We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay... but better choice next door”
Review of Paiyunlou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paiyunlou Hotel
Ranked #188 of 493 Hotels in Huangshan
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotels at the top of Mt. Huangshan definitely have a good thing going in that they can charge enormous amounts of money for very basic service...the Paiyunlou is no exception. The upside was that the sheets were clean (beds were rock hard), there were extra blankets and even winter coats to borrow. The downside was that the carpet was dirty and stained with cigarette burn holes and bad plumbing odours filled the room. The decor in the lobby is definitely 'gaudy-kitsch'- it seems they haven't spent very much for upkeep.... especially when you walk just five minutes further down the road and see the more classy Xihai Hotel with rooms for the same price! We ended up going there for both breakfast and dinner- a much more pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beebalm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 152 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our guide advised us we were lucky to have rooms with a view, and said that not all rooms were as good as the ones we had. However, the ones we had were excellent. They were plenty spacious, clean and comfortable, with a view of the amazing peaks of Huangshan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed three nights at Paiyunlou Hotel - the first two nights were in a five bed dormitory, and the last night in a regular hotel room with three beds, but they added a fourth bed. Mr Ming, who said he was always there, was very helpful.
The dorm room is very good value at 160RMB per person and worked well since we spent most of our time outdoors. However it is very noisy as it is located at the front of the hotel, with a window that faces out onto a courtyard next to a shop. The attached bathroom and shower is basic, as is to be expected, but everything works. The room was cleaned every day.
The regular room was quiet and had a lovely view. It cost 1,240RMB for a night - a bit steep, but when you see the porters carrying loads of bed linen and everything else from the cable car to the hotel you realise why hotels at Huangshan are expensive.
Food at Paiyunlou was adequate bordering on good. Free wi-fi in the lobby was a wonderful surprise for my family of internet addicts.

Room Tip: Make sure you take the correct cable car to get to Paiyunlou.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokfulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed one night in dorms after climbing up the 1st day and descending the next. We booked in advance on Ctrip and paid around 115RMB per person. It looked like 250 each if you turn up on the day. They are single sex dorms. Beds are hard but not as bad as other reviews suggest as long as you know what to expect. No lockers but reception is 24 hours and they can store luggage. We also watched sunset and sunrise with a great view just 15-20 minutes walk from the hotel.

Hot water facilities in the room and each room has own bathroom with shower.

Some of the signs at the top are not in English so would be worth buying a map before heading up or at least making sure you have the name and address in Chinese so you can check with guides on the mountain. We carried our backpacks (around 10kgs each) up and down and regretted the extra weight so it would probably be worth investigating luggage storage in Tangkou.

We got a train into Huangshan City (aka Tunxi) and there are regular transfer shuttles from 05:30 to Tangkou (20rmb pp) where you can stock up on water etc cheaply. The easy to notice bus station has continuous transfers to the bottom of either cable car (19 rmb pp).

East steps are shorter but less spectacular walk up but better option of walking up east steps and then down western steps.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Given the previous negative reviews and the limited range of options on the summit, we weren't expecting much from the Paiyunlou but we were still very disappointed. We are used to basic accommodation and we didn't expect AC, toiletries, premium view, etc at the mountain. However, the hotel room was just awful: strong smell of mold, very dirty and stained carpet with dead bugs, dark spots on the walls and moldy bathroom which got completely flooded after the shower. The only positive thing was the strong shower pressure.
At the restaurant, the service was friendly and attentive, but the food wasn't good at all.
Due to a few travel delays, we ended up arriving quite late as we missed the cable car and had to hike up. We tried calling the reception to confirm everything was ok with our room reservation. First they told us they couldn't find any reservation under my name, then they kept pretending not to understand us (although we had been speaking in English just fine until then) and hanging up.
As we were leaving to check out, we caught a glimpse of the other rooms being cleaned and a few seemed much nicer than ours, one even had a wooden floor instead of our disgusting carpet. From the reviews below, I guess some people got a better room than ours, but I certainly wouldn't recommend booking the cheapest standard double room (Agoda).
We thought it was reasonable that the hotel would be expensive (saw the porters, etc) but we expected to have at least a clean and reasonably comfortable room. There are better value options even on the top of the mountain, we decided to stay an extra day and had a much better experience at the Beihai hotel for the same
exact price (we just walked in and asked for the cheapest room, which was WAY better).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrottersaopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked the hotel through C-trip. The room was a standard room, probably at the bottom of their price structure. I would characterize both our rooms as being spartan and sparsely appointed. The furniture was ancient. Most disappointing, the rooms were unheated. The entire feel was rustic at best.

As we were checking out, we happened upon several rooms that were much better appointed, with heating/AC. Were we to have come again, we would absolutely inquire about upgrading to these rooms, which were much more comfortable. For the cost of these rooms, we were not really satisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilawing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are only a few hotels atop Huangshan so they have a "captive" audience with respect to accommodation. This hotel was clean and comfortable. Room was small with no windows with a view. Windows looked into other hotel rooms so have to keep the curtains shut for privacy.

With the rooms so close together (as in my window was 15cm away from the next rooms window) it is very noisy so don't expect a good night sleep if you are a light sleeper.

The bathroom was average with fair water pressure. There are NO bathroom amenities unless you pay extra for them. It would be good if this was advertised as many tourists prefer to carry the bare minimum up the mountain and staying in a hotel do think that a toothbrush would be provided!! Not here unless you pay for the amenities pack - their excuse is that they are a "green" hotel and reducing waste but this is not evident across the hotel.

Food was disgusting and VERY expensive. Fortunately I was advised to go to another hotel for dinner but I did endure a dreadful Chinese breakfast. The very small selection of food was cold , greasy and unappetizing. I have stayed in many Chinese hotels and am aware of what is usually served as a Chinese breakfast but this was by far the worst I have encountered.I had to ask for a cup of tea which was given begrudgingly by the waitress.

Would not be my first choice to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
Shilin Hotel
#66 of 493 in Huangshan
134 reviews
Beihai Hotel
#186 of 493 in Huangshan
385 reviews
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 493 in Huangshan
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
#160 of 493 in Huangshan
260 reviews
Huangshan Resort
Huangshan Resort & Spa
Huangshan Resort & Spa
#55 of 493 in Huangshan
102 reviews
Huangshan Jindu Hotel
#47 of 493 in Huangshan
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paiyunlou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paiyunlou Hotel

Address: Xihai Tourism Resort, Huangshan District, Huangshan 242709, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 493 Hotels in Huangshan
Price Range: $44 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Paiyunlou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing