We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than a lot of other hotels on the Silk Road”
Review of Silk Road Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silk Road Hotel
Ranked #7 of 141 Hotels in Dunhuang
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Much better than a lot of other hotels on the Silk Road”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

As other reviewers have indicated this hotel is much better than other hotels along the Silk road. Service is good, the staff pleasant. The rooms are decently decorated, the beds comfortable with clean linen. The shower worked well. There is a good rooftop terrace and the location is good

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemarie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

If you go to Dunhuang then I urge you to stay at this hotel. The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay with them a fantastic stay for which we thank them. The view from the rooftop terrace was the best in China especially sunrise and sunset. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we had one of the best meals in the chinese restaurant.
Our camera broke after a visit to the Sand Dunes and a member of staff ensured we were taken to a place where the camera could be fixed, which it was (sand inside!)
All in all I think this was the best hotel in the 8 we stayed in on our trip to China.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaniePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Service has been satisfactory,expecially if compared with other hotels of same class in Nord West China. The room are nice, with local furniture and clean. The location is famous mainly for the Mogao Grottoes, really wonderful , with the only remark that is open and available to the tourists only a small percentage of them! It is interesting also to have a walk (by camel or jeep) on the sand dunes, with a small lake in the middleand to visit the West Thousand Buddha Cave, even though the road is very bad and long.
The best think in the hotel is the coffee restaurant in the open at the last floor, just in fornt of a very big dune that at sunset becames red, pink, blue and finally black: a really wonderful panorama! The food is oh, expecially local kebabs. Also to try is the local wine.

Room Tip: We had a room looking the car park, not so quiet. Try to have a room lookink inside or in font of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augustog12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I have travelled around North/Western China quite a lot and I have to say that the Silk Rd Hotel stands out considerably - for its comfort, location, and decent English speaking staff. It is by far the nicest hotel in town. Yes, there could be improvements - with their breakfast perhaps, but on balance its always a pleasure to go there (I've passed through Dunhuang a number of times and have stayed at the hotel 5 or 6 times).
NB - the charge for internet access in the rooms, but have free wifi in certain parts of the hotel.
Well worth it.
Chris

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The Silk Road Hotel has a lot of charm. It is designed to remind one of the old : caravansaries that lined the silk road and is located beside some magnificient dunes. The rooms are spacious but the beds are hard and the water temperature is inconsistent. But no matter what else, the view across the dunes from the roof top restraurant at sunset makes this a must stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdh1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just spent two nights at the Hotel and wish it could have been longer.Rooms, service and food were all satisfactory in my opinion and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly which to me is an important factor when staying away from home.
The rooftop restaurant offers fantastic views of Mingsha mountain and is a must for views of Sunrise and Sunset.The breakfast offers a massive variety of Western food with choices of fresh watermelon and peach juice as well as traditional Chinese cuisine.
A taxi from the Hotel to the caves was 150yuan and about 10 yuan to the town centre which has a night market offering lots of tourist souvenirs.
Mingsha mountain and the crescent shaped lake in the midst of the desert are within walking distance about 15 minutes walk.. There are numerous stalls by the roadside selling souvenirs on this route.
Truly wish I could have spent more time at this location to enjoy the facilities the Hotel had to offer but was on a tight schedule.
Would love to return one day and spend more time not only at the hotel but also at the caves.
Big thanks to Eric ( manager I believe) and also all the staff who made my stay a memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encodetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Our room was OK to start off with but it took 15 minutes to get hot water from the shower and the "view" from the room was of a cement wall. The lobby was nice and so is its garden area. The breakfast was OK. The location is good since it is close to the market area and lots of cheap but surprising good eateries. They did have porters unlike every other hotel we stayed in in China!

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Lack of hot water from the shower
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shauny_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunhuang hotels
2.4 mi away
Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
#1 of 141 in Dunhuang
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Grand Hotel Dunhuang
Sun Grand Hotel Dunhuang
#4 of 141 in Dunhuang
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Soluxe Shazhou Hotel
Soluxe Shazhou Hotel
#11 of 141 in Dunhuang
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tianrun International Hotel
Tianrun International Hotel
#30 of 141 in Dunhuang
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunhuang Guest House
Dunhuang Guest House
#10 of 141 in Dunhuang
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dunhuang Hotel
Dunhuang Hotel
#5 of 141 in Dunhuang
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Road Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Road Hotel

Property: Silk Road Hotel
Address: No.6 Huancheng East Road, Dunhuang 736200, China
Location: China > Gansu > Dunhuang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 Hotels in Dunhuang
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Silk Road Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing