We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, super basis to explore the vineyards and wineries of Colchagua valley”
Review of Hotel TerraVina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel TerraVina
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Very nice hotel, super basis to explore the vineyards and wineries of Colchagua valley!
Anne and Eduardo have built a beautiful, open, spacious, light, classy, easy-going, comfortable and convenient hotel in the middle of a vineyard. The hotel has been built only a few years ago, thus the hotel, the garden, the pool, the rooms, everything is new and fresh. Breakfast with freshly brewed coffee was very good. An Italian and Peru restaurant are located nearby; we tried the Italian restaurant: elegant and delicious menu. Terravina's overall atmosphere and the guests were superb. Santa Cruz is a very cozy little city with one of the best museums of the country! We spent two perfect days here and we hope that we can come back eventually.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superriki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 469 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

My wife and I just returned to Denver after spending a 17-day honeymoon in Chile. We stayed in a number of great places on the trip, but none matched what we found at Hotel Terra Vina. Anne and her husband were so warm and helpful, the room was perfect, and you can't beat the location. The hotel is walking distance to a winery and two must-try restaurants, and they can help you coordinate day-long bike rides and tasting trips. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pdsablich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We were on a driving tour of the wine country and booked a night at TerraVina after having read the reviews on Trip Advisor - we were not disappointed. The hotel is just over a year old and a two story, "motel style" hotel that is surrounded by vieyards. The owner gave us a room on the second floor because it has the best views. Hence we enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the vieyard, sipping some fine local wine while watching the sunset hit the Andes in the distance.
If you are driving, print out the various levels of detail of the map because finding it the first place is a bit of a challenge. The location is about a mile north from the "Town Square" for Santa Cruz. After check in we drove in to the Town Square, walked around and were surprised by the amout of damage from the 2010 earthquake. We asked the hotel if they had been impacted by the earthquake and were told no, other than they took in the guests that had been booked for the Santa Cruz hotel which did have damage.
Some guests may be surprised to find that there is no air conditioning in the room but the rooms have ceiling fans and are quite comfortable, even in the Chilen summer (January). The room rate includes breakfast with a complete breakfast bar.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebigmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We found TerraVina one of the nicest hotels we visited in Chile. The room was clean and large. Very personal service, with goods tips for shopping and sight seeing (vineyards). Good breakfast as well! Another definite plus is that you can walk through the vines to Bello Vino, the best restaurant in town. The hotel owners provide you with a flashlight to find your way back under the star filled sky.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

A beautiful off the beaten path B&B-type facility with an in-ground pool surrounded by acres of vineyards. The only negative is its proximity to Santa Cruz, a native town with no attractions for tourists. However, Hotel Terravina is located outside of town and seems quite safe and bucolic. The rooms are spacious, new, well-appointed although not overly congested with gadgetry and unnecessary furniture.
Anne Sorensen, a co-owner is very knowledgeable, completely fluent in several languages including English. She is an invaluable resource. Finally, the hotel is surrounded by the Laura Hartwig vineyard; a tasty boutique winery recovering from recent earthquake damage. If you want to get off the beaten path and see a low volume winery in operation, check it out.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pncboy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

The hotel is just wonderful and the staff friendly and helpful.

Everything is so well done, from the metal Argentine lamps on the walls to the locally made wooden furniture to the Danish quilts on the beds.

And the surrounding countryside has 47 vineyards and is perfect for a wine weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewDownieBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Hotel TerraVina is a beautiful new posada just outside Santa Cruz, Chile and in the heart of the Colchagua wine country. My husband and I stayed for two nights and had a wonderful time. The owners are kind and willing to help set up tours or answer any questions. The rooms are beautiful with great little balconies overlooking the vineyard. The pool lovely. We have traveled throughout the Mendoza, Argentina area but at the last minute decided to try Chile's wine country instead this year. We enjoyed it very much and will surely be back, thanks in large part to Hotel TerraVina!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllisonMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#5 of 12 in Santa Cruz
937 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Vendimia Premium
0.8 mi away
Cava Colchagua Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de Campo
Hotel Casa de Campo
#8 of 12 in Santa Cruz
155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Noi Blend Colchagua
Noi Blend Colchagua
#1 of 1 in Palmilla
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parronales
Hotel Parronales
#7 of 12 in Santa Cruz
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel TerraVina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel TerraVina

Address: Camino los boldos s/n, Santa Cruz 31202, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $157 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel TerraVina 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Andes Mountains as background Hotel TerraVina is located in the middle of a vineyard in the beautiful wine valley of Colchagua just 2 hours south of Santiago. All the tastefully decorated rooms have oak floors, colonial style tiles in the bathroom, central heating, safe boxes and great big beds with Scandinavian duvets. Count on a hearty breakfast and personal service from the owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel TerraVina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel TerraVina Chile/Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing