We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!!!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here! Our room was lovely, rustic style with a huge comfy bed and great views.
Bathroom too was great, particularly liked the plentiful supply of L'Occitaine toiletries. Towels & robes were luxurious, and the outside shower amazing!
Enjoyed the chocolates and bedtime stories too!
Magical to walk out of our room each morning and see a family of Owls in the tree.
Food and drinks were good and plentiful, one waitress was a little slow, but we assumed she was new,other staff were brilliant.
We enjoyed the tours, especially Rainbow Valley and the rock carvings, which was a driver, my husband and I. Tatio geysers were fab too, shall never forget the hot chocolate heated to perfection in a geyser, and so welcome. A hot drink and snacks were served before we left- a nice touch!
All in all a great stay!
Didn't use the Spa. we thought it a little expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kings1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdes_Paula, Gerente at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the little touches that we have to try and make our guests feel as “at home” and comfortable as possible. Whilst we do charge for spa therapies, use of all the facilities IS included in the rates, so it is possible to enjoy the heated pool, bubble beds, water jets, Jacuzzi, sauna and outdoor pool for free. We’re also pleased you enjoyed the excursions and the “magic” of the Atacama as well, and hope to welcome you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    121
    25
    3
    0
See reviews for
169
374
36
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights. On hindsight a tad short. We had a very good experience in this hotel. The staff right from the F&B, front desk, bell to housekeeping provided remarkable services throughout. Response time was quick and this being the driest place on earth, hotel was at pains to ensure more then adequate availability of treated drinking water. The excursions were well planned, guides knowledgible and helpful. We would recommend for those on a tight timeline like us to cover El Tatio geysers, Salar Atacama, Valley de Luna... and maybe a nice evening stroll at San Pedro town itself (a must do - albeit underrated). The hotel is well located, just a 15 min walk to san pedro, 30 mins drive from Valley de Luna and 45 mins drive to Salar de Atacama. The view from hotel lobby was stunning especially for the great sunsets. And on the whole the hotel was well designed to blend into the local environment.

Some minor negatives - I don't understand why the hotel could provide like a shuttle service to town. Although it was a 15min walk. but it could get dusty and hot afterall this is a dessert. The food while imaginative and adequate - looked and sounded better then it tasted. The rooms were adequate albeit somewhat spartan for the price we are paying.

On the whole I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms face the volcanoes and andes. But request for those closer to the main building or it coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdes_Paula, Gerente at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest – we are glad our team were able to make your stay a great success. We also appreciate your constructive criticism regarding the journey to San Pedro, we do normally have a vehicle available to take guests too and from the village, although it is not a fixed shuttle service, and can always arrange a reasonably priced taxi service (USD 10 aprox) should our guests need it. Thanks again for writing and I will make sure the staff are aware that their services were appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
263 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lovely rooms - all with volvano and Andes views. Staff excellent and great trips to all local areas- Valley of the moon, `death valley, the salt flats , the geysers and the high altitude lagoons.Pedro is the best driver but they are all good. Staff very helpful. We had a medical problem and we with a doctor within an hour. Food excellent and plenty of choice - vegetarian options by request. Plenty of fruit, fish and veg as well as meat which is a big achievement in this area. New in room wifi a big treat. Paola the manager runs an excellent hotel.
Good spa - with in and out door pools.
Good transfers to and from Calama airport.
Ask for a room on lower level for best rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room on lower level for best rooms. All rooms have fans, aircon and heating so great place y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cultureoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdes_Paula, Gerente at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we’re pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Tierra Atacama. We try to ensure that all our guests have a wonderful time, and we’re happy that you enjoyed our services and the local area during your visit to this magical part of the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is another long overdue review. I stayed at the Tierra Atacama for five nights as part of a Atacama sojourn. Overall I really enjoyed my stay at the resort, but there are a couple of exceptions as I noted above.

What I Liked

I cannot say enough about the guides for this hotel. I took advantage of all the daily tours on offer, and I must say that the guides offered were top notch. All the guides were extremely knowledgeable, tremendously friendly, and had wonderful senses of humor. Because of the duration of my stay, I had at least three different guides for the various excursions, and while they all had different styles, they all did fantastic jobs. Even the driver who took us to and from the airport made the journey entertaining and informative. Kudos to the Tierra Atacama team for contracting and/or hiring very strong guides.

Also, even though it was high season at the resort due to South American winter holidays, the number of guests on each excursion was relatively low. On half of the excursions, my sister and I were the only people, making for a individualized experience set at my own pace.

Guest rooms and facilities were all top notch. The modernist, minimalist design ethos is even spread throughout the resort, from the central reception areas and spa to the individual guest rooms. Everything is very well designed and contemporary, while not feeling cold or uninviting.

The spa was very nice and hot highly utilized during my stay, making it a great respite. Spa services were very reasonable priced, and the therapists were good. I really enjoyed the heated indoor pool.

What Could Use Improvement

The food at the resort was well prepared, however, the service in the dining room was usually somewhat scattered. This could be because it was high season the and resort had a relatively high volume of guests. I noticed that as the volume of guests decreased over the week, the dining room service improved. However, it did lead to a couple of nights of dining frustration, as some times I didn't know who my server was or when my order would be taken.

Another irritant, and this isn't something necessarily that the hotel can control, was the sheer volume of children and teenagers running relatively uncontrolled throughout the resort. I understand that it was school holidays, and they wanted the children to enjoy themselves, but it seemed somewhat too tilted toward indulging the younger guests. Almost every night during my stay, children were allowed to run through the dining room, often bare foot, talking in very loud voices. The spa, which should be a respite from the little ones, was often over run with children playing in the indoor heated pool. I would recommend setting aside specific "adults only" areas and enforcing some standards at dinner so that everyone could enjoy themselves.

What I Would Recommend

Take advantage of as many of the excursions as you can, since these are the highlights of the stay and Tierra Atacama has some exceptional guides.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights. We loved the room and the hotel overall. The excursions we took were excellent. We walked over to explora but liked the Tierra property better. Service was very good, however English wasn't as widely spoken as in their sister property in Patagonia (which is all around fabulous). The quality of the food and guide service was also a notch below that of Tierra Patagonia. We nonetheless loved the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulka56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I didn't really know what to expect from the Atacama as I was a little concerned that it would be too remote wi not enough to do. How wrong I was!

This was a really nice hotel, with lovely rooms. Ours (and I think most if not all) had an outside shower (as well as an indoor one), which really makes you feel away from home. The rooms were fairly basic, but very comfortable nonetheless. Our room had a view of the Andes, which was superb. The food and drinks come as part of an all-inclusive package, which in Europe is a message that both are awful, but here that wasn't the case. The food was ok (though there weren't many choices) and the drinks were good - Chilean wines and beers that you would pay decent money for in the outside world. Service was a little patchy - you were often waving your hand in the air trying to get someone's attention, or having to get up to find somebody.

The main attraction of the place though is the tours. There is so much to, many of which are hard to come by e.g. salt flats, geysers. We thought all of the guides were all excellent - knowledgable, enthusiastic and friendly.

So why did I say "almost perfect" in the title to this review ? Value for money. I thought the pricing was over the top - you would expect top quality accommodation and food for the prices charged, and both fell below is standard.

So overall, we had a brilliant stay, thoroughly enjoyable, but just feeling a little as if we had overpaid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 851trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdes_Paula, Gerente at Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Tierra Atacama!

We welcome your feedback and it is an important aspect for us in continuing to improve. The issues with service that you experienced in the dining room are not typical and we apologize that they affected your stay. It sounds like you had a wonderful trip and particularly enjoyed our guides and excursions.

We are happy Atacama as a destination surpassed your expectations and provided you with an enjoyable experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, great staff, amazing scenery and fun excursions. Also, for the inactive people out there, there is a wonderful pool with an incredible view. And really great food for an all inclusive.

Staff also goes the extra mile...

Nothing not to like. Would definitely return!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank new_york_city_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
2.4 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#4 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateau...
#1 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
522 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
638 reviews
1.3 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa

Property: Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Address: Camino Sequitor S/N, Ayllu de Yaye, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#3 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tierra Atacama is a boutique hotel on the edge of San Pedro de Atacama. It was created by the Purcell family, long time owners and operators of hotels, famous in Chile for the excellent food and warm hospitality. Tierra Atacama provides guest experiences that combine outdoor adventure and sports with indoor comforts, hospitality and excellent service. Tierra Atacama’s architecture, interior design and gardens were designed by some of Chile’s leading creative talent. Our objectives were to be as authentic as possible, using furniture and accessories handmade with local materials, while also creating a place that allows guests to relax, spoil themselves and enjoy the good-life in this magical part of the earth. Our ambiance is casual and friendly; we want our guests to be comfortable in our common areas just as if they were in their own homes. Enjoy one of the welcoming private corners of the hotel such as a seat by one of the terrace fire pits, lounge next to the pool or relax on one of the shady outdoor decks. When night falls, take in the brilliant stars, bask in the peace and wonder that is the Atacama Desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Atacama Hotel And Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
Hotel Tierra Atacama
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing