We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life time experience”

Mt. Huangshan (Yellow Mountain)
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Private Tour: Xi'an Huashan Mountain Exploration Day Tour
More Info
$232.00*
and up
Huangshan Airport (TXN) Arrival Transfer to Huangshan Hotels with Huangshan...
More Info
$166.80*
and up
Small-Group Hiking Tour of Hua Shan from Xi’an
Ranked #1 of 82 things to do in Huangshan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mt. Huangshan's peak offers excellent views of the surrounding territory. Transportation: Private bus Private car Public transportation Bicycle English Level: Fluent Services Provided: Tour guide Interpreter Business assistant Car rental Airport/train station pickup Ticket booking Hotel reservations Story teller and history narrator
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Life time experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's like a different world when you have climbed up to HuangShan.

View - spectacular
Speedy change of weather - something that you will not be able to experience at a city. It could be blue sky and sunny at one moment, and before you notice the change, the clouds have arrived with water in the air!
Air - very fresh

Certainly worth the visit but be prepared for the stairs!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hungrysydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,919
    683
    112
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“24 hours at Mt. Huangshan”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Not an easy place to visit without knowing Chinese and you need lots of planning as well.
The maps are terrible and they use different English words for same places.

The place is wonderful and worth 1-3 days.
We were visiting the place during the week and despite a bad weather forecast there were too many people - I would NOT go there in a weekend.

We went up by feet from Yungu, spent the night at Xihai Hotel.
Next day we walked half the Xihai Gran Canyon (northern route down to the cable car) and finally took the Yungu lift down.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Skovmose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“There in October”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Mt. Huangshan was truly phenomenal. We left at 6 in the morning from Huangshan town and got there fairly early, but there were already large crowds. Also, it was October (I can't remember early or late) but it was very cold at the mountains. I would suggest bringing a good jacket, but one that you can easily remove because you will sweat! There are A LOT of stairs. I consider myself to be pretty fit, but I was even getting winded going up some of the stretches of stairs. Then felt bad when I saw the men carrying huge quantities of goods up the mountains on their backs. Anyway. There are hotels on the mountains and many reviews I read suggested you stay there. I think yes and no. We didn't have enough time to see everything (like the fairy bridge) because we had to catch a bus back to Hangzhou. So staying overnight would certainly allow you to see more. However, I wasn't overly impressed by the look of the hotels for what I (a budgeted English teacher) would be willing to pay for. Lastly, we rode the cable car up because we had to do the mountains in one day. I actually thought it was unbelievable going up that way instead of hiking, to see the views birds eye was breathtaking.

In October, autumn colors were in full bloom and stunning. Overall, a mind-blowingly beautiful place on our planet earth! Go, go, go!! And don't forget your toilet paper :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank isingsongs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome scenery”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The peaks, the pines and the clouds are the must see in huangshan. The scenery here is second to none. It is a popular place and so expect a large crowd, big tour groups with blaring megaphone is a norm and starts at around 7am. Go up there as early as you can to avoid queuing.

Helpful?
4 Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the snow”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I'm sure huangshan is beautiful all year round but when we saw it in the first snow it was gorgeous. Seeing this place first hand was a truly wonderful experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gravelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Huangshan (Yellow Mountain) also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Huangshan (Yellow Mountain)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing