We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacks Basic Comfort and facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pig's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pig's Inn
Ranked #3 of 236 Huangshan B&B and Inns
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Lacks Basic Comfort and facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

There is no doubt that it is a unique experience to stay in a building dating from the Ming & Qing dynasties. It's a pity that the owner hasn't given a little more thought in providing a comfortable stay for guests who are prepared to pay a premium for the opportunity to stay in a World Heritage listed village.

I put more time and effort into securing a booking for "The Pig's Inn" than any other place we stayed during our recent trip. I chose to to stay here based on reviews I had read. To be fair the reviews say not to expect five stars and I did not.

As far as I have been told the only person who speaks English is More, the owner's son. I had quite a few email exchanges with More and also with John from the Sino Impressions website. John was acting as an agent and he recommended the Bishan location but I was determined to stay in Xidi.

The most expensive room has a sitting area attached and since we were only staying overnight I opted for what More described as the "landscape room". I'm not sure that this was the room we were given because More was not present and the staff spoke no English (I speak no Chinese). I indicated that I would prefer a different room but it appeared to be already booked. The other rooms upstairs did have more substantial bathrooms.

Our room was upstairs and had a double bed with a quilt filled with some heavy indescribable material. We found a spare quilt cover and used that instead. The bathroom was the size of a cupboard with a basin in front of the only small window in the room, a toilet and a hand held shower. On the window sill there was a shaving mirror, the only mirror available and no power point for the bathroom. In fact there was only one power point in the whole room.

There was a large cake of used soap containing some foreign "DNA" and an almost empty bottle of communal body wash. There was only one towel which made me further doubt that this was in fact meant to be our room.

The inn is a charming ancient farm house with an internal courtyard but the owner has used a surprising miss-match of bric-a-brac for decoration. The views from upstairs are truly impressive.

We were served a pleasant dinner and breakfast was Chinese style. To be honest I felt very disappointed by this inn which did not meet my expectations. I had the distinct impression that the owner has no idea how to provide a comfortable stay for her guests. The rates charged in no way reflect the standard provided. They have obviously cashed in on the publicity Pig's Inn has been given in the West.

Room Tip: Maybe check out the Bishan location or pay for the more expensive rooms if you must stay in Xidi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
23
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

First of all, you have to know that this place is three time more expensive compare to equivalent in Xidi.... Then, if you are ready to pay for it, you have to know that is is very "local", especially in terms of comfort... Decoration is nice and people are also nice. Final: avoid ! (see my pictures)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeroReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a great stay at Pig's Heaven Inn. Rooms are quite small but clean with warming mattress...really needed as soon as the sun goes down. It is quite expensive compared to the comfort you would get for the same price in the city but definitely worth if you want an authentic experience in a gorgeous house. You can get a simple but nice dinner for 60 RMB.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I took my parents and my two children (3 and 5) to Pigs Heaven Inn in Bishan (not the Xidi location) for a long weekend in November. The kids and I shared a 3 bed room. It's just outside the main building so not traditional style but it had a bath which more than made up for that! My parents had a twin room on the ground floor. The rooms upstairs are more expensive but also more traditional - some even with box beds.
The staff were very friendly and we were able to book a car and driver as we needed. In addition to exploring the classic villages and going to the Yellow Mountains we spent one day walking from the hotel and exploring the amazing village it is located in and borrowing bikes in the afternoon to head slightly further. They had a baby seat and one smaller wheeled bike that worked for the children.
The food was good. Wide variety and they cooked delicious dishes. Breakfast is Chinese but with fried egg a pieces, sweet bread, jam, pancakes, fruit and dumplings we were all happy. Dinner was not too spicy and again a wide variety. No menu though.
It was cold in November but the rooms were lovely and warm, however bring warm clothes as breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the main rooms which are open to the courtyard and the sky. Even with the beautiful long curtains and the large shutters shut it was fresh.
Much nicer than staying in a modern concrete hotel down the road and nice to support people who are looking after the old buildings. Go!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhoda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Gorgeous house, beautiful small touches and utterly personal service made this a wonderful experience for us.

The women running this place were very friendly and helpful- though it really helps to speak a little Mandarin- even coming out to pick us up from the village entrance, and running with us with our luggage to catch the morning bus back to Tunxi.

The food was excellent as well- cooked right in the kitchen and they knew just how much and what types of food would appeal (fashionably "farming family" food- i.e., local veges and meats done home-cooking style, it was delicious and served with piping hot rice and tea in a tiny dining room set just for us.)

The first day we were there, the front-desk lady even served us these local sesame treats and tea in their lovely 3rd floor 'waiting' area- where we got an up-close view of the typical tiled roofs in the architectural style of the region, and distant views of surrounding hills.

You could probably do cheaper, but as far as we were concerned the level of service and experience of actually staying in a traditional house (complete with lovely wood carvings) was the sort of world-class travel experience worth paying for.

Great base from which to see Hongcun and Xidi.

We hired a driver to take us to Hongcun, and then drop us off at Xidi the same day (easily done in an afternoon) and got the treat of being up and about in Xidi before the megaphone trotting tourist groups arrived. While Hongcun is larger and more ornate, it's hard to beat the peace and beauty of walking around a well preserved village (still bustling with locals going about their daily lives too!) at sunrise.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We got what I think is the second cheapest room, on the second floor, with one large bed for two. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelswithmylaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed three nights at this B and B. I would recommend asking for an upstairs room. The ground floor room we stayed in the first night felt damp and noises from the village could be heard very early in the morning. The next two nights we were upstairs where we had access to fresh water and the Internet plus the use of a music room for relaxation and a top floor observation area. The food was country style and very good. The beds were very comfortable. The lady managing it and her assistants were pleasant and helpful. We were lucky to be travelling with Chiense speaking friends so they were able to communicate our needs. This place is open to the outdoors so bring warm clothes for cool, rainy days. There are many interesting places to visit nearby including Yellow Mountain.

Room Tip: Best rooms are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldfarters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is unique, it is a work of art. Stunning rooms set around a traditional Chinese courtyard house with all mod cons. Breakfast, Lunch and dinner can be provided at an extra cost and are very good too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huangshan
19.5 mi away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 451 in Huangshan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Huangshan
Banyan Tree Huangshan
#2 of 451 in Huangshan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
19.8 mi away
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Hotel
#154 of 451 in Huangshan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Xidi Travel Lodge
Xidi Travel Lodge
#6 of 54 in Yi County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
30.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng
19.9 mi away
Shilin Hotel
Shilin Hotel
#121 of 451 in Huangshan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pig's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pig's Inn

Property: Pig's Inn
Address: Renrang Li, Xidi Town, Huangshan, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 236 B&Bs / Inns in Huangshan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Pig's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing