We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yadan National Geological Park

Yadan National Geological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
All Inclusive Private Day Trip to Jade Gate Pass, Han Dynasty Great Wall Ruin...
Ranked #4 of 46 things to do in Dunhuang
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

You have to see this place to believe it, just amazing. Incredible stone structures just sitting in the dessert. Landscape is incredible, vast for miles and miles.really worth the visit, highly recommend it, so different.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank K1W1China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    46
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yangshuo County, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our tour of the Old City, Jade Gate, Great Wall ruins, Thousand Buddha caves & the Yadan National Park was very disappointing. First mistake was to go in the afternoon instead of the morning. It was an extremely hot day which didn't help. The "old" city was a third rate reconstruction & cost 40 RMB to see. The Jade Gate & the Great Wall ruins were frankly not worth the money, especially when having to contend with masses of photo snapping Chinese tourists. When we arrived at the entrance to the Yadan National Park we had to get off our bus & join a long & painfully slow queue in the hot sun to buy overpriced tickets (80 RMB). By this time we were over the whole trip! I definitely cannot recommend this tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
180 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Beautifull scenery! If possible try avoid the tour groups.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We paid €30 per person to get to Yadan, Han great wall, Jade gate pass and the thousand buddha grottoes. On hindsight I think this is a fair deal, the downside is that we had to go by tourbus, which includes a lot of chinese tourists. We had no choice, but I think If you are able to escape that, the vastness of the desert might be overwelming!

The park itself is beautifull. At dusk the sun sets it beams on the rockformations, which turn bright orange. We would have loved to do a day hike through the park. Unfortunately you can only go by sightseeing bus.

It's a fair ride out of Dunhuang. About 2,5 hours. But definitely worth the trip!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasper F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“far but worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had only 2 full days in Dunhuang but made it all work easily. We rented a car and driver from the Silk Road Hotel (1500 RMB for the weekend or about $230USD), and on one day they took us out to Yadan National Park.

The drive through desert is often boring (about 2.5 hours), but there are stretches of beautiful mountain scenery.

Once you get to the Park, you must get onto a tour bus (it seems private cars not allowed in the park itself), which takes you and 30 other Chinese tourists to 5 stops within the park at 10 minute intervals, with a final 1 hour interval for exploring. WEAR SNEAKERS! The gravel does not work well in flip flops.

The restaurant at the entrance to the park isn't bad either- although quite self service and no English menu. Also, this is China...don't forget your own soap/Purell and tissues!

Amazing scenery and definitely worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank estrella49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Looks like outer space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Reminded us a lot of Zion Natioanl Park in Utah. Huge rock formations in the middle of the desertt. Woth the trip becasue then you go view the Great Wall and the Western Caves.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank WMMeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yadan National Geological Park also viewed

 

Been to Yadan National Geological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing