We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
Ranked #1 of 140 Hotels in Dunhuang
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We got to this hotel after 2 weeks in Xinjiang, where it is often a challenge to find good accommodation up to Western standards.

This hotel in Dunhuang represented a major shift in quality. The hotel is generally up to the expectations of a good vacation spot: clean, spacious rooms, nice hotel decor, free wifi, several amenities and pleasant courtyards where to stroll.

The real added value, though, is the location in close proximity to the dunes (very tall dunes). You can enjoy your breakfast, your dinner at the cafe', or a beer, with a gorgeous view (of course this becomes a temptation not to go into the city for dinner).

I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorenzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    137
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
78
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would really recommend staying here. Not in the town but not far, close to the Dunes and very well run. Lovely comfortable and pleasant rooms. Lovely terrace where you can sit and look at the Dunes and sunset in the afternoon/evening. Pleasant staff and helpful. Eric was great. The only place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K1W1China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Don't be put off by this being a little out of town, it is the place to stay. Location is just down the road from the sand dunes. The roof top is really the place to have a sunset tsingtao or two and watch the sun change the colours of the dunes laid out 180 degrees before you. Make sure you do go into the town for the markets and food stalls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzzaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I spent five days in Dunhuang, in three hotels (on the misconception that the Silk Road hotel is too far out of town). Three of those in this hotel, which is by far the best. It is well connected to town by bus (1 yuan, no need of Chinese, just get off when other people do), taxi (10 yuan in day, 15 yuan at night) and shuttle bus (every half hour from 7pm to 10pm, one way only).

As others have said - the long review two or three below this being spot on - this is a great hotel with fantastic views, and proximity to the sand dunes that constitute the highlight of Dunhuang. I also experience breakfast noise, but it was a good wake up call after an excellent night's sleep (see another review of mine for comparison)

Service was flawless. I thought breakfast could be improved, but nothing can be bettered of the cafe on the fourth floor that overlooks the dunes at sunset. The Chinese restaurant also offers some interesting local dishes that are tasty and imaginative in their presentation.

There's no need to think about it - if you have the money, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Really if this place had a pool I would stay for weeks.
Let me start at the beginning....we got off the train from an overnight trip with no sleep. As we got off the train we found the gal holding our name on a sign to take us to the hotel ( free pick up and drop off) they brought us to the hotel we checked in and got to our room. Now we are backpacking so we stayed in the back part of the hotel not the main part. But we are able to use the hotel and services. We took a nap and off to the roof top restaurant for lunch we had spaghetti and a noodle dish both servings are huge. The service was great and the restaurant has a great view of the dunes. That night we took the free shuttle to the night market and wee also got a ride home. The next morning we had the free breakfast on the roof. The breakfast was a huge buffet with everything from a noodle bar to fresh fruit.
They also helped with our bus tickets for our next part of our trip. The do not book bus tickets but helped us find the bus station.
The first night after getting back from the night market we found the Internet not working at 11pm I called the front desk and in 10 minutes I had a repair guy at my door and ten minutes later it was working. So I could go on but again if they had a pool I would stay longer... Great place and I'm very happy with the service and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels.

Room Tip: They also have a spa and foot massage as well as a treadmill for running. I did not go for a run. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theeyesoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

First, there seems to be some confusion on TripAdvisor (in the reviews) between this hotel and the Silk Road Hotel, also in Dunhuang. If you read the reviews of the other one, you will see references to this hotel because the names are confusing. Look at the pictures. This is the one that looks like a giant fort from the outside and has the spectacular dune views from the rooftop restaurant. Staying here is considered a "cultural" experience by the owners of the hotel. The exterior fortress-like structure even has fake windows for imaginary archers to defend the "fort". It is actually walking distance to the magnificent sand dunes and camel rides (assuming the weather isn't too hot, as it was for us in July). A bit out of town (although town seems to be catching up), a taxi ride to downtown will cost you two or three dollars, since Dunhuang isn't very big. The interior lobby is 3 stories high and decorated very elegantly in a Silk Road theme. We had read about asking for a "dune view" room, which we did. This put us on the third floor of the three-story main building (called the castle), looking out over a two-story building to the dunes. It was an extra $14 per night. There are less expensive rooms, which may be the ones that people say didn't have air conditioning. Ours had air conditioning and was quite comfortable and just a few feet away from the steps leading up to the rooftop dining area (used for included breakfast, as well as for private parties). The only downside to the third floor room under the restaurant is that they start setting up for breakfast about 6 a.m. If you are a light sleeper, the noise from the chairs being moved may disturb you. We were usually up anyway to try to catch the sunrise on the dunes. The light is fabulous. (This was also the hotel where we had the most reasonable laundry service, so if you are going to be gone for awhile, would recommend cleaning your clothes here.) As for the oft-mentioned rooftop dining area, try to get a seat for breakfast facing the dunes, so you can see the shadows as they creep across the dunes. Breakfast is very entertaining, with guys making noodles for soup right next to the egg and omelette station (only onions and ham for the omelettes, but if you want to bring over vegetables from the other buffet spread, you could). I carry decaf coffee packets with me and can usually get a pot of hot water. This was a new concept to them, so I got a glass of lukewarm water. If you are interested in hot water for decaf or herb tea, suggest using the electric teapot in your room and bringing it up to the rooftop on the tray from your room. Room has a very traditional feel, with wood pillars and matching wood furniture. Bed was comfortable, although hard, as throughout China. Bath has large shower with lovely painted sinks (again, this is the "dune view" room, so I can't swear to others). The grounds are fairly expansive, but the signage is laughable. There was a sign with an arrow pointing to the on-grounds Japanese restaurant, but it didn't mention that the restaurant was in another building. Once you got to the end of the corridor in the main building, there was no indication where to go. There is also a spa, in a separate building, on the grounds. Really felt that the hotel embodied the character and history of the area. Since there isn't much to do in Dunhuang proper (assume you here for the caves and the dunes), the inexpensive cab ride into town isn't much of an inconvenience. The hotel actually has a shuttle that goes into the night market, but count on taking a taxi back. Be sure to take one of the hotel's business cards, so you can give it to the taxi driver. If you are going to be in Dunhuang, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Dunes view is great for the view (there are only about 12 of them), but if you are sensitive to nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Really a nice hotel. Incredible lobby. The kind of place and the level of comfort you do not expect to find in such a remote (although very touristic) place. Its built like a old Chinese castle. From an architectural viewpoint, some could say it’s even too much…
The rooms are large and clean. We had a nice view on the dune from our window.
Something you should not miss is the breakfast on the roof. Unforgettable!
There are several restaurants in the hotel. We enjoyed the Chinese one, adding a bottle of local Mogao Dry red wine (not bad!).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunhuang hotels
2.5 mi away
Sun Grand Hotel Dunhuang
Sun Grand Hotel Dunhuang
#4 of 140 in Dunhuang
62 reviews
2.4 mi away
Soluxe Shazhou Hotel
Soluxe Shazhou Hotel
#11 of 140 in Dunhuang
47 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunhuang Hotel
Dunhuang Hotel
#5 of 140 in Dunhuang
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tianrun International Hotel
Tianrun International Hotel
#30 of 140 in Dunhuang
14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunhuang Guest House
Dunhuang Guest House
#10 of 140 in Dunhuang
61 reviews
46.1 mi away
Mogao Hotel
Mogao Hotel
#17 of 140 in Dunhuang
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel

Property: Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
Address: Dunyue Road, Dunhuang 736200, China
Location: China > Gansu > Dunhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 140 Hotels in Dunhuang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel is founded in 1995. Situated against the backdrop of the picturesque Mingsha Sand Dunes, the hotel captures the spirit of the Tang Dynasty with its unique architectural design - the large rooftops and long corridors of the Han and Tang dynasties; the typical enclosed courtyard style design and mud walls of the northwestern part of China; and the replica of the late Tang, Ming and Qing dynasties furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silk Road Hotel Dunhuang
Silk Road Dunhuang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing