We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Chilean gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colchagua Museum

Colchagua Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$292.00*
and up
Colchagua Valley Winery Day Trip from Santiago
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Chilean gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We could not believe such an incredible collection ,so well organized would be found in this small town . Expect to be mesmerized for at least 3 hours

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jomit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    173
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Do not Miss if in Santa Cruz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

From the outside this place looks to disappoint, but don't be fooled this place is larger and has more exhibits then you would ever guess from the outside.
Plan to spend hours, it cover everything from dinosaurs to all indigenous Indian tribes up to agricultural revolution and includes actual declaration of Independence for Chile.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John_A_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best little secret in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was an amazing museum with so many historical items. We just could not believe all of the artifacts and other items this collector has. We were so intrigued by the fact that the collector is a major well known arms dealer. He certainly understands the importance of history and you cannot go wrong with this one. Our kids were 2 and 4 and they did great.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Klc628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been to this museum many times over the last 8 years. It never ceases to impress me. So much to see. The new exhibit about the 33 miners trapped underground two years ago had me filling up with tears as I remembered watching them rescued live on tv.

This museum is a top visit for anyone coming to Colchagua.

My well travelled dad has been to museums all over the world, and he says this is one of his favourites.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was amazed to find such an excellent museum in this small town. The exhibits are in perfect condition and arranged in order from when life began to the modern day. It covers pre historic, pre Colombian and Colonial eras right up through to Chilean Independence. One can easily spend 2-3 hours immersed in the past.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vanessa23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colchagua Museum also viewed

Palmilla, Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz, O'Higgins Region
 
Santa Cruz, O'Higgins Region
Santa Cruz, O'Higgins Region
 

Been to Colchagua Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing