We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altiplanico Atacama
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel is one of the nicest in Aticama. They have water, coffee, tea in the bar/lounge area. Fire pits are all over the property. It is a amazing to sit with a glass of wine at night and watch the stars. We haven't seen anything like the brightness of the stars here! There is a very nice pool area with lots of seating in and out of the sun. The staff speaks English and they are super helpful. It is an authentic Chilean experience here and we loved our stay. The rooms are clean.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessataylor999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    267
    68
    12
    3
See reviews for
104
386
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We came to San Pedro from Bolivia. Hotel Altiplanico is a very good place to spend 2 or 3 days to rest. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially the ladies at the reception.
A few rating report that it is expensive. Well, San Pedro is expensive. In Altiplanico you get something for you money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moreno65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The hotel has really nice adobe chalets/rooms, all integrated around the pool and gardens. Service and cuisine is very good, there is parking space for your car - rare thing in San Pedro - but is a bit away from the centre. Really good!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarceloSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

A little out of town in it's own oasis - lovely rustic rooms in a perfect setting - could see amazing stars.
Had a morning to relax by the pool - total silence.....
Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are different - most all with outside sitting space
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X11725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantù, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. Check in was very quick and we got a free upgrade to a nice and comfortable room, with a small patio that had a beautiful view to the vulcano.
Bed was comfortable and the bathroom amazing, with also an outside shower, that we did not use as it wasn't warm enough!
Free wifi at the reception and free computer if needed as well.
Breakfast was amazing, with everything you need.
The Hotel is a bit out of town and when you have to walk home after dining in town there is a part where it gets really dark as there is no light at all on the street, but beside this from the Hotel you get wonderful views of stars in the night!
If we ever go back to San Pedro this will be definitly our choice, though it isn't really cheap comparing to other hotels in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at this hotel and would highly recommend it. The staff took their time explaining everything to us and were very friendly. Our basic room had been upgraded (for free), and it was absolutely amazing. The room was huge, and the real extra treat was the private outside shower attached to the bathroom (in addition to the regular indoor shower)! I was hesitant to use it at first since it gets so cold at night, but after my boyfriend used it, he couldn't stop raving about it. It was awesome to shower underneath the stars, and it was a fun part of the San Pedro adventure. If we go back again, I would be willing to pay the extra for the upgraded room! The hotel also is very accommodating; since we went on a geysers tour one morning, they gave us breakfast to go (which we ate for lunch), and they also provided us with towels to take to the thermal pools. Also, we inquired early on about leaving our bags with the front desk on our last day since our flight back to Santiago was in the evening, which the front desk said was fine. Later on, one of the front desk staff informed us that we could have a late checkout since no other guests were staying in our room that night. They also helped to arrange our transport back to the airport. Overall, we were very happy we splurged a little to stay here! Made for a wonderful vacation!!

Room Tip: Make sure you have an outside shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unochamp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
307 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Small adobe buildings house the rooms. We had a lovely room with a roof terrace with great views of the volcanoes. Very nice staff. The menu in the restaurant was a bit odd and though we ate there the first evening having fairly basic hamburger and steak sandwich we couldn't find anything else that we wanted so ate in the town for all other meals.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.5 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#2 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casa de Don Tomas
La Casa de Don Tomas
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altiplanico Atacama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altiplanico Atacama

Property: Altiplanico Atacama
Address: Domingo Atienza 282, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altiplanico Atacama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a gentle stretch of land in the outskirts of San Pedro, surrounded by the quiet presence of the Andes, Altiplanico San Pedro faces the impressive Licancabur Volcano, with a unique design inspired in the style of an Altiplano village. Enjoy the famous Atacama sunsets and relax from the smoldering sun in the fresh covers of our private terraces and beautiful swimming pool after a day exploring the driest desert in the world. The hotel was developed following the concept of visual silence, the eye registers the hotel in its totality included in the in the immensity of the Atacama desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Altiplanico Atacama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altiplanico Hotel
Altiplanico Atacama San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing