We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ancient Town Youth Hostel
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hostel is great. They've made a real effort with the decor, there are loads of little corners where you can go and hide away with a book or some friends and some beer. The four floors are organised so that there are several balconies where you can sit in the evening and watch the bustling street below.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They will organise your transport to the mountain, which is really useful when trying to get there early to avoid the crowds. They speak English well, which makes life a lot easier. I would really recommend the hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattjones_lfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 99 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Unable to find English speaking help getting transport, went to the Ancient Town Youth Hostel and met Murphy!
She was so great securing a taxi to Huangshan Airport for us.
Her cheerful and perfect English was a breath of fresh air when we needed friendly help.
So if you are in the area say hi to Murphy and let her know she was given an shout out by grateful travelers she did a favor for when they needed a helping hand.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank traytable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

another case of a hostel resting on the laurels of its lonely planet recommendation (see my review of chongqing's yangzte river hostel). i checked in, then checked out.

my room had a HUGE spot of black mold in the corner -- probably 12" across in size!! there are significant water damage on that wall. also, the top sheet on my bunk had menstrual blood stains on it.

when i requested to check out and get my money back (did not sleep in the bed, but did use the shower, which was a pathetic mess and dirty!!), the staff griped, but finally, after lots of back and forth, they conceded.

this place is over-rated. the common areas are quaint though and good backpacker vibe, but that's it. and do try the dumpling soup at the restaurant next door -- best in town IMHO.

if you insist on staying here because lonely planet recommended it, see the rooms FIRST.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in september 2013. Helpfull english speaking staff. Perfect location and friendly atmosphere. I had the one day tour to Xidi and Hongcun and that was great (210 rmb). They can as well organize shuttle bus to the mountain (22 rmb). I have to admit that the place could be cleaner, but if I had to come back to Huangshan City, I would come back to this hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnson900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Lovely old street good for evening stralls after busy days travelling. The hostel has a great location and a lot of usefull information about the surrondings. Their tours are done with private travel agents so you might get in a middle of a bus with 50 chinese tourist going for the mountain with no english speaking guide. So better just ask help with transportation. Rooms are quite nice and clean and theres a good vibe in the hotel. Staff is nice altough some members are too nervous (once they woke us up at 5 am when we had booked a tour with meeting time 6h30... Try to avoid those).

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Joao A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location of the hotel near the Old Street is excellent. We stored our suitcase in the hotel before heading up the mountain. Mr Gu from the hotel was very helpful by providing a copy of his hand-drawn map of the mountain and told us how we should spend our two and half days up there. Walking sticks were also lent to us for free. He also recommended the excellent wonton restaurant two doors down where locals eat. When we returned for our one-night stay, we planned to visit Hong Village and Nan Ping for the ancient Hui-style houses. Parts of "Crouching Tiger and Hidden Dragon" was shot in Nan Ping. Again Mr Gu made suggestions as to which one we should visit and which ones can be skipped.

My room has a damp, musty smell. To top off that, the stinky smell from the stinky tofu (a local delicacy) stand a few doors down wafted in through the bathroom window which is permanently left open. Also this is a no-nothing (one notch below no-frill) hotel as soap is not even provided. Shampoo and body wash packets can be purchased at the front desk for 50 cents. I wonder why they aren't provided for free given I was spending 130 yuan a night.

Would I come back? No. But others can certainly use Mr Gu's knowledge. Mind that he works the night shift between 10pm and 8:30 in the morning and he sure loves company.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed three friends in this hostel for two nights. The location of the hostal is pretty good, in a nice part of the city and 5min by cab from the bus station. The strenghts of this place are nice dorms and good international ambiance. The weak points are poor front desk asistance (rude & incompetent) and TERRIBLE bathrooms, there are two bathrooms (chinese) for the entire hostel and it seems nobody takes care of them. The bar/restaurant schedule is also ridiculous giving lunch till 12pm and dinner till 7.30pm. If you want to stay one night, the place is ok but for a longer period you may not be able to get along with this inconvenients.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipamaikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
31.1 mi away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 486 in Huangshan
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Street Youth Hostel
Old Street Youth Hostel
#1 of 35 in Huangshan
106 reviews
31.1 mi away
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Hotel
#185 of 486 in Huangshan
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#160 of 486 in Huangshan
260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Huangshan Yucheng
1.8 mi away
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
Huangshan Cheng Jin Hotel
#2 of 486 in Huangshan
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ancient Town Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ancient Town Youth Hostel

Address: No.11 Third Road, Tunxi District, Huangshan 245000, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Huangshan
Price Range: $12 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ancient Town Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Ancient Town Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing