think she did not understand the pin system. Only ate breakfast and that was not very good, but if you have to stay in the area for business probably as good as any (and better than the one I stayed here in last time).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is called Chao Zhou Hotel.
I was told by the factory I was visitin that this is the best hotel in town. Maybe so. It is a 'grand' building, but not not particularly well cared for.
Truely this is a hotel for Chinese - not western travelers, but it is all that is available. The room was clean, but smelled like smoke.

Relatively loud neighborhood- but it did not bother me too much.

The room acheived a comfortable temperature.
Bed was soft - which was nice (not a hard Chinese bed) - that was a nice suprise. Normally hotels like this have hard Chinese beds.
Television has one station in English language.. It is English CCTV news.

If you are Western (USA guy) forget the breakfast. Not one thing for us USA guys except some pound cake. People smoke in the shared tables.

Raasonable price. Something like $350RMB for the evening.

The staff seem like they try to please...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaozhou
0.4 mi away
Chaozhou Guest Hotel
Chaozhou Guest Hotel
#24 of 68 in Chaozhou
48 reviews
21.2 mi away
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
Junhua Haiyi Hotel
#4 of 199 in Shantou
183 reviews
21.7 mi away
Sheraton Shantou Hotel - Opening November 4, 2013
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Chaozhou Baohua Hotel
Chaozhou Baohua Hotel
#37 of 68 in Chaozhou
37 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
0 mi away
Vienna Hotel Chaozhou Chaozhou Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaozhou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaozhou Hotel

Address: No.1 Chaofeng Road, Chaozhou 521000, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Chaozhou
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Chaozhou
Price Range: $48 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaozhou Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Chaozhou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing