We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mogao Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$116
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Dunhuang Hotel(Dunhuang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
15
33
6
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
33
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness hoteltouriststoiletlobbytaxiwifi
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 58 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

a short walk to the buses that go to the mogao grottoes and crescent lake, as well as a short walk the night market. exceptional service from the staff (but I do speak Chinese). hailed cab for us, arranged car hire, etc.
rooms smell a bit funny and there's no wet./ dry separation, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Neat rooms, clean bathrooms, adequate showers. Bad smell due to smokers! Staff helpful but very little English. Well placed for tourists, near to buses, markets and restaurants. Use local buses rather than overpriced 'tour' buses to get to caves and sand dunes. Go to posh Silk Road Hotel and have drink on the terrace to watch sunset with fabulous views of dunes.

Room Tip: Request non smoking.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacklesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I was surprised at how big the rooms are, it was more like a suite with a couch and coffee table and nice furniture. It seems that only one girl speaks english and I think she may also be the manager, but all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The only downfall was the bed, the most hardest bed I have ever slept on I think the floor may have more cushioning, that aside we extended our stay here as Dunhuang is a lovely quite town with a great little night market.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHappyWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I visited during low season, which means the hotel prices were very competitive and hotel guests get a lot of attention. The staff were nice enough to get taxis for me, negotiate the price of the trip first, and then have me get on the taxi. The staff also advised on timing to leave for the train, etc.

The only complaint I have is about the over-staffing of room cleaning personnel. I was staying on the 3rd floor and there were between 3 to 5 room cleaning maids stationed on my floor throughout the day. They chatted loudly while keeping their walkie-talkies on all the time, so I cannot have a moment of quiet in the room. Due to the low prices of the hotel rooms, there were also very low calibre customers. Instead of calling for room cleaning services by using the telephone in the room, some Chinese tourists choose to open their room door and yell to the room cleaning personnel outside for immediate service. This caused a huge amount of noise, and was especially noticeable in the late evenings between 9pm-12 midnight.

Please note that during winter, the hotel effectively has no hot water. After all, Dunhuang is a city located in a desert area, and water is difficult to come by.

Room Tip: In winter, ask for extra blankets. There is no elevator here so if you have any problems with walking upstairs, ask for a room in the lower floors.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ariellek_bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I arrived in Dunhuang early July 2011 with a Chinese friend to visit the Dunhuang Desert
etc.It was a welcome relief to find such excellent accommodation in Dunhuang.
The room was a little small but very clean and beautiful.The air conditioning was great
as the weather was hot.The price at about 160 yuan per night from memory was
great value for money.The hotel staff were very polite and friendly and made me
feel welcome.Being a Westerner it was nice to chat in Chinese to them.I would
definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dunhuang

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewknight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews