We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off foreigners! Argh!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huangshan Baiyun Hotel
Ranked #160 of 486 Hotels in Huangshan
Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was one of my worst stays in China, given the amount of money paid, could have stayed in a 5-star hotel in any tier-1 city.

Grouse no. 1: I am not local, but my better half is. And we were charged an extra 200RMB just because I am not holding a Chinese passport. (We nearly blew our top when they asked my husband to produce his identity card, as they didn't accept the China passport)

Grouse no. 2: we stayed in a standard room. The carpets looked really worn, there were hair everywhere on the carpet... I had to make sure kids wore their slippers everywhere in the room.

To be fair, their hot water was good and at a good pressure and they provided extra towels for the kids without prompting when we asked for 2 more pairs of slippers.

Breakfast was charged at 40RMB per set (no children rates).

Huangshan is a beautiful place but I would rather stay at the bottom of the mountain and take the cable car early in the morning to do all my hiking and have a good rest in the better priced hotels/hostels at the mountain side.

One last thing, location-wise, this would be good if you are hiking from baiheling and want to climb Guangmingding and on to Yingkesong, this hotel would be good. If from the other direction, ie Yingkesong to Beihai direction, stay at Beihai instead.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EJEZMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 260 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

Though the rate looks high. It is not. definitely not. Imagine , after few hours of hiling , climbing , sweating .........one need a good , comfort , relaxed place. This is the one.

High on top , with all facilities of 5 star hotel. good food . very comfort rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinerlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Negative
-hard to find hotel
-staff barely speak English and not very helpful
-not welcoming ambiance
-I stayed in their dormitory building and everything was just awful there.
-very bad smelling toilet
-bed sheets look like they've never been changed for days
-aircon not centralized making it very uncomfortable during winter

Postive
+the only positive thing I could say about this hotel is that its close to the Brightness Top and helpful restaurant manager

Room Tip: if you could choose other hotels, please do. Do even consider this. Learn from my mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scarlet7110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Been to Huangshan the 2nd time. First time in Shilin Hotel (Baihai Area) - Baiyun hotel was much better. Real heater, always (very) hot water and bathroom with seperate shower cabin (no need of flooding the bathroom after shower). As we were there during chinese new years holidays (peak time) it was a bit expensive with RMB 900/night... Hotelrestaurant is ok - prices are in line with other Restaurants on the mountain (meaning expensive). Location is good. Great Canyon is easy to reach and the "bright summit" is just a warming-up 10 min up the stairs. Dissadvantage is the distance to cablecar... Need about 1 hour to get there (with your luggage) from either of them. Would go there again and would reccommend to anybody how needs a bit more comfort then just basics.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinanenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Because of the low season, Baiyun was the only hotel on the mountain top that was still open, so the choice was predetermined. We intended to stay in dorm beds (100Y) in rooms for six, but changed our mind and got a private room (Y460). Dorm rooms were pretty nice: well-heated, with cozy wooden beds and fluffy bedding; tea kettles were available and bathrooms were clean. But boys and girls have to live separately, so I'm happy we upgraded to a private room. After a strenuous hike up the eastern slope, privacy and rest felt well-deserved.

The room's quality was that of a Y200-300 room in an average provincial hotel in China, but the high-season price is Y1080, so the low-season discount price felt fair by comparison. Everything in the room and bathroom was new; there was a kettle and a water purifier in the bathroom (which is important if you consider that a 1.5 liter bottle of water costs Y25 in the hotel shop). The heater was powerful, and the blankets were thick. The hotel is very close to Guangmingding (Bright Top Peak), so it's perfect for getting up to catch the sunrise; besides, the lobby has a display with weather forecast and times of sunrise and sunset.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xamhayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

The room is small and very little storage space. There is no facial tissue or bottled water provided. The room and hotel looks clean, but there is a underlying sewage smell.
The restaurant is okay, but it is catered to tour group, so there is very little seating for small groups. We ended up ordering food to our room. To our surprise, there is not extra charge at all.

What is confusing is that it is called Huangshan Tianhai Hotel by some other sites. I believe that was the old name.

This is considered one of the better hotels on the mountain. It is about 2.5 KM to the fairy bridge and 3.0 KM to the Lotus Peak.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankcurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I went to Huangshan with a tour group from Shanghai. Given how items are brought up the mountain, I wasn't expecting a luxurious hotel. This hotel surprised me. It is very clean. The room we got doesn't have a view. The room was cramped , similar to an internal cabinet on a cruise ship (about 140 sq ft). The food here is ok. Since we went in October, we didn't bring a coat. In our room there were two very clean down coats. The coats came in handy when we went to see the sunrise the following morning. I don't know the price we paid, since this was included in the tour package. But considering what we paid for the tour, this was well worth the price. FYI, our tour package cost about 1,100 yuan.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asiangeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huangshan hotels
0.0 mi away
Xihai Hotel
Xihai Hotel
#3 of 486 in Huangshan
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paiyunlou Hotel
Paiyunlou Hotel
#188 of 486 in Huangshan
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beihai Hotel
Beihai Hotel
#185 of 486 in Huangshan
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Shilin Hotel
Shilin Hotel
#77 of 486 in Huangshan
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huangshan International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Huangshan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huangshan Baiyun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huangshan Baiyun Hotel

Address: Tianhai Tourism Resort, Huangshan District, Huangshan 245800, China
Location: China > Anhui > Huangshan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 486 Hotels in Huangshan
Price Range: $34 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Huangshan Baiyun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing