We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough climb, great view, not to miss if you are in Huangshan”
Review of Xihai Great Canyon

Xihai Great Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$114.00*
and up
HuangShan Mountain Highlights Full-Day Bus Tour from HuangShan
More Info
$599.00*
and up
Mt. Huangshan and Hongcun Ancient Village 3-Day Tour
More Info
$1,488.00*
and up
5-Day Tour: Shanghai and Huangshan
Ranked #4 of 82 things to do in Huangshan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tough climb, great view, not to miss if you are in Huangshan”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Best spot to enjoy the pure beauty of Huangshan. Nameless mountains which you can view from different angles. Climbing down on stairs of 70-80 degrees. will take you 1 hour min. to get down to the bottom of the canyon (end of Circle 2). There are spots on the way sticking out from the cliffs. Thrilling and awesome view!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FredSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    24
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The least touristy section of Huangshan”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

In Chinese, there is the following saying - “五嶽歸來不看山,黃山歸來不看嶽' - that is, "if you see the five great mountains of China you don't have to bother seeing any other mountains. But if you see Huangshan, you don't have to see the other great mountains of China". I'm not so sure how much I agree with that saying, and really think travellers have to think twice about whether or not they want to come.

Having said that, Xihai Great Canyon is the area I chose to explore during my trip based on my research, which was heavily influenced by a Tripadvisor contributor named "Ellyse" - in retrospect her advice was spot on. It is the section that takes the most effort to get to, the most energy to walk (lots of stairs up and down) but it does have the best views the smallest crowds. Local tour groups generally go to the other parts of Huangshan and it gets extremely crowded and loud on those sections. You will see people scattered along the path of Xihai, but generally you can expect to not have your personal space violated every few minutes in this section!

I accessed Xihai Canyon through the Taiping Telpher (Cable Car) and walked both the 1st and 2nd ring - after which I had to turn around and follow the path back to the Western Gate. It is the best cable car to take up because it drops you off at Purple Cloud Station which puts you only 1 km away from the entrance of Xihai Canyon. Other cable cars are not only smaller but wayt further away. If you arrange for a driver and want to see Xihai Canyon, insist on going to Taiping. A large section of the canyon is closed between the end of the 2nd ring and the path towards Plunk Way so you do have to do a U-turn and double back to where you started your journey from if you choose my path. On a slightly overcast day, views are ok but nothing to write home about. It all started to look the same after a while, but at least the steepness of the stairs proved to be a good challenge (if you like that kind of thing) and the air was fresh and clean - a reprieve from the pollution and heat at the bottom of the mountain. Note paths are all paved and well maintained - people actually use the garbage bins here. Also FYI - there is a great map of Huangshan on Huangshantour.com that will help you orient yourself around the various places I mentioned above.

We chose to descend the mountain via the Yuping Cableway, which involved a 2 hour walk towards the Western steps from our hotel, which was located half a kilometer from Bright Top a popular sunrise vantage point. This walk was full of loud, large domestic tour groups and involved following a procession of tourists up and down various flights of stairs. At this point, we just wanted to get off the mountain ASAP.

This trip is not cheap - for one person you'll have to pay 230 RMB to get in the park, 80 RMB for the Taiping Telpher, and something around 60 RMB for the Yuping Telpher. Add to that a C$200 hotel stay plus overpriced food at the top of the mountain (buy your supplies at the bottom of the mountain or elsehwere!!) and if you're like me you start to wonder if your time and money in Huangshan was well spent.

My final point is that despite the grandiose descriptions of Huangshan you may hear - while the air is clean the mountains are very unique - I would recommend managing your expectations in terms of what to expect from a trip to even what I would consider the prettiest part of the entire scenic area. The weather is hit or miss (the morning after, visibility was next to zero), the scenery does get a bit monotonous, but it is nice for those interested in China and its places of significance to check Huangshan off their list.

So if you really have to go - I'd say go to this section over any other section of Huangshan Scenic Area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank jason416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Scary but amazing”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Less touristy place in the Huangshan Mountain but offer a different amazing view. The path is hard to take with the steep stairs but it is worth it to visit

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marry_Kusuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Scary for the Family”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

1st ring and 2nd ring paths are not for faint hearted. My wife gave up after the 1st ring and it was the marriage or 2nd ring!! Note the path is actually not on the mountain itself and that's what make your heart beat faster.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“the most thrilling part of climbing Huangshan”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

i trembles when look down upon the valleys, but the scenery is a wow, the breathtaking beauty will cast a spell on every beholder...marvelous place , u can shoot one of the most gorgeous photoes here

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank sweetsophiaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xihai Great Canyon also viewed

 

Been to Xihai Great Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing