We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atacama and beyond...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Atacama and beyond...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a delayed review as my family and I traveled to Atacama in May of 2012. It was a delightful experience. We were sad to end our journey to Chile, but even sadder to bid goodbye to Awasi. It was a superb stay. Without a doubt, Awasi earns its stripes as a Relais and Chateaux property and does quite well when compared to its counterparts in other continents. We were impressed by Awasi’s dedication to Atacamian architecture, Altiplano culinary traditions mixed with modern touches, and a relaxed, but attentive hospitality. We had high culinary expectations based on prior reviews, but Awasi met those withstanding the benchmark set by our prior dining experience at Lapostolle in Colchagua valley. Awasi handled our families’ varied dietary preferences with aplomb. Our family opted for the two round rooms enclosed within the same courtyard offering us common outdoor space and privacy. Our round suite was large and well appointed with Atacamian touches; I would prefer if possible, a bit more light in the room at night. The turndown service is unique and I looked forward to the bedtime Atacamian story left on our pillow nightly. Overall, the staff was warm, welcoming, and quite accommodating.

Our daily excursions were private, tailored to our interests and led by very knowledgeable guides Jorge Cornate Fernandez and Gonzalo Dominguez. One of the highlights was the stargazing/astronomy lesson/telescope viewing with Jorge. This close up view of the planets and stars was supplemented with cheese and wine. It was one of my most memorable moments on this trip to Chile. Our excursions allowed for panoramic and unparalleled views of the volcanoes, salt flats, lagoons, wildlife; but the drive to the altiplanic lakes (over 4000 meters in altitude) was decidedly the highlight of our excursions. After undertaking similar trips elsewhere in the world, we were convinced that these two men are very knowledgeable and represent Awasi very well. Do allow yourself a day or two to acclimate to the altitude before undertaking the more strenuous excursions. It was cold at night at the end of may and pleasant during the daytime in the lower altitudes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Thomas,

Thank you very much for your comments.

Love to see how detailed you have been in regards to your experience with us, although your stay was from May 2012. Truly shows us that your stay with us was a memorable one and really makes us happy. Such a rave review from a well-travelled guest such as yourself, is an honor. You have really been able to see our own essence that sets us apart from other properties and also what makes us unique. Qualifying us a true Relais and Chateaux member.

I could read your journal over and over and it resonates with the way that we feel too. It is wonderful to see how well you have grasped our “home” and we just simply want to welcome you back as it was difficult to say goodbye to you. We hope to also show you around our second “home”, as we are now expanding and opening Awasi Patagonia.

Awaiting your return,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    21
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
321
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 days at the Awasi and loved every minute! From check-in to check-out we experienced a five star resort at its finest! Customized excursions, fining dining and extra special attention was the order of the day! We are so glad that we chose the #1 ranked resort on Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makarska1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are very glad to see that you and your family were able to enjoy your time with us and it was really a pleasure to show you around our town.

Seems like you really got a chance to venture off and see the great sights around the Atacama. This is definitely a truly mystifying place that deserves the time to explore it and take in the magical sights.

We loved the shots you got while on excursion…you seemed to have caught each moment at the right time.

Let us welcome you to your home away from home soon.
.
Warmest Regards,

The Awasi Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Coming to the Awasi with two children and our two mothers, we had very high expectations and the hotel absolutely met them! The hotel is absolutely beautiful and no detail is left unattended. The food is five star and the service fantastic. Jorge, our guide, was amazing with our two kids keeping them active and surprised all the time. Pierre, our mothers' guide, was also fantastic. We stayed for 5 nights which was perfect! I highly recommend the hotel for all ages.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which was very large and perfect for our family of four. While being on the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is so good to see that the entire family had a great time. We understand how difficult it can be to try and coordinate/manage such a trip with all the members of the family involved but we sure hope that we were able to make it easier for you.

The entire staff sends their best and we are all missing the little ones. They seemed to have really enjoyed all the new cool things that Jorge showed them while out on the field. We can’t wait to welcome you all again and be able to show you much more around our home. Maybe, you can pair it up with a trip to Awasi Patagonia, and one of the guides will show you all the greatness of the Chilean Patagonia.

We send our warmest regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Awasi well deserves all of the accolades it has been receiving. Having just returned from vacation there, we were exceptionally pleased with the very personalized service that was offered by the entire staff. My husband's interest is photography and our guide, Rosa, did everything in her power to insure that he photographed this magnificent landscape at the best time of day. The food is fresh, varied, delicious and beautifully prepared. If you are looking for a truly luxurious experience that is personally geared to your desires and level of activity there is no other place to go. Thank you again to all the staff. Marcia and Marc Kirschner

Room Tip: We stayed in room #3, a superior round suite, and I would highly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Mrs. Kirschner,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your schedule to provide us with your useful comments.

We are so glad to hear that everything went well during your trip with us and it was a true pleasure showing you around our “piece of heaven”. Rosa sends her best as the rest of the team but we also wanted to invite you to come back soon. She really enjoys photography as your husband and given the great natural lighting available, it sure is a great spot for wonderful shots. By the way, we would love to see what he captured – tell him not to be shy and share them with us…well, with all of us for that matter.

Our warmest regards from sunny Atacama!

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Awasi in February 2013 during an extended period of unprecedented rain. There were several road closures and many of the popular excursions were difficult to get to. Having a personal guide and driver made all the difference and was worth every penny. Despite the rain we had enjoyable, varied, amazing excursions. I had high expectations prior to my stay at Awasi. The amazing service and professionalism of the staff, not to mention the rooms, patio, dining, picnics, all exceed my expectations. The service was extremely attentive without being overly formal or cloying. The entire staff made us feel at home. The food, whether at Awasi or during a picnic, was always delicious. I still miss the interesting soups and the mojitas. Many thanks to the entire Awasi staff, especially our guide Carmen, our driver Edwin, and fabulous managers Macha and Virginia. I can't wait to return to Awasi. Next time we will bring our kids!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sally,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is so good to know that your time with us was a memorable one, especially being able to experience such odd rains in the desert. It sure is one for the books, so I hope that you were able to capture those days with some pictures.

The entire staff sends their best and we are all awaiting your return with your kids. The next time you come around we will have even more excursions to plan out with you all. With or without rain we always work our hardest to show you the ins and outs of this great place. Even under unprecedented situations, it is an enjoyable home.

We have the mojitos ready for you (and of course, some lemonade for the kids!), so as soon as you have some dates picked out, just let us know so we can welcome you all back.

Warmest Regards,

Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a terrific time at Awasi. The staff was amazing, just the right amount of accommodating without being overbearing or making us uncomfortable in any way. The accommodations were gorgeous, as is the entire resort. The restaurant was wonderful, with every meal delicious and satisfying, and my wife's birthday surprise dinner was an excellent touch. For the excursions, Marisol pushed us to do as much as possible, but didn't object when we wanted to take a day off to rest. We loved everything about Awasi!

Room Tip: There are only a handful of rooms - I'm quite sure none of them are bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for your quick feedback.

Glad that our birthday planning for your wife was well-received. We really wanted to surprise you both and we sure are pleased that it worked in our favor. Maybe, next time we celebrate your birthday! I know we do not have the best singing voices but we try to hit those notes as best as possible.

By the way, we loved the great shots you got of the property…you seemed to have caught each moment at the right time.

Let us welcome you to your home away from home soon.
.
Warmest Regards,

The Awasi Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived at Awasi after 10days on the road in Northern Argentina and were ready for some luxury and we certainly got that at Awasi. We had a very warm welcome and were shown to a room on the other side of the street from the main part of the hotel. Our room was enormous with a lovely patio area for relaxing.

We undertook an excursion everyday with our guide who was well matched to us and with whom we got on very well. He had our well being in mind at all times and showed us things we never would have found for ourselves. We had chosen Awasi because we would have personal and personalised expeditions rather than being ferried around with others and this proved to have been a good decision.

The food and wine was excellent and we had some amazing picnics in extraordinary locations. The whole set up is soothing and luxurious as it should be as it is very expensive indeed. However there is one thing that grated and that was the charge for laundry. If a hotel is all inclusive and charging this sort of price then surely they can do your laundry and not charge ridiculous prices to launder a shirt?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Manager at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your feedback.


Great that we were able to welcome you after such a long journey on the road and show you to your home away from home.


We definitely enjoyed showing you around our “backyard” and present to you the great sights of the Atacama. Being such a magical location, it is highly important to maximize on the time you are with us. The picnics are a great delight too, and we were honored to be your hosts.


We truly appreciate all of the comments received as it helps us improve our service. We would like to clarify our laundry service charge: The charge of USD 4.90 to launder a shirt is fairly similar to what is charged throughout many properties throughout the World. The only exception is that since we are in the desert our laundry prices only cover the high costs involved in the treating of our own water. Again, thank you very much for bringing this subject to our attention as it is a great opportunity for us to explain the reason behind the costs.


We truly hope to be able to welcome you back for a few more days and maybe you can pair it up to our new reserve at the Chilean Patagonia! We are very excited about this new project and hope to be able to welcome our doors to you again.


Warmest Regards,


Awasi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
2.1 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#2 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
#3 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#5 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#4 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#7 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#6 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Tocopilla 4, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodge located at the Atacama Desert, Chile. Only property in the region to be an affiliate of Relais & Chateaux. With only 8 ample rooms, we provide tailor made experiences, assigning a private guide and a 4x4 vehicle to each cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awasi Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing