We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised at the large rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mogao Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunhuang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mogao Hotel
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Dunhuang
Elwood, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Surprised at the large rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I was surprised at how big the rooms are, it was more like a suite with a couch and coffee table and nice furniture. It seems that only one girl speaks english and I think she may also be the manager, but all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The only downfall was the bed, the most hardest bed I have ever slept on I think the floor may have more cushioning, that aside we extended our stay here as Dunhuang is a lovely quite town with a great little night market.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I visited during low season, which means the hotel prices were very competitive and hotel guests get a lot of attention. The staff were nice enough to get taxis for me, negotiate the price of the trip first, and then have me get on the taxi. The staff also advised on timing to leave for the train, etc.

The only complaint I have is about the over-staffing of room cleaning personnel. I was staying on the 3rd floor and there were between 3 to 5 room cleaning maids stationed on my floor throughout the day. They chatted loudly while keeping their walkie-talkies on all the time, so I cannot have a moment of quiet in the room. Due to the low prices of the hotel rooms, there were also very low calibre customers. Instead of calling for room cleaning services by using the telephone in the room, some Chinese tourists choose to open their room door and yell to the room cleaning personnel outside for immediate service. This caused a huge amount of noise, and was especially noticeable in the late evenings between 9pm-12 midnight.

Please note that during winter, the hotel effectively has no hot water. After all, Dunhuang is a city located in a desert area, and water is difficult to come by.

Room Tip: In winter, ask for extra blankets. There is no elevator here so if you have any problems with walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ariellek_bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I arrived in Dunhuang early July 2011 with a Chinese friend to visit the Dunhuang Desert
etc.It was a welcome relief to find such excellent accommodation in Dunhuang.
The room was a little small but very clean and beautiful.The air conditioning was great
as the weather was hot.The price at about 160 yuan per night from memory was
great value for money.The hotel staff were very polite and friendly and made me
feel welcome.Being a Westerner it was nice to chat in Chinese to them.I would
definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dunhuang

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewknight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
340 reviews
326 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

We stayed at the Mogao for 2 nights while on holiday. We booked over the internet - that all worked out fine. It is a typical Chinese style business hotel with not much character.

The location is great, right on Mingshan Street, just minutes walking from night markets, shops, travellers cafes, bike rentals, etc. Although it is on a main street, it was very quiet in the rooms, thanks to the double glazing. Reception staff don't really speak any English so really weren't all theat helpful.

The rooms were average, what you'd expect for <200RMB, of average size, well furnished and well lit. Everything was very clean and well-maintained, very important in our book. The AC worked well, the mini-bar fridge didn't work so well. The bathroom was of average size with a nice decorative toilet, but no separate shower enclosure, just a curtain that divides off the shower area. The TV only has Chinese channels.

The lobby and hallways were not pleasant, often reeking of cigarette smoke - supplemental oxygen required at times, but the room stayed smoke-free. Overall it was decent value, well located, and we would stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunhuang hotels
46.1 mi away
Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
#1 of 118 in Dunhuang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Hotel Dunhuang Feng Qing Cheng
44.0 mi away
Sun Grand Hotel Dunhuang
Sun Grand Hotel Dunhuang
#2 of 118 in Dunhuang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
241.1 mi away
Shazhouyi International Youth Hostel
44.2 mi away
Dunhe Brand Hotel
Dunhe Brand Hotel
#43 of 118 in Dunhuang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sichouyi Youduoduo Inn
Sichouyi Youduoduo Inn
#3 of 117 in Dunhuang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogao Hotel

Property: Mogao Hotel
Address: No.248 Mingshan North Road, Dunhuang 736200, China
Location: China > Gansu > Dunhuang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Dunhuang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mogao Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing