We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Beihai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beihai Hotel
Ranked #155 of 471 Hotels in Huangshan
Miami Beach, Fl
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

So much has already been said in prior reviews that I will make only a few comments. We came up the Yungu cable car on our first day and had lunch here and checked into our room before going out for the afternoon to hike the Xihai 1st and 2nd rings. The next morning, we had a great sunrise viewing spot just a short distance from the hotel at Dawn Pavilion and Lion Peak. So, for location, the Beihai is excellent.

We had room 8315, which was at the end of corridor on the top floor. It was reasonably quiet because few people were walking in our section of the hallway. When we closed our window which faced the basketball court, most of the noise was reduced. We had brought ear plugs but we didn’t need them to sleep.

We were surprised the room was as nice as it was. We liked the firm king size bed. The room had a supply of shampoo, soap, toothbrushes, toothpaste and jackets for warmth. You can travel a bit lighter knowing these are provided! The room was slightly damp or musty, but okay.

The hotel was completely full. Even the bunk beds for the guides were sold to tourists. All the tents that can be reserved on the basketball court were full. Even so, the buffet at dinner and breakfast was plentiful and seats were available. We would say the food is adequate; but when I consider that everything is carried up the mountain I feel that there should be some adjustment considering the extraordinary lengths that are gone to have these services in this location. But perhaps they could improve upon the cooking preparation.

At night the neon lights on the front of the hotel display sunrise time and the chance of a seeing it based on the weather. We walked to Dawn Pavilion and Lion Peak and had a spectacular show even though the board had displayed a 55% chance. With the hotel so full, going out for sunrise was a busy affair. Learn the gentle art of edging your way through a crowd so that you can see the sunrise and get your photo! Everyone is friendly and everyone gasped when the sun actually rose!

Room Tip: Ask for the newest rooms at the end of a corridor to minimize noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    116
    140
    58
    31
See reviews for
46
91
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Beihai Hotel is strategically located in the Beihai (North Sea) scenic area of Mt Huangshan, China. It's a short walk to the scenic lookout points of the Beihai area, and therefore close enough to catch the dawn from a good vantage point.

As hotels go, it's barely a typical Chinese 4-star, but then you remember that everything - everything!- is brought up on the backs of porters up the mountain and you appreciate it a lot more.

The rooms are adequate, bathroom is small but it's cosy enough and quilts are thick and warm. The hotel provides thick red sweaters for cold days and respirator masks (!). Rooms are carpeted and equipped with the basic amenities, including flat-screen TV. Overall cleanliness was OK, bed was hard.

The lobby is small, dim and usually crowded with tourists, and in spite of no-smoking signs, there's almost always someone lighting up. This is mass tourism, so forget about quiet and elegance!

The dining/breakfast area is noisy, usually crowded and food is dished out rather then served. There are quieter places on the mountain to eat - the Beihai hotel is not one of them.

Given it's location and the difficulty of logistics, the Beihai is a good place to be based for exploring the mountain. It's smack on the main trail so it's always very busy outside. It's also very expensive but that's a function of the difficulty of logistics on the mountain - if you see the porters slogging up the trails with their loads, you quickly understand why this is so.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leeyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We're going to grade this hotel on a curve, because it's at the top of a mountain and the only ways to get up that mountain are by stairs or cable car, creating big issues for everything from supplies to getting personnel to work on time. Having said that, Bei Hai is the best of eight hotels at the top of Huang Shan (Yellow) Mountain, a hugely popular attraction in China. Bei Hai also is one of the few hotels on the mountain that will rent to foreigners. The mountaintop deserves at least one true five-star, spa-type hotel, and this place falls short. My wife, 10-year-old daughter and I stayed at the Bei Hai for a day and one night this month, during a three-week vacation in China that included hiking Huang Shan Mountain over two days. The rack rate for a standard double (1680 RMB, or $260 or so in US dollars) is at least somewhat reasonable by western expectations. We paid a discounted rate, booking through a tour service. Our beds were hard and small, even for our small bodies. Taller people will want to take note of this. Our room was not air conditioned, but the windows opened and had screens. And even in the middle of summer, the temperatures on top of the mountain were cool, and the room was very comfortable. The room smelled musty, and the bedding felt dank. There was no minibar, but you could buy cold Tsing Taos out of convenience store cases in the hotel for 25 RMB (6.4 to the dollar.). The bathroom emitted strange odors, and the plumbing (either the shower or the toilet) oozed fluid on the bathroom floor. Our room had a full tub, but the bathroom was hardly conducive to a romantic soak. The hotel at least includes rubber shower slippers in the room for each guest. There was no wifi in the room, but being at the top of a mountain, we picked up a strong, consistent 3G signal on our iPad2. We ate three meals at the main restaurant in the hotel, and they were of varying quality. Dinner was flat bad; the meats in our Chinese dishes were fatty and overcooked. The breakfast buffet was OK, as was lunch. The big bonus, of course, was the sunset over the mountains, which you can enjoy easily from the Bei Hai deck, even over throngs of other visitors, and 5 a.m. summer sunrise in the other direction. Huang Shan has numerous hiking trails, and they're all convenient to the Bei Hai. One note: the trams that take people up and down the mountain shut down before sunset, our guide told us. So, if you're planning to enjoy sunset on the mountain, you better have some idea before you get there of where you're going to sleep. (You can also rent tents at the top of the mountain, at a concession outside the Bei Hai.) A final thought: Even though the trams have replaced stairs as the preferred choice of getting up the mountain, hiking around it is still physically demanding, as you'll often be going up and down stairs on the trails, often dozens at a time. You won't want to be carrying a lot of luggage (although the mountain has guys who will haul luggage for a fee, and will even haul people in sedan chairs at a rate of about 400 RMB per day.). We put enough clothing and toiletries for a one-night stay in our backpacks, and left the bulk of our luggage with our tour service at the bottom of the mountain.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fwtexastraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I organized a trip to Huangshan for a friend visiting from Europe and myself. I was told the sunset/surnrise were breathtaking, so I decided to book a night at a hotel on the top of the mountains.
I can understand how the rooms can be overpriced (900 RMB for a very basic "Hanting type" room with twin beds) as the location is unique and there are very few other hotels on the top.
But for a basic room, at this price, you would except the rooms at least to be clean and functional. Not quite: the walls were decorated with squashed moths and other insects (souvenir of previous visitors, uncleaned after...), a pungent moldy smell and unfonctional shower (shower doors somehow leaked, filling the bathroom with water for the whole duration of trip, as evacuation pipe was blocked).
Don't expect friendliness from the staff either: poor indication for sightseeing, overall rudeness
If I had to to it all over again, I would skip the sunset and just do the Huangshan hike in one day (it's tough but possible). Yep, it was that bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huangshan hotels

Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Beihai hotel has a terrific location above the cable cars on the Huang Mountains. However, the hotel is in poor shape. We stayed in the new wing, but the rooms smelled of mold, there was mold around the base of the toilet and tubs. There were dead insects stuck to the drapery and lying on the carpet of the rooms. The beds were extremely hard, even for China. Luckily, we only stayed for one night. The dining room had a lackluster (i.e. tepid, soggy food) breakfast buffet. The set menus at the sit down lunch and dinner were adequate, nothing special. However, we found it interesting because water was dripping from the ceiling into a rusty bucket. At the end of the meal, the waitress took a rag, dipped it into the bucket of water and proceeded to wipe down the tables!

Fortunately, we spent almost all of our time hiking and enjoying the absolutely spectacular scenery.

Room Tip: Request the new wing, room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hongdemao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

If you're going to stay at the top of the mountain, by all accounts this is the nicest place to do it. But from my visit, I wish we had just hiked it all in one day and come back down. The location of the hotel really is it's only draw - otherwise our experience was a small room, rock-hard bed, over-priced below-average food and cigerette smoke everywhere. And having a room with a view means you have hundreds (or more) of hikers and their megaphone-screaming tourguides under your window at all hours (including 4:30am for sunrise). It was certainly an experience being the only Westerners in a crowd of thousands of Chinese, but after one day we had enough. We cancelled on our second night and high-tailed it back down.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbcbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The Beihai Hotel is an amazing place near the top of the Huangshan mountains. We accessed the hotel by a gondola ride to its top station than a scenic walk with moderate elevation changes down then up then down to the hotel.

Some of the earlier negative comments apparently do not take into consideration the old real estate saying: Location, location, location. I understand that all the supplies (and even building materials) are carried by human power to the hotel location. Porters carry supplies up and dirty laundry and garbage down. And the porters do not get to use the cable cars, walking from the bottom station to the top.

It is also amazing that just across the plaza from the Beihai is a Bank of China office where I exchanged USD to CNY and an ATM machine.

While walking to the hotel (from the top gondola station) a number of porters were carrying large tube type TVs up from the hotel. They were apparently taking out the large obsolete TV sets because our room (in the new wing) had large flat screen TVs. (Who needs a TV when the view is out of the window?)

Food was pretty good, especially considering that the supplies were carried from the bottom. The only disappointment food wise was the poor quality of coffee during the breakfast buffet. I don't know pricing because our meals were included in the tour price, but our guides order a large selection and quantities were so large that a lot of food was wasted.

You don't need to bring a warm jacket for sunrise viewing. The hotel provided two thick "down" parkas with a flashlight in the pockets for sunrise viewing. If you intended to view the sunrise, a short walk from the hotel is involved, but get up early to get a prime viewing spot.

Yes, the bed is hard but not bad if you sleep on your back. They must have placed a sheet of plywood on the mattress. Other than the "firmness" of the bed, the room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElgarMedford_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
Shilin Hotel
#55 of 471 in Huangshan
130 reviews
Xihai Hotel
#2 of 471 in Huangshan
263 reviews
Paiyunlou Hotel
#187 of 471 in Huangshan
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#161 of 471 in Huangshan
257 reviews
Huangshan Resort
Huangshan Resort & Spa
Huangshan Resort & Spa
#11 of 471 in Huangshan
95 reviews
Huangshan Yu Ping Lou Hotel
#66 of 471 in Huangshan
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beihai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beihai Hotel

Property: Beihai Hotel
Address: Beihai Scenic Area, Huangshan 242709, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 471 Hotels in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Beihai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beihai Hotel Huangshan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing