We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We spend 3 nights at Awasi, and we loved it. The staff was wonderful in every way. Thanks to Andres for making all our request happen, also to Son our waiter and special thanks to Chef Juan Pablo Mardones for the delicious meals he prepared for us, and he even gave us recipes for several meals that we love. Also our guides Marcela and Christian made itineraries for us so that we could see as much as possible in our short stay but always making sure that our desires were met to the last detail. We can't say enough of Awasi, if your going to Atacama there is no other place I will recommend,is worth every penny you spend there. Thank you Awasi !!!!! Ernesto and Maria Elena Fuentes

Room Tip: All rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Fuentes,

It is so nice to see a great title to your feedback – it already gives me a smile even before reading it. We really did love having you at our property and Chef Mardones sends his best. He wants you to know that anytime you wish to receive any of the recipes from the time you were there, feel free to reach out. It would be his pleasure to provide them over to you.

Marcela and Christian still feel that they can show you many more great “spots” throughout the Atacama desert. With only 3 nights, they tried their best to show you as much as possible but enjoyed your company very much and are eager to show you even more that the desert has to offer. Maybe, you might both return in a few months and not only see more of the Atacama Desert but may combine it with our new property at the Patagonia – Awasi Patagonia!

Our doors will always be open for you both.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 559 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Awasi. This was a fantastic experience. The food is delicous, the staff very friendly, our guide Pierre enthousiastic! He adviced us the right excursions and shared his passion for the nature.
Thank you for this wonderful time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bénédicte H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Benedicte,

With much gratitude, we thank you for taking out the time to provide us with your feedback on your experience with us.

Pierre, as well as the rest of the staff sends their best to you. We just loved having you with us and are honored that you chose us for your experience throughout the Atacama Desert.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our oasis. Please feel free to reach out to us if you wish to stay at any of our Awasi properties.

Best Regards,

Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at Awasi - our family of 3 - in February 2014. As other reviewers have said, we expected it to be amazing, but it even exceeded our expectations. Though the hotel itself is indeed luxurious, - exquisitely comfortable, down to the finest detail - it's the staff and level of personal attention which sets Awasi apart from the rest.
The excursions - these consist of individual, personal guides who spend your entire stay, just with you, taking you on an itinerary mutually designed according to your desires. Our guide went above and beyond, providing extras at all times of the day, including scheduling a stargazing tour for us (even after we were explicitly told that they were cancelled for our dates b/c the moon was too bright), and an excursion the a.m. before our departure, to see petroglyphs and then to a small, remote town which we had specifically requested.
The dining - our daughter is a vegetarian, and the staff had made provisions for her from our first meal there. They could not do enough to be flexible and accommodating. Yet the food is delicious - often local and fresh. And the staff warm and attentive.
Awasi is truly outstanding. It's a beautiful hotel in a magnificent location. The staff conveys the feeling they know and care about you, personally, while providing the highest level of service. We would recommend Awasi to anyone who is traveling to St. Pedro Atacama.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contessafan253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

How wonderful it is to open up a comment and see that we’re thought of as “Absolutely the best…”!
It is truly an honor to had welcome you to our oasis in the desert and show you around.

It is always very important that our guests do not miss out any of the local fare, so even though your daughter is vegetarian, we really wanted to ensure that she was able to delight in what we have to offer. Having a professional staff working for a maximum of 16 guests, we can always make sure that even the smallest (yet most important) aspects of your meals are according to your dietary restrictions.

We are sure that you will all enjoy spending time at our newest property, Awasi Patagonia in the Chilean Patagonia. Let us welcome you to this part of South America that has so much to offer.

See you soon,

Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent 3 nights recently at Awasi- a family of 3. We stayed in a rectangular room, and had plenty of space. 2 separate courtyards-outdoor shower and lovely amenities. Our guide Diego was awesome and we learned so much from him about the area. The staff really shines at this resort, always doing their best to make you happy. They could not have been more delightful. My only complaint was the lack of air conditioning. As a picky American who lives in the South, the room was hot for us, and at times the water pressure was nonexistent during showers. However, Awasi is a stunning resort, worth the travel time and money! Everything is included,including antihistamines when my husband's allergies acted up. They even had a special menu for my child, printed with her name on it. They actively engaged her in conversations in Spanish, which I appreciated, as she studies in school at home! Thanks for a great trip everyone-you are much appreciated:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissamce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Melissa,

Great to have received your very candid feedback on your experience with us, as it is much appreciated.

It was definitely a pleasure having you all at our property and engaging with your daughter in Spanish. Diego sends his best to you all and loved showing you around to your home, away from home.

We appreciate your honesty on how you felt during your time at the suite. Our rooms are made out of adobe, wood and stone and naturally retain the cool air, providing a very comfortable environment. However, for those that require a bit more cooling we can provide fans upon our guests’ request at reception.

We sure will take your suggestions into consideration and appreciate you advising us on your thoughts based on your experience with us. It would be great to get your notes on our newest property in the Chilean Patagonia – Awasi Patagonia, and we can assure you that your daughter will be able to practice her Spanish.

See you soon!

Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was expecting Awasi to be a terrific hotel because of all the outstanding reviews I had read over the past few years. It surpassed my greatest expectations.
The property,is simply stunning. Every detail is so artistic and beautifully thought out. There are several wonderful ,sitting areas so it is difficult to choose which to enjoy first.
The staff exhibits great warmth and hospitality. They are fluent in English. They are always wanting to anticipate your needs.
The food is very good and the house wines are some of the very best we had in all of Chile. I had spent many days exploring the wine region,of Chile on this trip.
Included in the all inclusive price are the excursions of which there are many to choose. Each couple has his own guide and driver. This is a unique offering for Chile and makes each person's experiences more meaningful . The places to visit in the region are so beautiful and unique in the world
I know their new property in Patagonia will be equally superb because of the personalized attention.
The general manager is a man of great warmth, taste, refinement and intelligence.

Room Tip: Stay in room one of you can afford the superior Round room. There are three large rooms of this typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Joan,

Wow, to be called “The finest hotel in Chile” is definitely something to brighten ones day with.

The entire staff could not be happier to have read these comments and we remember you so well. At this moment our GM, is currently blushing from your praises. He also says that was great having dinner with you and Thomas and also seeing you in Santiago.

We could not have had a better Awasi guest as yourself and enjoyed taking pictures throughout the Salar de Atacama with you.

We are truly happy that your time with us was one of the best during your lengthy stay in Chile. When we hear back from our guests to know that Awasi has impacted their trip in such a way, it validates the hard work that our team presents each and every day.

We cannot wait until we can welcome you to Awasi Patagonia to show you this property and once again, surpass your expectations.

Best Regards,

Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

What an exciting place St Pedro Atacama is and what a hotel The Awasi is.
From the minute you arrive you are looked after, nothing is too much for the staff.
We had one of the larger rooms across the road from the main hotel which has 8 rooms in all, each with your own guide and vehicle, we had Pierre who was not only a wonderful guide but a fantastic photographer,so make sure if he is your guide get him to take some pictures. All the trips we went on were wonderful,they are tailored to your fitness and desires.
We also were taken to The Observatory which was so interesting due to the clearness of the air and the position of Chile.Our guide there lacked fluent English. Other people went to star watch with Jorge and said it was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennytourslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Penny,

Thank you so much for your comment and of course for naming us “Amazing Awasi”.

Your comments are very valuable to us and they surely help us in attaining the level of service we set out to provide our guests.

Pierre sends his best and thanks you for regarding his photography skills in that manner.

We would love to welcome you to Awasi Patagonia in a near future and when you are ready, do not hesitate to contact us at anytime.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in a retangular suite in the area where the reception is located. We had a very spacious suite which we very much enjoyed. We also like the outdoor shower. The one thing we liked a little less was the lack of airconditioning. It was so warm that it was almost impossible to get the room cooled even with all curtains closed. But that was the only thing! Wow, what a place. Very good service in the main area, especially by Son, Xavier and off course Dejan, the Croatian winewaiter. He had a very personal way of approaching his guests with his love for wine, humour and interest in his guests. Compliments, Dejan! The food was very fresh, mostly local produce and beautifully presented. Nice selection of drinks and wines. Good buffet breakfast. The outings where amazing. Our guide, Dutch speaking Lea, was just amazing. She has lived here for 17 years and knows everybody and knows much about the area, the people and was anticipating every wish or ochange in the program due to illness of one of us. Nothing was too much for her and we had a great time. We will never, never forget our trip to the Miscanti volcano and our daytrip to Caspana driving past the snowcapped volcanos. It was just amazing. My partner also visited Arco Iris valley with hills and rocks all possible colours. We really can recommend Awasi Atacama! Thank you so much for hosting us!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

We are truly happy that your time with us was an “Unforgettable experience”…when we hear back from our guests to know that Awasi has impacted their trip in such a way, it validates the hard work that our team presents each and every day.

We appreciate your honesty on how you felt during your time at the suite. Our rooms are made out of adobe, wood and stone and naturally retain the cool air, providing a very comfortable environment. However, for those that require a bit more cooling we can provide fans upon our guests’ request at reception.

Lea and the rest of the team send their best over to you and your family.
She also remembers you and the expression on your face when you saw that breathtaking image of Miscanti…amazing sight, right? There is so much more to see at the desert and we are more than happy to show you around.
Feel free to reach out to us whenever you are ready to come back.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.8 mi away
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
#3 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
825 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
586 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#4 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
883 reviews
0.8 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Tocopilla 4, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: $1,350 - $2,464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodge located in the Atacama Desert, Chile. Only property in the region to be an affiliate of Relais & Chateaux. With only 10 ample rooms, we provide tailor-made experiences, assigning a private guide and a 4x4 vehicle to each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awasi Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing