We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing atacama/amazing awasi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing atacama/amazing awasi”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We made the best choice to stay at Awasi. We booked a rectangular room (number 7 and only 8 in complex) and it was large and very comfortable. Besides the bedroom, there was an entrance hall, dressing room, gorgeouse bathroom (very important after excursions in desert), and a lovely private outside patio area. We were on the reception side of Awasi and were at no disadvantage whatsoever.(A road runs between this side of Awasi and the other side which also has accommodation, plus the pool and restaurant).Awasi is a beautiful, peaceful and very relaxing place to stay. All the staff go out of their way to make everything perfect for their guests - nothing is too much trouble.Thank you Virginia for your support and help when our accommodation at Torres del Paine was cancelled due to forest fire. Thank you Eduardo and the wonderful chef, mealtime was a joy.
The outstanding feature of Awasi is that you have your own guide for your time spent there - you are not in a group. So our biggest thank you is to Cristobal, our amazing guide.Cristobal was simply the best and if you are lucky enough to have him as your guide, your stay at Awasi will be the experience of a lifetime. Don't hesitate to book at Awasi - it surpassed our expectations, which were high.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 427chris_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Gerente at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate that we were able to surpass your expectations.
We are all very glad that you did choose Awasi for your journey through the wondrous Atacama Desert.
We are very glad to see you have recommended us as a great place for “…the experience of a lifetime”.
Our team works very hard to ensure that each and every one of our guests have a memorable, positive experience and that it is more than a holyday but also a "lifetime experience".

I am sorry that you had to change your trip to Torres del Paine but it is a perfect excuse to come back to Chile and hopefully by the time you plan to return you can stay at our future Awasi in Torres del Paine!

Eduardo, Juan Pablo (our chef) and Cristóbal are also very pleased with your comments and send their regards

Best from all the staff, We look forward to seeing you again


Virginia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    22
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
81
333
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

What an extraordinary privilege to see rain in the Atacama Desert from the comfort of Awasi. Whatever the conditions I am sure they make sure you squeeze every drop out of your stay. It appears effortless but i can imagine how much work must go into making a hotel this good, incredibly impressive in so many ways. The staff are just so friendly, so charming, the smiles and hospitality so authentic. Always attentive but never overwhelming this place feels in balance and just makes you feel GOOD! From the beautifully appointed rooms, warm, rounded adobe walls, high ceilings, private spaces with both inside & outside showers for example, to the delicious, innovative food, ceviche master classes, pisco sours and outstanding Chilean wines. Truly tailor made excursions with your own 4 x 4 Jeep (brand new!) and guide. A guide who becomes a friend, who knows when to speak and when its not needed. Hugely knowledgeable and great company.

Well done Awasi and thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Director General at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest:
We are very happy that you were able to enjoy the Atacama Desert and all the personalized Awasi services, but specially our friendly and attentive staff.
I am also glad that you have witnessed the uniqueness of the rain in the desert.
As you know, this is a small “miracle” that only happens a few times a year during our summer, although the heavy rains you were able to see this year, occur every other decade!
Thank you so much for sharing your amazing pictures of the rain in the desert with us.

Warmest regards,
Matías de Cristóbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Awasi was, is amazing!!! My husband and I stayed there for a portion of our honeymoon, and it was fabulous! The food, wine, service, attention to detail, our sweet guide, Eduardo-- everything about it was absolutely perfect. The rooms were excellent, --lounge, bar, pool, restaurant area-- every piece of the lodge was a jewel. Awasi was the perfect mix of adventure and relaxation. And have I mentioned the food? 3-4 course meals were top-notch. We celebrated my husband's birthday one of the nights, and the staff put together a special table for us, near the fire, cooked a fabulous cake and sang cumpleanos feliz! It was a very special way to spend his birthday. The only regret was we booked a 10-mile hike the next morning. Seriously, every adventure was also phenomenal. Our guide took very good care of us. I could go on and on. We highly recommend Awasi. Just don't forget sunscreen, hats or hiking boots.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Director General at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Guest:

First and foremost, we would like to personally thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are all very happy to have contributed to your honeymoon memories and also your husband`s birthday celebration. Given our unique concept, we are able to stand out from the rest by providing these personalized services.

Our Chef, Juan Pablo Mardones personally sends his regards and is extremely delighted that you enjoyed his dishes. We are very content to see you mention that “..every piece of the lodge was a jewel.” Your comments truly validate that our efforts and hard work is paying off.

We continue our commitment in providing you and all our guests with the highest standards of service in the industry.

We look forward to welcoming you and yours in a near future back to San Pedro de Atacama or one of our future developments.

Warmest regards,

Matías de Cristóbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We planned to stay at another hotel in San Pedro, but booked Awasi based on the recommendation of our travel agent. The hotel and our fantastic guide, Mabel, made this an experience that was not to be believed. The food.... the people.... the location.. We had one of the smaller rooms and it was wonderful!

Mabel picked us up at the airport and spent the next 3 days taking us to the most fabulous and surreal places in nearby Atacama - the Salt Flats, Moon Valley, Hot Springs. All spots on the Atacama must do list, but the special, secluded spots known to the Awasi guides are amazing.

Each night we sampled local cuisine (and Pisco Sours) prepared with such care. The food was amazing and beautiful. After each day of hiking, we looked forward to dinner back at the hotel. An incredible picnic was prepared for our full day tour.

There are so many places to see that we rarely think we'd want to go somewhere twice. Both of us said that Awasi was the first. Before we got back to the airport, we were planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the adobe rooms away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnapolisSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Director General at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

We are so happy you have enjoyed your stay and decided to take you travel agent´s
advise!
I am also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our guide´s knowledge in the "off the beaten path" trails and spots.
This is the main difference at Awasi. Having a private guide and 4x4 allows our guests to "experience" the dessert and finding "hidden treasures" rather than just visiting the main tourist attractions.
And every time you return to the Atacama Desert there are many more things to see or do so we can´t wait to help you plan your next stay with us!

We look forward to seeing you again

Matías de Cristóbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Having visited Awasi, I am forever tainted. No hotel will ever live up to the fabulous experience of staying at this gem in the desert. From the impeccable service to the delicious food, perfectly appointed rooms, stylish decor and FANTASTIC company, everything about our stay was divine. Awasi is truly a world-class property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YYZ_traveller_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Director General at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very glad that you had such a wonderful stay at our little "Gem in the desert".
We allways try to exceed our guests' expectations and to hear your great comments encourages us to keep striving for excellence.

Warmest regards,


Matías de Cristóbal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I had initially leaned toward going to the Alto Atacama in San Pedro. However, we decided to go to Awasi instead. Two important distinctions for us included proximity from town and the overall numbers of guests. Awasi is located in San Pedro de Atacama, so it was an easy five minute walk to Caracoles street (the main street in town for tourists). Alto Atacama is a fifteen minute drive from town that includes crossing a river bed. Our guide informed us that if the river is high, it is more difficult to cross and includes additional charges for Alto Atacama guests to reach town.

Awasi has only 8 rooms available, so it is a more intimate setting - no large groups of loud tourists to contend with, especially during meal times. We also had the pool to ourselves. After group accommodations and travel at the Eco Camp in Patagonia, it was a nice change to go on excursions with just our guide. We could change plans as we pleased. Our guide, Patricio, was excellent, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to travel with. He would bring wine and cheese to conclude an excursion on site as the sun set. It was decadent.

We could not conclude our review of Awasi without mentioning Eduardo. He, and because of him we imagine, all of the staff were exceptionally attentive. Within five minutes of settling near one of the fireplaces or inside a dining area, waitstaff if not Eduardo himself would approach to ask if we wanted anything. The quality of food was exceptional, and the best that we had throughout our two week trip in Chile.

The overall atmosphere at Awasi was very relaxing and welcoming. We could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM-MDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Gerente at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your comments, and for choosing Awasi in the end!
Eduardo is specially grateful for your comments since he always works very hard in
keeping the high standard of service, together with the rest of the restaurant
staff.
The most important part of our service, both in excursions and in the hotel is always taking the time to really get to know our guests and learn about their likes and dislikes so that we can (as you so nicely put it) "exceed expectations"
Knowing we have made your trip so memorable, definitely reinforces our passion for delivering "memorable experiences", especially in such an occasion as a honeymoon.
Hope to see you back again in one of our future destinations, and perhaps on one of your future anniversaries...

Best wishes

Virginia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in august, 2011. I have taken so long to write this, and for that I am sorry. Awasi was by far the finest vacation I have ever had.
This was not just a hotel, it was an experience. Our every need was taken care of, the answer was always "Of course"

Room 3 was huge, amazing and so romantic. The food was the best we had eaten in Chile.

I think the greatest asset Awasi has though, is their guide Jorge.
Jorge, you were amazing, you are a national treasure. I had never heard of the Atacama Desert a year ago, and now it is my favorite place on earth. Jorge made every minute count, we were exhausted but so pleased. The stargazing with champange was a highlight, as was riding with Bernardo through the Valley of the Dead on horseback. Jorge has secerts places in the desert that he shared with us...The cave was surreal..Summiting Toco Hill at 18K feet was a true feat..Thank You Jorge, we will always hold a place in our hearts for you, and your desert.

The staff, all of you, went above and beyond in taking care of us. We were with friends, and their 2 young children, and they even had amazing adventures for the kids.

I was truely impressed, and am beyond excited to visit your hotel in Patagonia when it has been completed. Thank You to all of you at Awasi

Room Tip: Room 3 was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AwasiAtacama, Gerente at Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your comments and don´t worry about the delay since it is never too late to read nice things. I am so glad you enjoyed Jorge´s company as well so I have passed to him this comment (he says thank you so much). It is our belief that guides should become your travel companions and should share their love of this land with our guests.
By reading your comment I believe we have accomplished our purpose, so again, thank you. Jorge has asked me to say that he will never forget how moving it was, (even for him who has done it many times), when you reached Toco´s peak.
So we hope to see you back again in Patagonia!
Believe me we are beyond excited as well to be opening another Awasi in such a great location, so hopefully we will meet again soon to help you conquer new Hills!

Best wishes

Virginia Contreras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.8 mi away
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
#3 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
737 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#4 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Tocopilla 4, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#2 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodge located in the Atacama Desert, Chile. Only property in the region to be an affiliate of Relais & Chateaux. With only 10 ample rooms, we provide tailor-made experiences, assigning a private guide and a 4x4 vehicle to each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awasi Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi San Pedro De Atacama
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing