We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altiplanico Atacama
Certificate of Excellence
Akrotiri, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

What can I say? From the moment we arrived to our last minutes there; the staff were always very friendly and helpful. More than happy to help make our stay better. I had my birthday while staying there and they were happy to help my husband organise a special meal and bubbly.

On our last day we had an early start, for an excursion and we would have had to have checked out the night before; not necessary as they extended our booking until 14:00 which meant we could shower and relax before our flight.

It is a short walk away from the 'town' itself, the roadis unlit, but with a torch it's not an issue.

We cannot find any negatives about this hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    271
    68
    12
    3
See reviews for
111
396
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My partner & I stayed at Hotel Altiplanico for 5 days midweek in late May 2014. The hotel was pretty quiet while we were there, but it was out of season and during midweek. We had a superior room, (205) that has a separate bathroom & an outdoor shower. The room was very stylish and spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There was a sheltered outside area which was nice to sit in when sunny. The quality of the furnishing in the room was excellent and the gas heater in the room was invaluable on those cold desert nights. The servicing of the room was regular and undertaken quickly and to a great standard. All the staff, especially the girls on the reception, were friendly & kind, and were extremely helpful when asked. The Hotel grounds were exceptional, very well maintained and nice to sit in on occasion. The pool & spa looked nice, but were far too cold to use at this time of year. The Hotel is located about 900m from the centre of town, and the walk was very safe and not too tiring, but a torch is essential at night. Overall, we thought that the Hotel was just what we were looking for and was perfect for a quiet stay. Recomened

Room Tip: Our room was towards the back of the complex and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiglord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I were really impressed with this hotel, located about a 10-minute walk from central San Pedro de Atacama. The walk, which is safe, ultimately leads to an understated entryway that's hard to miss, so keep that in mind.

We thought the grounds were beautifully maintained and the rooms were charming. The bed was comfortable and the room was kept nice and cool by what seemed to be (but who knows, could have been a facade) adobe construction. We appreciated the coziness of the hotel, which had plenty of free space but didn't feel as stuffy as we'd expect somewhere of this quality to. We thought the staff clearly cared about their guests and creating high-quality experiences.

We had dinner in, which we should have known would be expensive (even by San Pedro standards). If you don't mind walking into town, it's best to go there as you'll end up overpaying at the hotel. The food was good, but not enough to justify the prices. Everything else was great, from the breakfasts they prepared for us especially for our early excursions to the cleanliness of the room.

We wished the lights were better in the room; at night, even with all lights on, it was pretty dim in there. It could just have been our room, though, and wouldn't keep us from wholeheartedly recommending the Altiplanico.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBATrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 days in May, 2014. We loved it. The staff is great, very friendly, english speaking, very accomodating. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite, which was great. The grounds are beautiful, and look like it might be a happening place in the high season. Lots of space by the pool and fire pit area to sit and relax. The food was really good as well. It's a little bit of a walk to the downtown area (7 - 10 minutes) down a dark path. I think the hotel provides flash lights for the walk. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 909elainec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here for three nights, and really enjoyed the ambiance of an adobe hotel.

The thing that most impressed my wife and I however was the friendliness and the willingness of staff to go out of thier way to help.

From helping us do an on line check in (in Spanish), arranging an early breakfast when we had to leave early to take to a tour, to calling LAN to confirm our seats, to arranging a taxi at a very good rate to go to the Tebinquinche lagoon, to chasing up the bus company when they were a little late to pick us up for the transfer to Calama.

The staff in th restaurant were equally helpful and friendly.

Loved the outdoor shower though didn't use it for that purpose it was too cold late April; but I used that area for some astroimaging with a camera tracking mount.

Little outdoor area to sit around admire the view of the volcano and sink a beer or two after a hot day in the desert.

It's a little far from town, and you really need a torch-flashlight-after dark, but felt quite safe. A 10 , maybe 15 minute walk


Tours and the bus to Calama will pick you up and drop you at the hotel.

The area is really dark so it's possible to get some decent nightscapes with a digital SLR camera.
Wifi works well, plenty of hot water, rooms clean, housekeeping of a high standard.

Don't know if I ever will go back to SDP, but if I ever did I'd certainly stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seeker372011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balneario Camboriu, SC
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

There are better hotels in San Pedro, the service could be a little bit better, but for the cost, this one is a reasonable one in San Pedro. The rooms are cozy and have special decorations from local arts. there is a swimming pool that looks awesome, but it's so cold you can hardly get inside ( maybe during summer time). To get to downtown of San Pedro you must take a short walk of about 10 minutes, sometimes it gets anoying since the days are hot and the sun is on your head, and the nights are chilly. One thing thar bottered me while there, I stayed for 5 nights, and asked if it would be possible to have a "semi-late" check out - regular check out is at noon, and I asked to leave the room by 2 pm, even offered to pay extra. They just said it wasn't possible and that the rroms where not available. I had to pack one day early, they took the baggages out of my rooms and when I got back from a tour at 1:30 pm had to take a shower in somewhat a "comunitty"shower they offer for guests. And I noticed the rooms, even the one I was staying were empty. I felt like there was a lack of interest in pleasing , in trying better. It s pitty, but I don t recommend it, wont stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALEKLABU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed for three nights, to hike and tour the great desert area. Would have gone there just to go on a start-gazing tour, but I ended up doing two other tours as well. The hotel had a rustic feel, very quiet and very quaint, but with all the amenities a traveler needs. Short 8-minute walk to the center of the village, I was there three nights and never took a taxi, it was more fun to walk everywhere.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow all by itself, I think they cost about the same and you are completely by yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4boobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Casa de Don Tomas
La Casa de Don Tomas
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
736 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altiplanico Atacama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altiplanico Atacama

Property: Altiplanico Atacama
Address: Domingo Atienza 282, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altiplanico Atacama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a gentle stretch of land in the outskirts of San Pedro, surrounded by the quiet presence of the Andes, Altiplanico San Pedro faces the impressive Licancabur Volcano, with a unique design inspired in the style of an Altiplano village. Enjoy the famous Atacama sunsets and relax from the smoldering sun in the fresh covers of our private terraces and beautiful swimming pool after a day exploring the driest desert in the world. The hotel was developed following the concept of visual silence, the eye registers the hotel in its totality included in the in the immensity of the Atacama desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altiplanico Atacama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altiplanico Hotel
Altiplanico Atacama San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing