We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, inexpensive, and absolutely central”
Review of Dunhuang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunhuang Hotel
Ranked #5 of 149 Hotels in Dunhuang
Reviewed January 30, 2010

This hotel is very central, rather clean and absolutely well situated, along the central road of the (rather small, as far as I could realize) city. The room I had wasn't bad at all, the service was OK, and the price was really low (about 16 €!).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francesco-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Dunhuang Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 69 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2009

Stayed two nights at the Dunhuang Hotel ("Dunhuang Fan Dian" in Chinese) in June 2009. Paid 240 yuan for a triple the first night (price included service fees etc as it was booked through Ctrip). We switched to one twin and one single room for the second night, which cost a total of only 280 yuan as the hotel was offering pretty good discounts when we booked directly at reception. Note that the triple rooms in this hotel are not configured for internet access but most other rooms are. High-speed internet access (plug-and-play) was included in the price we paid for the twin and single rooms. The included breakfast is typical Chinese fare of watery rice porridge, assorted accompanying vegetables, hard-boiled eggs, etc. No western-styled breakfast or coffee. And if it'll be an issue, the hotel does not have lifts.

The hotel is near a nightclub so you may be kept awake by some singing especially if you're on the second floor and allocated to the wing nearest the club.

Overall, it's comfortable, clean and more than decent for the price. One guidebook I read described it as "mildly luxurious" which I would say is a fair description (this isn't the Shangri-La and is more in the style of a 1980s 3-4 star hotel but the room itself is really not bad at all). However the bathroom can only be described as utilitarian. Long-legged folks be warned as the toilet bowl can be located in some rather tight, awkward corners that make it difficult to have a good sit. The bathing area is shower-style (no bathtub), and separated from the sink and toilet bowl areas by only a shower curtain, so the whole bathroom will get wet with bath water. I've marked the rating for "Rooms" down by one because of the bathroom.

The hotel's location is very good (but I guess Dunhuang is a small town) and the public bus to the Mogao caves stops literally across the road from the hotel (the 30-min bus ride costs 8 yuan each way and leaves at half-hourly intervals). The public bus to the Mingsha sand dunes (1 yuan! for a maybe 10-min ride, I forget) is a very short 3-min walk up the street. The night market and another touristy area with eateries (I don't know the name of that place) are all within a 10-15 min walking distance of the hotel as well. It's also located mere steps from a few convenience stores. Service is also good -- we sat/slept in the hotel lobby for a good 2.5 hrs in between checking out and catching our flight, and a smiling hotel staff (Miss Nie) was really kind and served us tea on the house while we waited and took up space. Overall a good experience. But the triple rooms should be avoided - they're not as nicely furnished as the twin/ single rooms and the one we were allocated on the first night had a creepy, dimly-lit living area, a wonderful view of somebody's roof, and free music from the nightclub.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snaily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 街の中心地にも関わらず、とても静かだ。
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OTANNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank okady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 8, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed January 25, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunhuang hotels
2.3 mi away
Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
Silk Road Dunhuang Hotel
#1 of 149 in Dunhuang
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Grand Hotel Dunhuang
Sun Grand Hotel Dunhuang
#4 of 149 in Dunhuang
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tianrun International Hotel
Tianrun International Hotel
#16 of 149 in Dunhuang
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dunhuang Guest House
Dunhuang Guest House
#10 of 149 in Dunhuang
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soluxe Shazhou Hotel
Soluxe Shazhou Hotel
#11 of 149 in Dunhuang
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dunhe Brand Hotel
Dunhe Brand Hotel
#46 of 149 in Dunhuang
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunhuang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunhuang Hotel

Address: No.373 Mingshan North Road, Dunhuang 736200, China
Location: China > Gansu > Dunhuang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 149 Hotels in Dunhuang
Price Range: $24 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunhuang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Dunhuang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing