We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa de Don Tomas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this quaint and unpretentious hotel. The room was quite small, but the beds were comfortable. The sliding door to the en suite bathroom wasn't a good fit, but the grounds & other hotel facilities made up for this. The staff are helpful & friendly. I enjoyed 'chilling' out in the courtyard area under the trees reading and enjoying the ambience. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonnenetball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 835 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our travel agent.booked the hotel and we had a lovely 3 night stay. After our late arrival in the town at the end of a tiring day it was good to book in quickly and get to bed. Room medium size but the bed was sooo comfortable , Next morning we had the typical south American breakfast no better or worse than the other 25 we had, The place has a swimming pool which was well maintained. Free bottle of water daily was offered which not something found in all hotels The free tea and coffee (including coca tea ) was a huge bonus which we used frequently.The Dining room provided a pleasant evening menu and the salad we had one night was very substantial and fresh. We went on an early morning trip and were provided with a breakfast pack, No TV but do you really need one?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodtrishmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our travel agent booked this hotel for us and it is one of the few things he got right. After so much travelling, this hotel was a very good welcome for us. It was cute, clean and fitted in perfectly with the scenery.
The room we had was clean and comfortable. The location was good, although at first it seemed like it was in the middle of nowhere. It's just about 5 minutes walk from a strip of restaurants and bars.
Helpful staff. I was having back pain and they helped me with my ice packs requests!
The breakfast was good but I didn't enjoy the dinner at the restaurant.
Shame about the out of service swimming pool when I was there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailofcrumbs15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. Reception staff speak English. Hotel is close to town centre (approx. 6 minutes walk). Wifi in public area only. Very accommodating with the coming and going if tours. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel was quite nice given its location in the middle of nowhere. It is located about a 3-5 minute walk from downtown and has a semi-luxurious feeling and is very quiet at night. The room we had was roomy and comfortable. The morning breakfast was quite nice (continental with the usual turkey and ham slices). Wifi however was somewhat spotty, even though our room was quite close to the lobby. There are better, and much pricier hotels/resorts there but for our purpose, this place had been a good stay,

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights Mar 2013. After dusty day tours it was good to return to a nice hotel each evening and use the pool area when not out sightseeing. Clean room, decent size, no problems with hot water just takes a long time to get hot. Swimming pool clean and usable. Breakfast was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful and speak English. Away from main street noise but only 5 min walk. Checkout is 1pm and then luggage is stored in reception area with identification sticker - I did not find this an issue. If you want to pay a bit more for a nicer place then I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows onto street can be noisy when people walking home after nights out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAus_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I felt robbed having to pay UDS 110 per night for single occupancy in a room which does not have a TV, WIFI or air conditioning. One is provided with one small bottle of water per day in an area where tap water is not safe for consumption. In the bathroom there is shampoo only and one bar of soap to suffice for both sink and shower. The towels are hard and scratchy. During my stay the swimming pool was initially filthy and not useable. It is now drained of water. But the staff do happily tell everybody who checks in that they have a swimming pool. Service in the restaurant is painstakingly slow. This place is totally overpriced for what one gets.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janedoexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge
Atacama Adventure Wellness & Eco...
#18 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Don Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Don Tomas

Address: Calle Tocopilla, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: $156 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Don Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa de Don Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Don Tomas Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
La Casa De Don Tomas Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing