We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good size hotel”
Review of Hotel La Aldea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Aldea
A TripAdvisor Member
“good size hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

rooms clean. Staff mostly.non speaking english . breakfast simple. swimming pool ok. a little bit far from the city center for handicapped. no view on the motions. no possibility to get diner.
I recommend it because it is unsophisticated. wifi weak but working.
Yves

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    12
    22
    25
See reviews for
26
38
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Le Tignet, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

In a month's trip round South America this was by far the worst place we stayed at. Our room was very poor with very uncomfortable beds. Dogs barking much of the night made sleeping even more difficult. The swimming pool was half full with dirty water and effectively unuseable. No restaurant on the premises (though their web site refer to 'gastronomy'). They do provide breakfast but it's poor quality with little packs of nescafe. It's too far out of town to walk easily, specially after dark on poor, pot hole filled, dirt roads with virtually no street lighting.
Welcome distinctly unfriendly. No one seems to speak anything but Spanish. And all this comes at a huge price. We had booked for five nights but fled after one and that was one too many. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Pedro de Atacama hotels

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We went to San Pedro on a lark and so we had to scramble a bit to find a hotel for Easter weekend. La Aldea had a cabana available and that was more than we needed, but after a long flight and bus trip, we just said yes. Overall, I'd say it is too pricey for what it is: the beds are okay, the bedding sub-par in terms of luxury (seemingly worn comforters, old chair cushions), the hot water was spotty (though that was easily remedied when brought to the attention of the staff-- when the power goes out the hot water fuse is tripped and no hot water). The pool was nice, but in the winter was not necessary. They did provide free bikes which was great. The breakfast was great. And the staff was awesome. We had limited English and they were very helpful with changes to travel plans, etc. We liked that it was outside of town, not in the thick of things, and fortunately we had their bikes so we could get around easily without paying for cabs. I wanted to like this place more than I did. Overall, if we had paid $150 per night, not $250 per night, I'd have a better take on the place. My husband just said: "while I didn't love it, I was very grateful to them for their service."

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boojums70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2011

I stayed with a friend for nights in november 2010, the rooms were clean, hot shower was always working weel in spite all water problems in San pedro, Staff was friendly and helpful, the swimming pool just great...a luxe in the middle of the desert. not worthy to stay in the center when there is a chance to sa#tay out where is so paceful

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reisederwelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

stayed for 5 days,perfect place to take a rest, out of the noisy center, taxi charges usd3 to go to center, helpful staff and nice swimingpool where to enjoy sunny days in the desert. Rooms clean and wi fi available also in rooms

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller090_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I was very disappointed with this hotel. It was a good 15/20 minutes from the main street, along dark roads which felt a bit unsafe at night. There were hardly any guests, and my room was dark and dusty, with rickety beds and a dirty bathroom which had no towels on arrival. The pool faced the driveway and car park, so it didn't feel at all secluded which discouraged me from sunbathing. The internet was broken so I had to resort to using the expensive internet cafes in town. The staff had little understanding of English and were generally not helpful, and I was not made to feel welcome when I arrived. I thought that this hotel was very overpriced and wish I had stayed at Terrantai and Kimal which are actually central.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arpy-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
292 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

No hot water in bathroom. very dirty. Restaurant dosn't work all time. lack of eletricity. noisy at night. no kind of service. High price for no service. No pool.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anaminas2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.2 mi away
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
#13 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Cochera
Hotel La Cochera
#24 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Geiser del Tatio
Hotel Geiser del Tatio
#20 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Don Raul Hotel
Don Raul Hotel
#19 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Aldea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Aldea

Property: Hotel La Aldea
Address: Ckilapana #69 B Solcor, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Aldea 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel La Aldea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aldea Hotel
Hotel La Aldea Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing