We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awasi is amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

just returned from a 5 night stay at awasi. what a fabulous experience! awasi is an unusual property - a luxury hotel in the small town of san pedro de Atacama in northern Chile. awasi has only 8 very comfortable and attractive rooms, and each room has its own guide/driver so your visit can be as private as you like. if you are looking for top of the line experience - the best accommodations, highest quality of service, and completely personalized touring and activities - then awasi is for you.

we traveled to awasi by flying from santiago to calama (the closest airport to san pedro) where we were met by our guide, Jorge. it is about a 75 to 90 minute drive from calama to san pedro. our first afternoon, we settled in and got accustomed to our surroundings; our real adventure began the next day.

the hotel is physically beautiful. the public space is open with lots of different areas, and decorated with local art and artifacts. we stayed in a superior round room. the bed and linens were very comfortable. the bathroom was enormous - we had two sinks, a bathtub, an indoor shower, an outdoor shower (too cold for the outdoor shower, though) and a private patio. there was plenty of space to unpack and hang clothes or put in drawers or on shelves. there is a turndown service every evening, and each night we received a little gift and story from the area.

the restaurant is remarkable. I know others have written that the food is not up to relais and chateaux standards, but we enjoyed everything we ate. my husband and I each have some dietary restrictions, about which we advised the hotel before we arrived. these limitations were deliciously and carefully observed during our stay. each night the chef offers a special menu, but if you don't want what he has offered, the restaurant staff is quick to tell you that you can order anything you want: beef, chicken, pasta, etc. we usually followed the chef's suggestions but sometimes tweaked it to meet our personal preferences. honestly, everything was delicious. and I cannot rave enough about the restaurant staff. our wish was their command. there was no request too large or small. breakfast is a buffet as well as hot dishes made to order. we had lunch in some days and out on the road one day. also breakfast one day at the geysers.

the outings were tailored to our interests. we started slowly because of the altitude, but we took hikes, went on a bike ride, visited the high salt lakes, and the geysers. one of the highlights was the stargazing. you have never seen a sky like the Atacama sky.

the trip was one of the best we have ever taken. and we enjoyed it from start to finish. what really set it apart, aside from the incredible physical beauty of the area, though was the service. everyone at awasi made us believe that our happiness, satisfaction, and comfort was their primary concern. it is truly the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wextraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a detailed and invigorating feedback of your stay with us.

Not only does it make us very happy to know that your stay with us was an enjoyable one but ensures us that our job was completed…we provided you with a truly tailor-made experience.
We must admit that a 5 night stay is ideal and as you may have noticed, allowed you to see as many sights as possible in the Atacama (as well as spend some R & R at our private oasis in the desert). By the way, we are very thankful and appreciative of the ideas you provided us on toasting marshmallows over the fire. It brings us back to those great childhood memories...We pay attention to our guests’ wishes and it brings us true joy to comply to them.

Think about the possibilities of doing something like this at our newest location, Awasi Patagonia?? Well, we will leave it to your imagination to wander around…

We truly want to thank you for the praises but we owe it all to you…our guests. For allowing us to bring your wishes to life at such an amazing location.

Warmest Regards,

Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 555 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were in San Pedro for less than 48 hours due to travel for work in Santiago. We were greeted at the airport by Diego, our guide, and a driver, and immediately made to feel welcome. Discussion during the desert passage was quite engaging, as were the vistas (while we are fluent in Spanish, Diego's English is excellent). We were treated extremely well at the hotel on arrival and all through our short stay. The staff are friendly while being respectful, and attentive to guests' needs; that is, concientious and caring. Food was excellent, and there is considerable use of local ingredients. The hotel is respectful of the environment, too, a bit of a trick when giving such high quality service; the tone is also respectful of Atacamanian history and people. Our tours with Diego and our driver were fabulous. We intend to return and without a doubt will stay here again. Mil gracias a los duenos y al staff del hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Canexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the lovely comment.

It is so good to know that you and your husband enjoyed your short time with us. Diego, of course, sends his best and says that he would love to show you more of the Atacama Desert, upon your return. As you intend to return, we sure intend on welcoming you again! Maybe, next time you can combine your trip to the Awasi Atacama as well as Awasi Patagonia? Our newest locating is already booking up for the end of this year, so make sure you reserve your spot!

¡Mil gracias a ustedes por darnos esta gran oportunidad de poder compartir este maravilloso lugar!

Saludos,

Equipo Awasi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful and cozy rooms like casitas, every detail was taken care of, a local gift I found in my room every night. Staff always with a smiley face and making you feel at home, service was impecable. Definitely the best food experience in Atacama, using local product in a feast of Altiplano flavors pairing with amazing South American wines. Private excursions with knowledgeable guides who would even play my favorite music on their ipads along the way to add a new "soundtrack" to my traveling, and flexibility to stop in every breathtaking spot to get the best picture or just admire mother nature's piece of art in earth. Simply, heaven!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithmom80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the great comments!

We are just so glad that you enjoyed your time with us as much as we enjoyed hosting you at our oasis in the desert. We aim to ensure that all of our guests feel at home and it seems that we succeeded with you.

From what we have read (and also heard from your guide), you took some great shots at the desert…maybe, you can share with the rest of us? It is always so nice to see the angles that each individual captures of this massive desert.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at this terrific property with our 19 year old twins and it was a wonderful family vacation. Of course the Aticama is stunning - spectacular landscape edged by the snowcapped Andes which made for terrific excursions: Moon Valley, hiking the the cactus canyon, biking to the salt lakes, the geysers/natural hot springs and sand boarding were all highlights and there is no better way to do it than with Awasi. Our guides Mabel and Pierre were both knowledgeable and helpful - finding the perfect private spot to maximize the experience of each place. Returning to the hotel each day was a true oasis - the rooms are beautiful with a stylish local feel, great amenities, excellent food and most importantly the staff all continue with thoughtful personal touches.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWiselyJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Great to hear such a wonderful comment! Being described as a “terrific property” sure does feel amazing, we must say.

As terrific as you feel we are, we sure think that it is all because of the terrific guests that we are able to host. We have definitely lucked out with great folks that come by our oasis and make our job so much easier. It truly is like welcoming home old friends from the past and it really did show when we had you and your family at our place. Mabel and Pierre send their best to you and your family.

We will be here awaiting for your return with a tall glass of our signature Rica Rica Lemonade to welcome you all.

Best Regards,

The Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to Awasi with our two teenage sons to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Awasi and they exceeded our already high expectations. We were particularly grateful for their ability to offer a more "exciting" trip for our teenage sons whilst my wife and I could have less demanding excursions. Whilst at the same time it still felt like a family holiday.

In respect of the accommodation we loved the traditional design of the Hotel and the overall quality of the accommodation was excellent. The common areas of the hotel were great as well, it was peaceful allowing you to relax after a the day's excursion and we loved the open fires in the evening.

The hotel was able to offer tailored excursions for the different needs of the family and it was great having our own guide and driver and not having to adapt to somebody else's rhythm. We particularly enjoyed the star gazing and the trip to the Geysers, where after visiting the Geysers we took a walk on our own in a nearby valley and it felt like we had stepped into a discovery channel wildlife documentary. The excursions the hotel offered gave us the opportunity to enjoy both the landscapes of the Atacama and the flora and fauna whilst at the same time allowing us to have some fun with the horse riding, cycling and for the kids the sand boarding.

The restaurant focused on the local cuisine and all our meals were excellent we were very impressed with the service level, friendliness and attention to detail of the staff even especially adding bacon to one of the dishes for my sons because they had noted that this was one of their favourites. and making sure they had a hot chocolate available for them when we arrived back from an excursion.

On the day of our wedding anniversary the hotel arranged a picnic for us at one of the salt lakes which was something special, sitting next to a beautiful lake with nobody else around.

Overall I couldn't recommend this hotel and the overall Awasi experience enough. It is expensive but you get a driver and guide to yourself and the service levels, attention to detail and concern for guest welfare throughout the hotel is second to none.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie_Cosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Charlie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to allow us into your own experience with us.

First and foremost, again, we congratulate you and your wife on your 20th Wedding Anniversary and thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your celebration. We sure hope that you enjoyed the picnic we planned out for you so you may enjoy each other’s company as well as the stunning views offered.

We are definitely loving the pictures you took while with us and if you have more, please feel free to share them. It is always such a fun time to see those special moments you had with us.

Please send our best to your kids and now that we are opening up Awasi Patagonia (Nov. 2013), maybe you can all come down and enjoy more of what we have to offer.

Warmest Regards,

Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I loved my stay at Awasi. From the moment I arrived at Calama, my guide Harold met me and looked after me from that point on. My excursions were tailored to my exact preferences and he did a great job at finding deserted spots, or arriving before the other tour buses did. That is what sets Awasi apart - you have your own private guide throughout, and are driven in a 4-wheel drive pick up truck giving you access to parts that other vehicles wouldn´t be able to get to. The Atacama desert is just incredible and definitely has the ¨wow¨factor in terms of scenery and overall experience.
The hotel itself is lovely - small and intimate, yet plenty of outdoor areas to relax in. There is a very high staff-guest ratio so service is very personal. The rooms are also incredible spacious - the rectangular rooms are more like a small house!
Definitely a place to go if you fancy spoiling yourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for sharing your time with us here.

First lines: “I loved my stay at Awasi”…it cannot make us any happier, can it? Well, it sure is to begin reading a comment and seeing that phrase (pat on our backs for a good job!).

All in all it truly was a pleasure for us and your guide Harold to show you the little nooks and crannies of the desert that others are not able to experience. Exactly as you said, being able to take our guests to these special parts of the desert, is what sets us apart and we sure are glad you were able to notice that.

The Atacama sure does have its “Wow Factor” which is great to be able to see as much of it as possible. We would love to show you even more on the area and would gladly show you around – as you may have seen, this place is immense.

Warm Regards,

The Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had an amazing experience at Awasi. Actually "amazing" falls kind of short when it come to describing best service, best food and beverages, best accomodations and wonderful people that take care of everything for you : meals, travels, expeditions, really everything.
Definitely a place to go and to return again and again.
Special thanks to Vicky, the manager, that makes everything simple and beautiful.
Regards!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Diego,

Thank you for the comment and the beautiful choice of words to describe us.

We deeply appreciate you for providing us with high praises! It is always very comforting to see how happy our guests have been.

As you have noticed, the private excursions that we include as part of our regular services, allow our guests to enjoy the Atacama Desert in their own way.
We attempt to provide the highest of service standards to all of our guests, by enticing everyone with the finest local dishes with an international twist. As well as having the most comfort while out on an exciting Atacamenian adventure, and then returning to relax at our oasis.

From all of us at Awasi, thank you for choosing us in the Atacama and sure hope to present you with a new and “Unforgettable Awasi” experience soon in Patagonia!

Warmest Regards,

The Awasi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.8 mi away
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
#3 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
811 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#4 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
775 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
868 reviews
0.8 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Tocopilla 4, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: $1,398 - $2,456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodge located in the Atacama Desert, Chile. Only property in the region to be an affiliate of Relais & Chateaux. With only 10 ample rooms, we provide tailor-made experiences, assigning a private guide and a 4x4 vehicle to each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awasi Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing