We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Pine Ridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Ridge Lodge
Ranked #65 of 486 Hotels in Huangshan
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The rooms are very basic. The toilet was smelly. In march it is a bit cold, there is aircondition but absolutely no isolation in the walls.
Everyone there is friendly and wanted to help, but they speak absolutely no english! Only the first day we arrived we cold contact the owner by phone, he speaks very good english. After that we very pretty much on our own.
Its easy to go to the mountain by bus from the hotel, their shuttle bus will take you to the real bus.
If the only purpose by going there is the mountain, its acceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sedsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 50 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked a room because of the review. If you are non Chinese speaking, it helps staying here. The staff is very helpful - they arranged for the bus to Hangzhou and helped to carry my luggage to the main road.
Over priced cos the room is basic. I use the room for sleeping so I don't need the quiet surroundings. There are good rooms in Tangkou.
You have to walk or look for a taxi to reach the hotel from the bus station.

Room Tip: If the other reviews are correct, avoid the rooms away from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AXA-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for a night, arriving around 10pm after 6 hours of bus from Hangzhou. Front desk Siao Wu, was very helpful and informative. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Bathroom is small. The kitchen staff is also the cook and server. She cooks good food for us, the hungry travellers, even the kids enjoyed. Breakfast was also good thou not the western type. It was porridge with egg, mantou and soya milk. Free transportation to the scenic site. Luggage can be left with them for the hike up Huangshan. They even arranged for the bus to pick us at the hotel going for our ride back to Hangzhou (it was only 3.5 hrs vs the 6 hours on our arrival- maybe due to rain). Overall this place was great, quiet and have wonderful views.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harleyyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the hotel. Wayne, the owner of the hotel provided us quite a lot of information about Huangshan. The staffs are very friendly, caring and they help us whenever they can. I really like them cos they always smile when they talk to us.They even provided us the map of the mountain which we dint need to buy one! One of the staffs (Ms Jiang, if I'm not mistaken) woke up early to prepare breakfast for us as we need to catch 7am bus back to Shanghai.
The room is a bit chilly during winter, however the blankets that they provided are warm enough.Overall, we're very happy with the hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe_cpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

First off, not a five star hotel nor a tiny historic bed and breakfast, but a well located hotel for heading up Huangshan.

Having said that the people here totally made our stay- from the front desk ladies (who spoke some English- though knowing mandarin helps immensely) who gave us detailed advice about hiking and where to stay and times for the cable cars as well as how to make our way back to get the luggage we didn't want to haul up the mountain, to the breakfast lady who chatted amiably and dished up congee and side-dishes in chinese even to those who don't understand (as my husband said, she was like your best friend's grandma who loves feeding you) to the great driver who took us from the airport in Tunxi and also ended up as our part-guide to Hongcun/Xidi (he even used his own cell phone to call ahead our hotel in Xidi so they knew to come out and get us.)

Everyone was all about personal service- they were attentive, answered questions with gusto (even stupid tourist ones that they must be asked dozens of time every single day) and tried to give all sorts of great advice as well as accommodate our particular foreign idiosyncrasies.

Extra kudos to Wayne (the owner) who answered lots of questions via email prior to our visit even about questions not directly related to the hotel (invaluable in planning!) and to the lady in the restaurant who cooked and served us great dinners twice who even went into the kitchen to fetch examples of the vegetables on the menu so we could pick from them (literally came out with three sprigs of veg so we could see what we were ordering!)

Having said that if you visit in winter (like we did) prepare to be a bit chilled outside your room and not have internet access in your room (though downstairs the connection worked great)- but for a relatively remote location, this is a good hotel to stay at and we could literally walk to the entrance of the Huangshan scenic area. (Although you need to take the hotel's 4 minute shuttle to the bus-terminal that takes tourists to the cable car and hiking start sites.)

You can arrange to leave your luggage here to be picked up when you descend (if you stay overnight up on the mountain).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelswithmylaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived late at night and was greeted with very helpful personnel. The site is on a vast land with mature trees and very quiet. not like downtown. Some like it others don't. I loved it, the quietness of the site is appeasing after a long day of hiking.

Our room was next in the courtyard and the site is very well located. Beds are like most places in China : hard. Room was clean, no bath, shower was directly , No internet in room, you have to climb up to the main building to get wifi. There's a little restaurant owned by a young couple. Food was very good specially the fried rice and the dumplings. The hotel is NEXT to the main gate of Huangsang park at walking distance. Only problem is that to get inside Huangshanpark, you need to take a bus which is located downtown. So little a detour will be needed, but the good thing is that the bus will drop you off at the gate entrance and you can walk to the hotel within 5 minutes.

Hotel will gladly offer you information and map of the area and arrange transportation. Owner Wayn speaks very well english and will help you out with anything you need.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eljay_5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed one night in October. The staff was very helpful giving us a map of the mountain and suggesting a hiking route. Breakfast was good.
The room was below expectations. It had a damp musty smell and the carpet was stained and looked worn. There is a teapot but no teabags. There is no bottled water in the room and no phone. The shower is just a handheld shower head in the corner of the bathroom. There are no chairs in the lobby for guests. When asked where to sit in the lobby to use the WiFi it was suggested that we could sit on the stairs. The driveway is busy with construction. After walking into town for dinner we looked at another hotel room that was much better condition for less money. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bennie_Factor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
1.9 mi away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 486 in Huangshan
273 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Hotel
#185 of 486 in Huangshan
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#160 of 486 in Huangshan
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng
29.3 mi away
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
#1 of 486 in Huangshan
64 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shilin Hotel
Shilin Hotel
#70 of 486 in Huangshan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Ridge Lodge

Address: South Gate of HuangShan Scenic Area, Huangshan 245800, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Huangshan
Price Range: $30 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Ridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Pine Ridge Lodge and find yourself surrounded by acres of wooded hillside, at the most secluded area adjacent to the South Entrance of HuangShan Scenic Area. Contemporary design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and quality—from international standard house keeping, interior design with the grace and ease of home, and gracious services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Ridge Hotel Huangshan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing