We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very touristic place yet classic”

Tunxi Ancient Street
Ranked #2 of 82 things to do in Huangshan
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very touristic place yet classic”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

When I went to Tunxi, it's packed with tourists, maybe because it's weekend. The street were beautiful in the evening, where lampions and lamps iluminate the old buildings, the vendors on the right and left side of the small road, tried to attract buyers. Most of the stores sells similar things: Tea, Cookies, handycrafts, scarfs and snacks. Some vendors are nice and some weren't. But still it's a nice to walk around coz it gives classic impression.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirin1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    181
    82
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Touristic place below the mountain”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

It is a nice place to relax and have a rest before departing (or after) for Huangshan. The streets are not too crowded even in peak season, but I recommend to book your room in advance just in case. It is a peaceful place to walk by. Don't stay more than half a day or more than the time you need to start climbing Huangshan, it is not useful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiyang, China
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Something to do if you have time to kill”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Tunxi Ancient Street is like every other "old street" in China. Yes, it is quaint and somewhat charming with cute little shops that line a mostly pedestrian alleyway. There are a couple types of shops (tea, antiques, art, trinkets) that repeat the farther you walk. I agree with other reviews in that the shop owners aren't pushy and we actually had fun chatting to one of the antique dealers. It's an okay place to stop if you are in the area, on your way to/from Huangshan, but if your travel agenda is packed and you don't have much time, don't regret skipping this touristy attraction. It only took my husband and I 30 minutes to walk up and down the street and we had time to kill before we were to meet our guide again, so we ended up relaxing in a non-ancient coffee shop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank woshoudebuhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice old street and not too crowded”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a nice place to relax after a day of sight seeing at the Huangshan mountain, it is not too crowded so you can walk around and find some interesting products. I went in some stores and what I really liked is that the salespersons are not very pushy as in other places in China.
Also the place was surprisingly clean and overall I enjoyed walking around as it really has the feeling of a very old and traditional street.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Ancient street above sea level”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Tunxi is located in the central district of Huangshan city. Building structure dated back to Song Dynasty. Flourish during Ming and Qing Dynasties. There are some shops exist for over a hundred years, such as Tongderen medicine shop.

Traders' stalls are all similar with other ancient street, except the local cuisine and its architecture style. The street is not crowded with tourists and the traders pride themselves on fair trading just like their ancestors.

Wancuilou is a good place to explore and learn the Chinese architecture.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bambooKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tunxi Ancient Street also viewed

 

Been to Tunxi Ancient Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing