We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value, great location, and excellent service make this my top choice in Huangshan!”
Review of Pine Ridge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Ridge Lodge
Ranked #65 of 486 Hotels in Huangshan
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We highly recommend this low-frills Lodge for your stay as a "base camp" when hiking the peaks of Mt Huangshan. The owner lived in California and speaks fluent English do language is not an issue. This is worth its weight in Gold in China, believe me! Plus it sits across the road from the South Gate park entrance, although you will likely take the hotel shuttle to the bus station in the village to catch the blue bus up the mountain. Otherwise we heard its a 2-hour hike to the first lift up.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and you can't beat the price. The bathrooms are basic and clean- Handheld shower but no tub. Amenities are provided. Water was hot (each room has own small water heater). Air conditioning and heater in each room. Fresh thick towels, slippers, hair dryer etc. plus free wifi and tv.

The owner and staff are really helpful in planning your hikes each day. Plus they sell everything you need (cheaply- no gouging of prices) to go up the mountain (rain ponchos, bottled water, snacks, etc) so there is no need to bring it all with you.

The kitchen is open 24 hours/day and the dinners and lunches were excellent. A Chinese breakfast was included in the room rate but we opted for Western instead (ham, scrambled eggs and toast). It was about $3 so not a bad deal!

They have tables outside under the pine trees for dinner and put out mosquito coils to manage the bugs. We sat with a nice bottle of Australian wine ($20) and talked with other guests about their hikes.

Try to get a room away from the front desk as guests arrive at all hours and they can get loud. They accept pets but no pets are allowed in the park. We may go back with our dog next time just to get her out of the city into some nature, but we'd need to find some other hiking trails. Wayne said we could take her out behind the lodge as an option.

There is only one shortfall- no lobby sitting area to just hang out. We only hiked a 1/2 day due to heavy rains and had a late night flight back to Shanghai so we just went to the airport 4 hours early. Contact the hotel before you go to arrange a hotel pick up. We had 4 adults so they sent a van to pick us up and it was worth it. ($35 one way for all 4--over an hour's drive from the airport to the lodge).

In summary, I would highly recommend the Pine Ridge Lodge-great value, service and location!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trinamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

We booked a standard Queen room, and it was without doubt the worst accomodation We have stayed in, anywhere in the world. We had to really lower our expectations and focus on things like location, friendly and helpful staff, and the beautiful food we had at the little restaurant near our room. The room was constantly damp The floor was like a skating rink and the toilet come shower is so small and damp that once you have a shower, you cant use the room again, due to the flooded floor. Also, the stench from the drainage borders on unlivable. If you can live with these matters, the location is right at the base of MtHuangshan, and it is only 10 minutes by bus, to the entrance.

Room Tip: Lower your expectations on some of the rooms. Standard rooms are more like camping than hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zzzman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Based on those 3 reasons, we give the lodge 4 stars.
It is your very basic accommodation at the base of the yellow mountain, but and it is a big BUT, Wayne and his crew of amazons are going out of their way to provide you with the best available
service.Wayne arranged for a car to pick us at the airport in Tunxi (1.5 hrs) and fed us (very inexpensively) and we had a pick up on the day we were leaving to take us to the bus stop on our way to Hangzhou.Everybody who is working there has always a smile, even if they don't
speak ENGLISH.Some, however, speak quite well.

Room Tip: Try to stay at the lodge and not in the lower buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

A friend and I traveled to Huangshan and stayed at Pine Ridge Lodge after spending 4 weeks in Beijing and Shanghai. We had come to expect little of Chinese budget hotels but were pleasantly surprised by Pine Ridge Lodge and booked it mainly on the reviews. The reason I am giving it 5 stars is not because of the accomodations itself but because of the service at the hotel. Huangshan has many sites including the mountain itself, the hot springs, emerald valley, and small villages nearby. It would be hard to arrange travel to any of these areas if you do not speak Mandarin but the people at the front desk were amazing in helping us make everything possible. It was inexpensive to arrange private shuttles to Hongcun Village and Emerald Valley, and they had complimentary shuttles to the mountain and the hot springs. They just made it so easy to get to everything. They also helped us arrange bus tickets to Nanjing for the day we were leaving and had someone personally drop us off in front of the bus stop, after somehow coordinating for the bus to pick us up at the hotel.

The ladies who serve breakfast and lunch/dinner are also so sweet. They will call the owner for you if they don't understand your order so you can talk to him in English and the food is really good. There is a menu in English that is a little more westernized, but you can also just ask for anything else that you might be craving and they might be able to make it for you. For ex, we asked for tofu with vegetables and they brought us a dish from the chinese menu that was delicious, and a pork dish of some sort and we got a pork dish with some bamboo plant that was in season. All in all we had a great time.

Next plus was reliable wifi that you could access from your room as long as you are not in the other building (garden rooms?). The price of this hotel is unbeatable. Would def recommend it!

The rooms themselves are small but clean and comfortable. The biggest quirk is that you essentially shower next to the toilet as there is no tub or closed shower area, more just a curtain you draw in the middle of the bathroom. We were willing to forgive this for all the pluses above.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaRiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and myself stayed in the lodge Nov 1,4,11 2011.This lodge was our base to visit Huangshan mountains and Hongcun.We stayed in the main building.There was a construction across the road and even with open window no noise in our room.
When we arrived by bus from Hangzhou we were picked up at the bus terminal.The receptionist in the lodge spoke very well English and she helped us to plan the trips.No problem to store the luggage in the lodge.
The lodge is about 10 min walk from Tangkou where all the restaurants are located.We got free ride from the hotel to bus terminal or they arranged for us to be picked up by bus when we went to Jiuhuashan.
Pine Ridge Lodge is very nice clean place to stay and we would stay there again if we come to Huangshan.

Room Tip: main building upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniortraveller7266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at the Pine Ridge Lodge for only one night and after staying there, I can safely say that you cannot go wrong if you choose the Pine Ridge Lodge as your base for exploring Huangshan.
As I have never been to Huangshan before, and given our very tight timeframe, I was initially anxious about planning an intense one day trip there. The owner of the lodge, Wayne, who is fluent in English, was invaluable and helped me organise everything through email before I even left for China. He helped arrange a driver to pick us up from the airport (despite our arrival being at a very inconvenient time) and booked the accommodation for us, all at a very reasonable price.
On the day, our plane was delayed by more than half an hour, but we were not charged any extra fees by the driver, who was extremely polite and courteous. The staff at the hotel helped us process our check-in at close to midnight when we arrived, and despite the lateness, took the time to explain to us a suitable one day route for climbing Huangshan (and gave us a map).
We were shown to our room by a very polite lady who even turned on the heaters in our room before our arrival. We were in a garden room (for 3 people) which was quite basic, but clean and comfortable.
Free breakfast was included with our room rate. You can request a western breakfast if congee, pickles and egg is not your cup of tea in the morning. The hotel organised a driver to drop us and another couple to the bus station (only 2 mins away) from where you can catch transport to take you up Huangshan. It was all very seamless and convenient.
On the way down from Huangshan, the staff had already told us to tell the bus driver to stop at the South Gate where Pine Ridge Lodge is, so we were only just across the road from the hotel. The lodge appears to be the first stop outside the Huangshan scenic area so very convenient.
The lady at the hotel organised for the kitchen to prepare for us a delicious meal which I still remember fondly today - delicious crisp and sweet fresh bamboo shoots picked fresh from the mountain. Again all for an incredibly reasonable price.
As we had descended Huangshan quicker than expected, we were still early. The staff advised us that taking a public bus to the train station (which was our next stop) would be cheaper than using their private driver. We were incredibly impressed that the staff weren't trying to tout or push their services and make more money out of us, unlike everywhere else in China. Instead, they really had our best interests at heart. Once we finished eating the lady had already organised for the public bus to wait for us right outside the lodge. Again, incredibly thoughtful and seamless!
Overall, from start to finish, the service and friendliness of the staff, and their generosity made us feel like we were part of one big family. We went to many other parts of China, and never did we feel such warmth and enthusiasm from the staff. Staying at the Pine Ridge Lodge has really made our trip to Huangshan all the more enjoyable and memorable.

Room Tip: The garden room we stayed in had a very basic shower, no separate shower, just a showerhead in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bloodplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My parents, boyfriend, and I stayed at this hotel for only two nights, but it felt like much longer because it made such a positive impression on us. The best part of our stay was definitely the staff. The owner is fabulous. He helped us plan our trips by giving great recommendations and helping us sort out the logistics. He tolerated my numerous emails as I tried to sort out our plans ahead of the trip and really welcomed us when we got there. My parents had some long, friendly talks with him. We organized a private driver through the hotel and the driver was cheerful and punctual. We felt like the cook/servers at the hotel restaurant were family by the end of the trip, and we ate there for all of our meals because we'd heard about restaurants in town trying to cheat tourists. Plus, the food at the hotel was delicious, fresh, and extremely reasonably priced so why not? It helps if you can speak some Chinese when ordering, because we were able to tell them exactly what dishes we wanted, which weren't on the menu, and they cooked it up for us quickly. Even if you don't know the Chinese, they may just call the owner and have him translate for you. Make sure to tell them if you don't like fatty meat or meat with bones or you may end up with it. The included breakfast isn't run out of that restaurant and is in a different part of the hotel. It's very simple, not a buffet, but more than enough rolls (Chinese style) and congee (rice porridge) with some add-ins, and also a few hard boiled eggs.

We stayed in the cheapest rooms which are separated from the hotel's main building. Overall, the rooms were very nice, and we were extremely satisfied. But there were some small problems. Firstly, the wireless signal doesn't reach these rooms, and you had to go to the lobby or sit on the front steps of the main building which was a little awkward. The bathroom is small and doesn't have a separated shower as most Western-style bathrooms do. My parents were pretty shocked. Instead there is a drain in the floor and most things in the bathroom get wet. There was also a pretty awful smell that occasionally came from the bathroom drain, sort of an old sewage smell. You could control it by covering it with various objects, and it didn't bother us too much. I'm almost positive that the rooms in the main building wouldn't have any of these cons, which were completely okay given the great price, the great service, and the great location. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah10155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
1.9 mi away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 486 in Huangshan
273 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Hotel
#185 of 486 in Huangshan
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#160 of 486 in Huangshan
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng
29.3 mi away
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
#1 of 486 in Huangshan
64 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shilin Hotel
Shilin Hotel
#70 of 486 in Huangshan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Ridge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Ridge Lodge

Address: South Gate of HuangShan Scenic Area, Huangshan 245800, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Huangshan
Price Range: $30 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Ridge Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive at Pine Ridge Lodge and find yourself surrounded by acres of wooded hillside, at the most secluded area adjacent to the South Entrance of HuangShan Scenic Area. Contemporary design where you are offered privacy, personalized service and quality—from international standard house keeping, interior design with the grace and ease of home, and gracious services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Ridge Hotel Huangshan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing