We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summary of the Colchagua Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posada Colchagua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Colchagua
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Summary of the Colchagua Valley”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I stayed for 3 days with a friends family.
All staff was very kind and smiling.
Environment decorated with local elements represented harmoniously region vineyard.
It is small but comfortable and familiar, seems invited to a friends home.
On the last day, we had brazilian style barbecue with chilean beef.
We invited all staff and Mrs Leonor.
Was maximum.
Easier access to the Pousada is passing the neighborhood Palmilla and follow sign to MontGras vineyard. 3km after the vineyard you have already reached the Pousada Colchagua.
If you enter to Santa Cruz city, you have to face traffic jam and maze of narrow streets.
I would like return next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmantePatagonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    65
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
105
275
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We enjoyed staying at this hotel because of the beauty of the rooms, the grounds and the generous hospitality of its friendly owner , Leonora. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the breakfast was delicious and even included eggs.

We arrived on a warm evening and began our stay with a complimentary bottle of wine, followed by a refreshing dip in the pristine pool. Leonora was helpful with touring tips and understands a lot of English.
The hotel is located about 10 minutes from the city of santa Cruz in a Isla de Yaquil. Follow the signs to Islade Yaquil in order to locate the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Dear reader

We stayed in this hotel from the 26 Dec untill the 30th. We had a great time! The hotel has some very nice rooms which are very clean nicely decorated with fresh flowers. We were greeted with a cool beer to enjoy on the rooms veranda and afterwords we even received a complimentary bottle of wine. The landlandy, Elenora, organised our trips to the vineyarda and gave us some valuable tips about the surroundings and the tourist attracions. Elenora only speaks spanish.
Breakfast was good.
The pool was great, refreshing and always clean.

If you are in the area be sure to visit Viu Manet, a great winery with an even better restaurant. We also visited the 7 tazas national park, amazing!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Living in Santiago for a few months we felt we should visit the wineries of this valley, which are many and known, plus there is a good precolombian and historical museum in Santa Cruz. We wanted to have an individual and quiet way to visit and so we accepted the tip of friends who had been at this hotel. It turned out to be really excellent, in a quiet village not far from Santa Cruz, with nice and clean rooms, good breakfast and a refreshing swimming pool. All together the ideal place where to rest after tasting wine and food in the very well set-up wineries. You can also go around on a bike (the hotel has also some, available for free).
A couple of nights is the minimum reccommended. The landlady is very friendly and would not let you go after breakfast without giving you a few tips. One really feels confortable and happy here.. a nice little oasis to relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This hotel is a peaceful, relaxing oasis outside Santa Cruz. The owner is super sweet (although brush up on your spanish because she does not speak english) and very accomodating and helpful. The breakfast was great: tea/nescafe, warm toasted biscuits, strawberry jam, yogurt, cereal, meats/cheeses. She has 3 bikes on the property that you can use for free. The pool and rooms are wonderfully maintained. I was given a bottle of wine as a gift upon checkin. They have a cute little dog that loves belly rubs. I can't say enough good things about this place or Leonora. You would be missing out by not staying here. Cabs to town are $6-$10 (3,000-5,000 pesos) if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 32TravelNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zuerich
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2010

charming people, friendly service, nice location, very clean rooms

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unterwaegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I hate to be the first person to write a poor review of this property however based on our experience I cannot recommend this place.
I booked the accomodation through their website and received written confirmation of the dates, type of room and rate. I also confirmed the accomodation via email prior to us arriving in Chile. When we arrived we were met in the car park by the landlady who said that they were full, and it was only when I showed her the email confirmation that she relented and said she could find us a room but it wouldn't be the one that we had booked. This would normally have been ok however when we were shown the room it had two beds in and the landlady pointed at the second bed and said "closet". The bathroom door was also jammed open and you had to take a run and jump at it to even move it a little.
The next morning we were trying to book a vinyard tour and the landlady was helpful in calling the vinyard for us, however they had no English tours available that day. I told the landlady we would just drive around and see what vinyards looked good to visit but she was insistent on calling anther for us and booked us on a 10am tour. This would have been fine apart from the fact it was 9.45am and we were still having breakfast. She told us we would have to hurry up to make the tour on time. We went up to our room to get our stuff for the day and two minutes later the landlady appeared at the door saying we had to hurry up and go to the tour and waited for us to get out of the room and into the car.
That day we looked for other accomodation in the area, we found Terra Vina which was excellent, the difference is night and day with this place - see my seperate review on Terra Vina.
When we told the landlady we were leaving she gave us a $20 discount on the room, so we paid $100 instead of $120 but at the same time asked us not to write any negative reviews about the property on the internet. Given I used this site and the reviews to book our vacation I think I should give feedback, good or bad so have written this review. Overall we might just have been unlucky but I would look around at other properties in the area, Terra Vina was slightly more expensive but well worth it and it saved our vacation

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donamamma, Propietario at Posada Colchagua, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
(english answer)
Dear Sir,

I deeply regret that your visits Colchagua Posada has been so difficult. We recognize our part that your reservation was duly noted by the person in charge at the time, so I reiterate my apologies. We have guards to avoid recurrence.

I regret also that his complaints to trouble the all our service, and our efforts to provide comfort despite 'circumstances. It is in our nature to serve our visitors better. I understand that in their anger, all that we tried was displeased.

Through our time serving our hotel guests, we've never had a passenger who treat us the way to you. has done, which saddens us very much and feel that has been unkind way to express their displeasure with us. However, compels us to put more dedication to our work.

We leave this bad criticism, but the others are excellent or very good, mostly, which speaks of a work always dedicated to our visitors. That is our main goal

(respuesta en espñol)
Estimado señor,

lamento profundamente que su experiencia al visitar Posada Colchagua haya sido tan dificultosa. Reconocemos de nuestra parte que su reserva no fue debidamente apuntada por la persona encargada en su momento, por lo cual reitero mis disculpas. Hemos tomado los resguardos para que no vuelva a ocurrir.

Lamento tambien, que su molestia la exprese quejandose de todo nuestro servicio, y de nuestros esfuerzos por darle comodidad pese a las circuntancias. Es de nuestro caracter atender a nuestros visitantes de la mejor manera. Entiendo que en su molestia, todo lo que
intentabamos le parecia mal.

A través de nuestro tiempo atediendo visitantes en nuestro hotel, nunca habiamos tenido un pasajero que nos tratara de la manera en que ud. lo ha hecho, lo cual nos apena mucho y sentimos que ha sido una manera poco amable de manifestar su molestia con nosotros. Sin embargo, nos impulsa a poner mas dedicación a nuestro trabajo.

Nos deja esta mala critica, sin embargo las demas son excelentes o muy buenas, en su mayoria, lo cual habla de un trabajo siempre dedicado hacia nuestros visitantes. Que es nuestro principal objetivo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel TerraVina
Hotel TerraVina
#4 of 11 in Santa Cruz
453 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Vendimia Premium
5.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#5 of 11 in Santa Cruz
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cava Colchagua Hotel Boutique
3.6 mi away
Hotel Parronales
Hotel Parronales
#7 of 11 in Santa Cruz
39 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Vina la Playa
Hotel Vina la Playa
#10 of 11 in Santa Cruz
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Colchagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Colchagua

Property: Posada Colchagua
Address: Isla de Yaquil, Valle de Colchagua | VI Region, Santa Cruz 3130000, Chile
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Island of Yáquil, to 8 km to the north of of Santa Cruz's city. It is a beautiful built field house according to the architectural tradition of the central area of Chile. Located in the center of the Valley of Colchagua, in which will be able to enjoy the tranquility and unique atmosphere that it offers the Chilean field. From their balconies, corridors and terraces are sighted the most beautiful landscapes that compose a replete square of beauty in any time of the year. We offer a personalized service, assisted by their owner and next to a personnel of first level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Posada Colchagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Colchagua Santa Cruz
Posada Colchagua Chile/Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing