We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgetable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Unforgetable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in a retangular suite in the area where the reception is located. We had a very spacious suite which we very much enjoyed. We also like the outdoor shower. The one thing we liked a little less was the lack of airconditioning. It was so warm that it was almost impossible to get the room cooled even with all curtains closed. But that was the only thing! Wow, what a place. Very good service in the main area, especially by Son, Xavier and off course Dejan, the Croatian winewaiter. He had a very personal way of approaching his guests with his love for wine, humour and interest in his guests. Compliments, Dejan! The food was very fresh, mostly local produce and beautifully presented. Nice selection of drinks and wines. Good buffet breakfast. The outings where amazing. Our guide, Dutch speaking Lea, was just amazing. She has lived here for 17 years and knows everybody and knows much about the area, the people and was anticipating every wish or ochange in the program due to illness of one of us. Nothing was too much for her and we had a great time. We will never, never forget our trip to the Miscanti volcano and our daytrip to Caspana driving past the snowcapped volcanos. It was just amazing. My partner also visited Arco Iris valley with hills and rocks all possible colours. We really can recommend Awasi Atacama! Thank you so much for hosting us!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

We are truly happy that your time with us was an “Unforgettable experience”…when we hear back from our guests to know that Awasi has impacted their trip in such a way, it validates the hard work that our team presents each and every day.

We appreciate your honesty on how you felt during your time at the suite. Our rooms are made out of adobe, wood and stone and naturally retain the cool air, providing a very comfortable environment. However, for those that require a bit more cooling we can provide fans upon our guests’ request at reception.

Lea and the rest of the team send their best over to you and your family.
She also remembers you and the expression on your face when you saw that breathtaking image of Miscanti…amazing sight, right? There is so much more to see at the desert and we are more than happy to show you around.
Feel free to reach out to us whenever you are ready to come back.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    21
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
321
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Accomodations: The room was immaculate upon arrival and left in great condition after the daily service. I personally loved the fresh rica rica tea that was waiting for us in the room when we arrived. The water left near the bed, and the humidifier was a detail that made sleeping more comfortable as we adjusted to the dry air.

Restaurant: In general, we felt the restaurant was perhaps the highlight of Awasi. The bartender was very helpful for choosing and making drinks which incorporated the local flavors, and was just pleasant to speak with and attentive to every detail. The restaurant manager and all of his staff were professional, very helpful and very friendly. We cannot say enough good things about the food. Every single meal was cooked to perfection and delicious. It is important to include local food and local flavors, which was very evident on the menu. Breakfast is simple and delicious.

Excursions: In general, we were happy with the excursions. The highlight was the horseback riding excursion to the Death Valley. The only negative experience we had was the coordination of the excursions. We booked our room via email, and were assigned our personal concierge. Two weeks before arriving, we sent her a list of our desired excursions. About three days before arriving, we sent her a follow-up email to confirm if we would be able to participate in the excursions we had chosen. She said that we would have time to discuss excursions with our guide upon arrival. Upon arrival, we were told that our top choice of excursions was closed due to weather conditions. While we completely understand that we cannot control what happens in nature, it would have been nice to know that the road was closed before arrival; managing expectations is very important, particularly when one is on vacation and planning a “once in a lifetime trip”. This same exact comment was made to us by two other couples who were guests of the hotel. All of us felt that the communication before arrival to the hotel was lacking, and that their personal concierges seemed out of touch with what was happening at Awasi.

Additionally, we were not very impressed with our guide. We felt pressure from my guide to participate in excursions which were shorter and closer to the hotel, allowing her to finish her day earlier. Another couple staying in the hotel had the same comment, they felt pressure to do shorter half day trips, and they, like us were disappointed that they did not have even one sunset tour.

In short, our trip was incredible, and we have recommended the hotel to others. Our advice would be to deal directly with management in San Pedro, and to plan the excursions before heading to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaBeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, we graciously thank you for taking out the time to provide us with a lengthy and detailed review. We appreciate your comments and proposals submitted to us regarding the improvements that we should make. Such feedback is absolutely wanted and needed – not many people provide us such a great insight into their experience.

Since the time you visited us in August , we have already implemented some changes within the staff in our office in Santiago and I trust that communication errors detected at that time are no longer occurring.

We know that when you visited us during those dates in August , unfortunately some of the tours had to be canceled at the last minute because of climatic factors. We understand the frustration that can be generated considering that our guests come to Atacama with extremely big expectations to explore one of the most amazing corners of the World .

However, keep in mind that at Awasi we give full priority to the physical safety of our guests, which we did mention to you and your boyfriend at the time. Therefore, when local authorities advise against visiting certain areas of the desert that are deemed unsafe, we prefer not to.

During your time visiting us, there were unexpected snow storms at the Altiplanic region, which is why the authorities advised us not to take our guests there. This information was not something that we knew ahead of time but rest assured that if we did, we would have contacted you prior to your arrival. We hope that the alternative options provided were of great enjoyment to both of you.

We recall that you thoroughly enjoyed our restaurant and the local fare we provided with a nice international “twist” to each plate. It would really be great to welcome you back and present to you the most up to date menu options and bar menu at either Awasi Atacama or Awasi Patagonia. Please, feel free to reach out to us so we may appropriately coordinate the trip with you. I am sure this time around that you will be pleasantly surprised!

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

As I review my memories of the staff, the accommodations, the food and excursions I have a hard time thinking of "suggestions" I might make for improvement. The staff is friendly and genuinely interested in seeing that you have the best possible experience. The excursions were memorable and the kitchen was more than anxious to please. These folks set a very high standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear David,

Thanks a lot for sharing your feedback with us!

Your comments are very valuable to us and they surely help us in attaining the level of service we set out to provide our guests.

We would love to welcome you to Awasi Patagonia in a near future and when you are ready, do not hesitate to contact us at anytime.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I can't say enough good things about the Awasi and its wonderful staff. The hotel is beautifully designed, elegant and comfortable and in harmony with its stunning location. Everything is run perfectly with such attention to detail, they take care to think of everything before you've even realised you need it. Having your own personal guide to take you into the amazing Atacama is uniquely special. The food and wines are delicious and, again, prepared and selected with great care. Add to this the most friendly, personal service from every single member of staff and you have a very special hotel which I hope very much to go back to one day. Thank you, Awasi!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Ms. Martina,

Thank you for such a lovely comment!

We sure can’t say enough good things about you too. It was a pleasure having you at our hotel last month and cannot wait to show you what we have in store for you at Awasi Patagonia. If you think that this was paradise, you will be stunned at the Chilean Patagonia.

We’re very happy to see that you were able to enjoy the true delights of the Atacama Desert.

Feel free to reach out to us and get your next trip planned via your own Personal Reservations Assistant.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Awasi Atacama in December 2013. We thought everything was perfect and awesome. Service was more than great. All staff is caring and attention to detail is a trademark at Awasi. This trip is perfect for couples that want to spend time together without too many people around. We love that! Our guide really made a difference! His name is Pierre Muñoz and inspite of his youth, he knows a lot about geology, history, animals and he also knows how to motivate and to give us space at the same time. He took us to a Vulcano crater (Láscar) at a 5500m altitude. We couldn´t believe we made it! Thanks to Pierre, the greatest guide ever.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Christianne,

Thank you very much for your comment. Now, how “awesome” are you and your husband for doing that hike up to Lascar? We sure think it is a very wonderful experience to go through while being here.

Pierre sends his best and we must say, he is a great judge of character. He wouldn’t have pushed you and your husband to hike up the volcano if he did not think you were both able to do so. Doesn’t it feel great to get up there and see the far away areas of the vast Atacama Desert?

Please feel free to come back to Chile and visit our newest property – Awasi Patagonia, where you can really push yourselves even more. Maybe do the W Circuit? Go horse-back riding on our own private reserve…the list can go on and on.

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I had first read of Awasi in 2006 and was finally able to make my dream come true in December 2013.

We traveled as a family with 2 young children ages 7 and 3.

All of the excellent reviews are a 100% accurate.

Awasi was insanely beautiful located in an oasis in the Atacama desert. The people that work at Awasi are the soul of the place.

The service beats any service we have received anywhere in the world. It started with Elaine who was our introduction to Awasi and she patiently answered my questions for months before we booked the trip. She provided us impeccable service and absolutely honest opinions given my nervousness of traveling with young kids to a location of high altitude.

The people that made an incredibly challenging trip with kids seem effortless were #1. Our guide extraordinaire Carolina. I would highly recommend Carolina as a guide for any family traveling with kids as she is just so amazingly patient and gentle with the little ones.
Carolina is also incredibly knowledgeable and told us exactly which excursions we should do with kids and which ones we shouldn't.
She made each excursion memorable for us but the ones that will stay etched in our memories forever are the sundowners at Valle de le Muerte and the breakfast at Tatio.
#2. The entire dining room staff at Awasi including the chef. We couldn't fathom Michelin rated meals in the middle of the Atacama desert! The food and wines were superb! Thank you to everyone for accommodating our kids and the special meals for them.
#3. Paulina- our kids had so much fun with her that they'd rather stay with her than go on excursions with us. Thank you for taking such incredible care of them. We couldn't have done our most memorable excursions if it weren't for you!
Awasi & the Atacama desert are magical experiences and absolute highlights in our world travels.

After Awasi we went to Patagonia & stayed at Explora. Explora's location and it's views were jaw-dropping but we were so utterly spoilt with the Awasi love that it would be impossible for anywhere to match it. Explora was great but it lacked that joy of tailor-made & the Awasi soul & spirit.

For any families that have concerns traveling with kids: Don't be concerned if you can get your kids to drink enough water.

We'd love to be able to return to Awasi again some day and experience the magic all over again.

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the stay of a lifetime.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2travel2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank YOU from the bottom of our hearts for allowing us to be a part of your family’s experience at the Atacama. You were gracious enough to choose us and it is something that we are most grateful for.

Elaine sends her regard and of course remembers you very well. She is quite fond of the many conversations you both had on what to do at the Atacama with your family, as well as when you were all in Santiago too.

Paulina and Carolina send many hugs to your little ones – they really enjoyed being around such well-behaved children that love so much to learn new things. It was so much fun showing them through our “home” at the Atacama. We recall you mentioning that this trip would also be a celebration for your anniversary of 14 years. Hope the private dinner was all that you wished for…We can definitely confirm that taking care of the girls was lots of fun.

It was definitely a shame that you were not able to connect over to Awasi Patagonia, as we are more than sure you would all enjoy yourselves there too. We sure can’t wait to welcome you all again…give us a call when you’re ready to come back!

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I am afraid I have to join the crowd with kudos for Awasi Atacama. I had wanted t stay 3 nights but as it was full I was only ale to stay 2. The staff made up for it by allowing me a late check-out, lunch and beverages on my last day. My room was even made up for my last day as I had an early morning excursion, so I was able to come back and shower and pack at my convenience. The staff to guest ratio here seems ridiculous. The rooms are made up about 3 times a day and there are many many little extras, all included of course, that demonstrate they truly know how to make their guests comfortable in this extreme environment: every night your shoes can be left outside to be cleaned as treks etc get them very dusty; water is freely available everywhere and even though I was given my own bottle to refill, my guide still made sure to have extra water on our excursions; there is a steam machine in each room to humidify the air for your sleep comfort. Each night a little something is left in your room, one night it was a locally made herbal tonic, another, a cedar wood carving, with little notes about the local fauna or lore. In the morning, if it is cold, the restaurant sets up heat lamps for breakfast. During the day, when it gets very hot, the pool is extra cold. Some interesting things to try are cherimoya (custard apple) juice made fresh (by Dejan the excellent sommelier/ bartender), framboisa (raspberry juice), and ice-cream from local fruits and flavours. There is tea in the room that, similar to coca tea, helps with acclimation to the altitude.
The only bug I can say about the entire place is that my pillows were a little soft, so I doubled them up. That's it, everything else perfectly executed! Thanks Andres and team for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Round rooms are more conveniently situated in the same side of the street as the restaurant and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BornVivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment.

It was such a pleasure to host you during the two nights that you were able to stay with us. We are so glad to see that you found joy in the little things that we do for our guests.

Andres sends his regards as does the chef – He is extremely happy to see you liked his creations. More and more, he has been playing around with adding hints of the local elements to his rotation. It is very important for us to showcase the Atacamenian ingredients in our cuisine for all to get a true “taste” of this great region.

Hopefully, if the next time you are in Chile you have more time, maybe you can join us at our newest “nook” in the Chilean Patagonia – Awasi Patagonia.

Consider this comment added to the pile!

Warm Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
2.1 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#2 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
#3 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#4 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#8 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#5 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Tocopilla 4, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodge located at the Atacama Desert, Chile. Only property in the region to be an affiliate of Relais & Chateaux. With only 8 ample rooms, we provide tailor made experiences, assigning a private guide and a 4x4 vehicle to each cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awasi Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing