We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay. Would love to come back for an extended visit.”
Review of Posada Colchagua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Colchagua
Ranked #1 of 27 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I chose the posada based on TA reviews and this time the reviews were spot on. We has two very memorable days of quiet relaxation after a long motorbike trip through southern Chile, our last stop before returning to Santiago. The place is about 8 km out of Santa Cruz so best if you have your own transport. We arrived to a very warm welcome from Leanor, the owner. Such a lovely lady who immediately makes you feel that you've been friends for years. She produced a complimentary bottle of wine and a cold beer as we unpacked our luggage. The building is located in a large and beautiful garden with a great swimming pool. We had hot, sunny weather during our two days and the pool was perfect. The satellite internet is very fast and can be used in the room as well as by the pool. Leanor doesn't cater for lunch or dinner but she very kindly allowed us full use of her kitchen so we cooked our own dinner on both nights - a welcome change from endless restaurants. Breakfast was great and served at our table by Leanor's diligent ladies - another nice change from the usual boring buffet breakfasts in Chile. Thank you, Leanor. You made our stay in the Colchagua Valley a memorable one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 510 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had 2 nights at this Posada near the start of our holiday. We decided not to stay in Santa Cruz and on driving through it are glad that we didn't opt for it.

Leonor is the most charming and hospitable hostess, greeting and farewelling us with a hug and a kiss. Although her English (like my Spanish) is limited, she goes the extra mile to make sure her guests are happy and to make recommendations about tours and visits to wineries.

I would highly recommend researching the wineries in advance of your trip and at least making recommendations for those that you want to tour, which I had done - Leonor assisted us in making final bookings for tastings on our arrival, though on short notice it was a bit chaotic and uncertain!

The posada is located about 8kms out of Santa Cruz (you do need a car), and was a bit of a challenge to find - however, once there, we were glad we had made this choice - a beautiful location, close to vineyards, quiet (and with only a few rooms) and a pool to relax by and swim in at the end of the day - she gave us some wine to drink whilst we were poolside.

The rooms are simple, but completely adequate and comfortable - tastefully decorated - you wake to the sound of birds. Breakfast is relatively simple, typically Chilean, cereals, bread, pastries and eggs and coffee, served by a team of friendly women when we were there.

Leonor was charming throughout our stay and also provided excellent restaurant recommendations - she seems to know everyone. It would have been nice to have stayed longer and to have chilled by the pool after taking in a few more wineries. The only downside was on the morning of our departure, she told us that her system was down and she was unable to take credit cards - only cash - so it meant a hurried trip into Santa Cruz to find an ATM.

If ever in Colchagua again, I would certainly stay at Leonor's pousada.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a fantastic stay, Leonor goes out of her way to make your stay memorable. Upon arrival their is no messing around checking in, within 1 minute you are on the porch of your room with a glass of wine in hand. The rooms are very comfortable, there are bikes to take to the nearby vinyards and the breakfast is delicious, good wifi. Perfect. If i would make one suggestion it would be to have a snack menu (tabla de queso etc) to order food but you can easily walk 5 minutes to the nearby shop to buy ham and cheese etc. highly recommend.

Room Tip: last one of the end number 9 i think has air con and is set away from the others. The only negative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed with another couple and we felt it was our own private posada! Leonor makes you feel like you are family. Berakfast is very good, plus she makes sure you have everything you need when you are having your own happy hour around the pool. Great location for touring wineries in the area. Just remember---very rarely are there wine tastings at the wineries like other areas in the world. You go to purchase. DO not hesitate to stay there...just make sure you get directions as did not show on our GPS and Chileans do not speak English well. She recommended some fabulous restaurants in the area also and we had wonderful meals. Muchas gracias Leonor and come visit us in Canada!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstoEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I had one of the most pleasant days of our recent trip do Chile at this small, cozy, but extremelly welcoming posada. Great room, great service, very well located, and an amazing breakfast. Our thanks to Leonor and her staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoPimentel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Wonderfully comfortable hotel with a lovely yard and pool. Leonore, our hostess was most gracious and helpful. Her recommendations were right on point and her welcoming bottle of wine just hit the spot right. Beds are comfy, shower and bathroom great. No a/c, but never needed it, even when the temp was at least 95. Our breakfast was very good, we were allowed to use the kitchen and refrigerator and we truly enjoyed ourselves. It is a very private and small hotel and I would highly recommend it for couples as well as families.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just finished a 4-day stay at La Posada. Isla de Yaquil is about 5 km outside of central Santa Cruz so its very quiet and tucked away. The pool and the rooms are very very comfortable, as comfortable as any 4, 5-star hotel. Leonor is a wonderful host, helping us to book tours and calling us taxis whenever we needed them and letting us use her kitchen when all of the restaurants were closed for New Year's. She also seems to know everyone in Santa Cruz and Palmilla so any reco that she makes for a winery or restaurant, they'll treat you the best. Her english is not fluent but good enough to communicate. We were able to talk fine with my broken Spanish and her broken English. She gave us a wonderful bottle of wine to welcome us and a hug as we left. As stated in other reviews, most restaurants and wineries are >5 km away so its best to have a car rented so you can have freedom of movement to visit the wineries and restaurants in Santa Cruz. We were able to rely on taxis and collectivos and it was still cheaper than renting a car but its nice to be able to go when you want. This was one of the best hotel stays that we've ever had. lThe next time that we travel to Santa Cruz (and we will), we'll be staying at La Posada.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cacheng88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#4 of 13 in Santa Cruz
1,043 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel TerraVina
Hotel TerraVina
#5 of 13 in Santa Cruz
486 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Vendimia Premium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Noi Blend Colchagua
Noi Blend Colchagua
#1 of 1 in Palmilla
193 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cava Colchagua Hotel Boutique
6.1 mi away
Hotel Casa de Campo
Hotel Casa de Campo
#8 of 13 in Santa Cruz
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Colchagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Colchagua

Address: Isla de Yaquil s/n, Santa Cruz 3130000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $115 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Island of Yáquil, to 8 km to the north of of Santa Cruz's city. It is a beautiful built field house according to the architectural tradition of the central area of Chile. Located in the center of the Valley of Colchagua, in which will be able to enjoy the tranquility and unique atmosphere that it offers the Chilean field. From their balconies, corridors and terraces are sighted the most beautiful landscapes that compose a replete square of beauty in any time of the year. We offer a personalized service, assisted by their owner and next to a personnel of first level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada Colchagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Colchagua Santa Cruz
Posada Colchagua Chile/Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing