We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel tucked away amoung the vines”
Review of Hotel TerraVina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel TerraVina
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Came here for a couple of days visiting some local vineyards, and could not have been more pleased with what we found.
This is a small hotel, run by a Chilean man and his Danish wife.The service we received from everyone we encountered was exceptional, like being one of the family!
Nice comfortable rooms each with a balcony overlooking the vineyard to the front of the hotel. All have air conditioning and cable TV as well as a safe.
Breakfast was exceptional, beautiful fruits, yogurt, meats, cheeses, eggs cooked to order, many types of bread as well as teas and coffees.
Dinner is not available at the hotel, however this is an excellent Italian inspired restaurant 10 minutes walk away through the vines, the hotel ill provide a torch and map. If you head out to 'Vino Bello Ristorante' early then 'Rocco' the hotel dog will show you the way.
Very special place indeed..

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 486 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent two nights here and absolutely loved it. The hotel is physically gorgeous and the facilities are new and very clean. Their terrace and pool nestled in the vineyard is an especially incredible spot. The staff are were very helpful, and the breakfast was great. It makes for a great hopping off point for wine tours in the region. My one (small) compliant was that sound carried across the rooms easily, but it wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here with my husband in January for his 40th birthday. We booked it as a few days to relax at the end of the holiday and it was perfect. The views are breathtaking and all of the views about the nearby Italian are absolutely accurate. We spent a day by the pool and were the only ones there. We had a bottle of wine and an impressive cheeseboard from the hotel and couldn't have been happier.

The breakfast is plentiful and really fresh too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 days over 31st of Dec in this gem!! Anne and the team took great care of us, emailed us even in advance to arrange a reservation for New Year's Eve. The pool surrounded by wineyards and some mountains is like a little paradise! Absolutely recommended when you are visiting the wine country!!
Beautiful spot and phantastic hospitability!
Thanks a lot!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank AndreasLackner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thrilleddenmark, Owner at Hotel TerraVina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Andreas,

We do appreciate your review. Thank you very much. We are glad that you enjoyed New Year's Eve with us and we did too. It was lovely spending that special night with such a nice crowd that seemed to have a good time. Thank you for staying with us and happy new year. Kind regards Anne Sorensen, Hotel TerraViña

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We started our Chile holiday at Hotel TerraViña on Christmas Day. We had a lovely time during our stay. Anne and her employees were all very helpful. They helped arrange horseback riding, bike rentals and wine tours. It was a great place to visit the vineyards and relax at the pool after. Short drive into town or walking distance to other restaurants. The breakfast in the morning is the perfect start to a day of bike riding to vineyards or horseback riding. Overall it is an incredible value.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank lzink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The hotel is excellent although simple, which I understand it is their proposal. Pros: 1) Very nice view, 2) Although simple, the bedrooms are comfortable, 3) Excellent service, very nice people, specially the sir that stays during the night, 4) You can go walking through the grapevines to the best restaurant in the city, 5) Good swimming pool. Cons: 1) Very difficult to find, could have more indications in the city, 2) Breakfast could be better, 3) There is not a small refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: Prefer the rooms located in the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toledo_Marcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

If you love wines and want to visit wineries in the Conchagua Valley area Terra Viña, with its great location, is an excellent choice. The owners make all the difference as other mid-priced hotels/motels in the area may not have their owners operating the premises every day. Positive aspects of this hotel/motel/B&B include:

1) It is surrounded by a vineyard through which you walk when you want to go to the Laura Hartwig Winery or the Vino Bello restaurant. (Sidenote: Both are excellent choices whether to finish a day of winery tours with a great meal, or start a day with a quick visit to the winery.)
2) The owners are extremely helpful whether you need reservations or directions to the many wineries and restaurants in the area.
3) The owners also are experienced enough to spot potential issues before they arise. In our case our stayed overlapped with a large group that took ~80% of the rooms for a one-day celebration. From the first day we checked in we were assigned to a remote room so we could be far away from the large group that was to arrive the next day. In addition we and a few others who were not part of the large group were offered breakfast away from the main breakfast area so we could enjoy a more pleasant atmosphere. It is clear the owners had thought about how to keep the group and the other guests from disturbing each other and ruining each others' experience.
4) Water in the shower is extremely hot, for those who like that, and a a hair dryer is also included.
5) The room and bathroom were extremely clean. Although the tiles in the bathroom are older and have seen some wear, they are clean.
6) The room had one power adapter to convert our USA plug into a Chilean plug. This is not a power converter, just an adapter, but our computer "power brick" was able to handle Chile's 240 voltage so that is all we really needed.

Please keep in mind this is a mid-price hotel/B&B, so there are some quirks. Given the positives of the hotel none of its quirks would make me change our selection to another hotel if we returned to Colchague, but I realize other travelers might think differently. Some of the quirks include:

7) There are no air conditioners in the rooms. This was not an issue for us as we cooled our room, which was ~75F (24C) when we arrived, by opening the balcony doors and the front door for a few minutes and letting the ~55F (13C) cross breeze do the job for us.
8) The ceiling fan is a little old so it has a hum to it. This actually turned to be a blessing as explained in my next point.
9) Terra Viña is surrounded by a vineyard so you should expect noisy birds and sometimes dogs barking the distance. The rooms are not impervious to the outside sounds, although given the cement walls they seem soundproof to each other. If you are a light sleeper bring a sound machine or ear plugs.
10) Our room was sparsely decorated but practical.
11) The woodwork and finishes in the room are all hand made by a carpenter. They are focused on functionality, not necessarily perfect finishes.

To summarize, the experience was wonderful and the owners were very helpful, but this is a mid-market hotel/B&B and, just like a good mid-market wine, one is getting a good value for the price and should not be looking for all the complex elements in a top-tier wine.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms away from the lobby avoid some of the noise of people coming and going. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#4 of 13 in Santa Cruz
1,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Vendimia Premium
0.8 mi away
Cava Colchagua Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Noi Blend Colchagua
Noi Blend Colchagua
#1 of 1 in Palmilla
192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de Campo
Hotel Casa de Campo
#8 of 13 in Santa Cruz
173 reviews
2 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#11 of 13 in Santa Cruz
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel TerraVina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel TerraVina

Address: Camino los boldos s/n, Santa Cruz 31202, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $158 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel TerraVina 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Andes Mountains as background Hotel TerraVina is located in the middle of a vineyard in the beautiful wine valley of Colchagua just 2 hours south of Santiago. All the tastefully decorated rooms have oak floors, colonial style tiles in the bathroom, central heating, safe boxes and great big beds with Scandinavian duvets. Count on a hearty breakfast and personal service from the owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel TerraVina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel TerraVina Chile/Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing