We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Lodge Andino Terrantai(San Pedro de Atacama)
$267
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Casa de Don Tomas(San Pedro de Atacama)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kimal(San Pedro de Atacama)
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Takha Takha Hotel(San Pedro de Atacama)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama(San Pedro de Atacama)
$550
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explora Atacama - All Inclusive(San Pedro de Atacama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel(San Pedro de Atacama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lodge Ancar Atacama(San Pedro de Atacama)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tulor(San Pedro de Atacama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveler rating
725
138
28
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
138
28
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalternative menuoutdoor showerhot springssalt flatsaltiplanic lagoonsfull day excursionchilliall inclusive packagesister hotelrestaurant staffbeautiful poolthe general managersan pedroevery guestluxury hotelsand dunesrainbow valley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 894 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2008

The Atacama desert is an amazing place – very raw but absolutely beautiful – and Tierra Atacama has to be the best place to enjoy it from. We actually found it through a review on Tripadvisor (it’s quite new) and in every way it exceeded our expectations.

As with a lot of the ‘luxury lodges’ in San Pedro the board includes all your food drink and excursions (tow half day trips per day or one full day one). It was very flexible – you could either book your itinerary when you checked in or a day in advance. My husband and I even took different trips one day. All were excellent (from the drivers to the guides to the lunch they provided). If you didn’t feel like the “full on” experience all the time the hotel has a lovely spa too (although we didn’t use this other than to chill out in).

The staff in the bar and restaurant we great too, taking time to chat to us to help our Spanish when they weren’t to busy. The food was generally really good, but it was the wonderfully relaxed atmosphere that really made it for us.

The rooms were equally lovely – very big with comfortable beds and (at least in our room) both in inside and outdoor shower. The rooms also had an outside seating area – with fantastic views of the gardens and to the Toco volcano. In fact the only downside is that there was no air conditioning so the room was hot first thing at night – but we believe that this is being put in.

All in all a wonderful experience - absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aylesburytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Guest:
We are so happy that your Tierra Atacama experience was great!
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment.
Warm regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Together with Khem Villas, this is the best hotel I've ever been in. Rooms are lovely, lots of space, the food is delicious (little choice, but that comes with the full board I guess).
The construction/architecture and the setting are lovely, but what made this hotel really good is the poeple. Everybody is eager to help, friendly and knowledgeable where required.
It's a pity we didn't decide to stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pladijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Guest:
We are so happy that your Tierra Atacama experience was great!
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment.
Warm regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

We enjoyed a wonderful stay last week at the Tierra Atacama - can´t think of any faults at all.

The treks were extremely well-organised, with friendly and knowledgeable guides. We did three varied treks ("valle de la luna", "cornisas", and the cactus one down the river gorge) in small groups of maximum four people plus guide. Each time they were well paced, and the guides provided water and dried fruit when needed, and Super8 chocolate bars at the end! We also enjoyed the excursions to the Salar de Atacama to see flamingoes (the only disappointment was that there weren´t thousands of birds as we had expected), and to the Tatio geysers, which was followed by a lovely dip in the thermal pools at Puritama on the return to the hotel. At short notice, for our last morning, Paula organised a very interesting visit to the old fortress and the town museum. One advantage of the small groups was the opportunity to meet other guests, and make new friends.

The all-inclusive package was ideal, with no need to think about prices of meals or drinks. Even though there is only a limited choice of dishes on the menu, the food, wine and coffee were all good.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mrs Slow Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Guest:
We are so happy that your Tierra Atacama experience was great!
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment.
Warm regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We spent four beautiful days in San Pedro de Atacama recently. Tierra Atacama and its magnificient service was a huge plus point to the wonderful countryside. With my wife we travelled with our two children (9 and 7 yrs old), who also enjoyed our stay there.
This was our family's first experience in an all-inclusive program in South America. The hotel's minibus waited us at Calama Airport and from that time until the drop-off at the airport, the staff's friendliness and service was without any mistake. We took part in six excursions and the maximum number of people on these were seven. All the tour guides were very kind, explained a lot on local people, history, flora and fauna. A picnic at Laguna Miscanti was our best experience. Sunsets are nice, only nights beat those experiences with the incredible number of stars. Viewing the landscape we several times felt ourselves to be in an other planet.
Rooms are OK, nothing special, good in size with a nice bathroom. We got a second room for our children at a deep discouted price. We enjoyed the food and the Chilean wine in the hotel. The breakfast is an average buffet, lunches and dinners were perfect. The majority of the restaurant staff is speaking Spanish only, but our poor Spanish knowledge and their friendliness counterbalanced this problem.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank krokodilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Guest:
We are so happy that your Tierra Atacama experience was great!
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment.
Warm regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

I stayed at Tierra Atacama for 6 nights by the end of Aug. As I was traveling single, I thought I would stay/eat most of the time by myself. However, Paula (who manages the tours) was able to gather a group with similar interests, which made most of the tours together, so I made a lot of new friends and was never alone. Thank you, Paula!!

Tours were just wonderful; guides were very experienced and provided us with a lot of interesting information (Golzalo, Alejandro and Victor: thank you!!!). Drivers were also very attentive and we always had fresh beverage and snacks. I recommend also the astronomical tour (funny French guy, Alain) which is not included in the hotel package, but is totally worth the additional price (about USD 23). Atacama’s sky at night is unbelievable!!

Restaurant had buffet breakfast, with many options. Lunch and dinner usually had 2 or 3 choices for starters (soups and salads), main dishes (generally including a vegetarian dish) and desert. Vegetables and seafood were incredibly fresh and delicious. Wines were also very good. The best of the restaurant though, were the waiters, who were especially lovely and polite.

I had the best experience there and totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia T, Guest Service at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Dear Guest:
We are so happy that your Tierra Atacama experience was great!
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Thank you very much for your wonderful comment.
Warm regards,
Guest Service - Tierra Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews