We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
76
29
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
29
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town ancient china bit hard to find chinese culture included breakfast is yellow mountain excellent location hotel is great chinese breakfast wi fi alley dynasty television furnishings tourists maps mattress
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 109 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2017

We loved this little hotel. It's basically like a western BnB. It's an old home that has been transformed into a hotel. It has just a couple of rooms. We stayed in the suite that has two rooms and the beds are traditional Chinese and were so comfortable. The only drawback was that our shower leaked but that is fixable. But we loved everything else! We really enjoy getting off the beaten path and out of the traditional lodgings accommodations to places that make us feel more a part of the local culture and traditions and this is exactly what this place does. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rkontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017

N29°42'38.9 E118°18'01.4" (WGS-84) The hotel is in the old town centre of Túnxī, recently renamed Huángshān Shì; (Yellow Mountain City) to draw tourists by the new high-speed Huangshan North railway station. This new station is a 20 minutes taxi ride from the old town or take the express bus and the city bus 8 or 12. The old town centre is now called Túnxī District, but most people still refer to it as simply Túnxī.

Hui Style Hotel a.k.a. Hui Boutique Hotel is in an alley between Old Street (Lao Jie) and Yan’an Lu and is a bit hard to find. There is an easily overlooked sign in Old Street. The alley is to the west of the Zhongma Road and Old Street junction. Use our WGS-84 GPS-coordinates. Beware of the Chinese GCJ-02 datum obfuscation algorithm that distorts all mainland Chinese street maps. Chinese street maps on non-Chinese devices have a build-in offset between 100 to 700 meters to the north-west compared to the actual position on satellite images. To have proper GPS-navigation in China, Chinese devices correct this build-in offset in Chinese street maps.

The hotel has its own landscaped courtyard with two Qing dynasty wooden buildings on both sides with guest rooms. In August 2017, we stayed in the first room on the second floor of the left building. We paid €60 per night without breakfast, which is expensive. By absence of a website or email address, we had to use an internet-booking website. The Old Street offers many opportunities for Chinese food.

Our room on the second floor was under the roof. It has a classic Chinese interior with Buddha bed, desk, two chairs, television and an antique rosewood six-poster bed. The mattress was a bit thin. Wi-Fi was good but not streaming. The vital air conditioner worked flawless in the hot and humid August month. The shower with toilet was hidden behind Chinese doors. The hotel offers simple western or Chinese breakfast for RMB20 with fried eggs, bacon and toast or Chinese breakfast for RMB10.

The Hui Style/Boutique hotel was a wonderful experience away from business hotels in an old part of town. Recommended.

Room Tip: first floor rooms
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goyourownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017

We wanted through our China trip to experience China. Not flashy hotels or glass and multi story we found just what we wanted in this hotel in the old area of Tunxi the hotel is only 6 rooms very unique in the furnishings. Very happy with our choice as it was walking distance to all you needed to see in the old town. Hard to find but well worth the experience. Wonderful staff which I think were all family members

Room Tip: all rooms are good but be aware walls a very thin
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NolaB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017

If you want to experience life in ancient home then this is the place to stay. The furnishings are "antique" and home is old. The included breakfast is very good. The location is excellent as we got to explore in the evening the ancient streets of Huangshan village style. In the morning before most shops open, we visited an old apothecary shop with it's enclosed peaceful garden to look at. Near the entrance to the alleyway to our hotel is an antique store that we almost miss. Wish we had more time to explore here. Also if you see something in these streets and thinking of purchasing, get it, you won't see it anywhere else. One last tip, there is a wonderful restaurant that the locals patronize. It is at the end near the mcDonald and gateway arch. So easy to order, just point and choose what you want. Very tasty and inexpensive. Our local guide recommended it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank carrot2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017

This place is a hidden gem filled with character. It is well locate and certainly an enjoyable place to stay. You will enjoy stepping off the laneway into the courtyard of this hidden gem. It has a wonderful sense of authenticity about it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nixgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews